'Death penalty was not valid' - Privy Council orders resentence for 'Grenada 13'

• 'Death penalty was not valid' - Privy Council orders resentence for 'Grenada 13'

<DIV id=printReady>

'Death penalty was not valid' - Privy Council orders resentence for 'Grenada 13'
    published: Thursday | February 8, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody PgAjQ="true">

LONDON, (CMC):

The London-based Privy Council yesterday ruled that the death sentence imposed on the former Deputy Prime Minister of Grenada, Bernard Coard, and several others conivicted of murdering left wing Prime Minister Maurice Bishop in 1983, was invalid and ordered that the men be resentenced.

In a 12-page ruling, the Law Lords said that the case against Coard and 12 others should be "remitted to the Supreme Court of Grenada for the appellants to be sentenced in accordance with the construction of section 230 of the Criminal Code which their Lordships have indicated, taking into account the progress made by the appellants during their time in prison."

"Their Lordships do not think that in practice the relief sought by the appellants in relation to their sentences was ever available through the ordinary avenue of the appeal," the Privy Council, the highest court in Grenada ruled, adding that it would "humbly advise Her Majesty that this appeal should be allowed and that it should be declared that the sentence of death imposed upon the appellants was invalid".

Their Lordships ruled the man-datory sentence of death was unconstitutional.

Coard and the 12 other appellants, including the former head of the People's Revolutionary Army (PRG) Hudson Austin, were convicted of murdering Bishop and other members of his left wing administra-tion during a palace coup in 1983.

Unconstitutional

On August 15, 1991, the Governor-General signed warrants in respect of each of the appellants commuting their death sentence to life imprisonment on condition that the convicted men would be "kept in custody to hard labour for the remainder of his natural life."

But the men went before the Privy Council contending that the imposition of the death sentence was unconstitutional.

The Privy Council noted that the State did not contest that point and pointed to several cases involving similar constitutions of other Caribbean States. It said upon the true construction of the Grenadian Constitution, such a sentence was unconstitutional at the time it was passed in 1986.

"The result is that section 230 of the Criminal Code must be interpreted to mean, and has meant since the constitution came into force in 1974, that the death penalty for murder is discretionary: a person convicted of murder may be sentenced to death but may instead be given a lesser sentence. The judge did not exercise this discretion and the sentence was, therefore, unlawful."

The Privy Council also said there could be "both logic and practical sense" in the arguments put forward by the lawyers for the convicted men that "the validity of the sentence of death was just as much res judicata as the validity of the conviction".

But it noted that the legality of the mandatory death sentence imposed upon the appellants has never been the subject of judicial decision and that while it could have been raised before the Court of Appeal, "the correct answer would have been that it was unlawful".

"But that follows from the principle that judicial decisions on the meaning of the constitution have retrospective effect," the Law Lords said, noting it is unrealistic to expect that the argument which succeeded in a previous case "would have been entertained, let alone succeeded, before the Court of Appeal".

The Privy Council also noted that while the sentence in question was death, it would not have allowed the principle of res judicata to stand in the way of granting relief if the appellants were still at risk of execution.

"But the validity of the life sentence substituted by the warrant of commutation is dependent upon the validity

RE: 'Death penalty was not valid' - Privy Council orders resentence for 'Grenada 13'

Isn't there a real risk to the accused persons that they could be constitutionally be now sentenced to death?

...and, as there is a current popular opinion that being kept on death row...under a sentence of death for a long period is inhumane, that a 'speedy' carrying out of the death sentence, after 'speedy allowance ofany further appeals may be their fate?

Then again after being in jail since 1983 the defendants may consider death a blessing?!

RE: 'Death penalty was not valid' - Privy Council orders resentence for 'Grenada 13'

Mi love how unuh concerned about the "constitutional rights" of other citizens, but when it come to Jamaicans unuh form fool.

Well your party was in England with lawyers making

sure that Ja's right to self determination is permanently blocked, so go figure :P

Are you really this ignorant or you putting on a performance for us? The JLP isn't against us moving away from the Privy Council. All they are asking for, along with other entities is for a referendum. Now tell us who is blocking the people's right for self determination?

No bra yuh wrong. Eddie wasn't against moving away.

The PNP was mulling about putting it to the people, Eddie was recommending slowly moving away as opposed to one sudden shift. Brucie Gomes (the foward guard) and the rest of the JLP wanted the privy council to stay. Now go do your research and come back.

See, thats the problem with all you people. Unuh keep following too much myth. How many times has Delroy Chuck stated that all they want is for the idea to be put to the people? I guess once yuh mention Eddie, you'll get the masses on your side. Gwaan believe yuh myths Jawge.

That also begs the question Lazie: who would not want

the highest court to be in their own land to interpret their laws? I would assume all Jakans would want the above. Why does Chuck want it to go before the people? Does Mr. Chuck beleive that Jakans are incapable of interpreting their own laws? The JLP and its associates (Dr.Gomes) do not see the island ready for self determination, they see us as lesser beings needing help to interpret our laws. I called Eddie's name based on the facts boss. If Eddie had oppsed it, I would put him right up there with the rest.

Jawge (2/8/2007)That also begs the question Lazie: who would not want the highest court to be in their own land to interpret their laws? I would assume all Jakans would want the above. Why does Chuck want it to go before the people? Does Mr. Chuck beleive that Jakans are incapable of interpreting their own laws? The JLP and its associates (Dr.Gomes) do not see the island ready for self determination, they see us as lesser beings needing help to interpret our laws. I called Eddie's name based on the facts boss. If Eddie had oppsed it, I would put him right up there with the rest.
                  Another myth! Who said the highest court would be in our own land? Are you aware that all these politicians are there to represent the people? Why is it in other countries the people are consulted before certain things are decided? Why you think the people are not to part take in the decision process?

I was once told never try to convince an ignorant man ... now I fully understand. ... you and your myths. You continuously reason like some man under a breadfruit tree.

okay so step under the breadfruit tree and

enlighten me a bit. So you and the JLP is saying that it would be better for our laws to be interpreted in Europe as opposed to the caribbean? I am sure the hearing would be rotated but you guys aren't interested in that. Hey if we are unable to interpret our own laws in a fair manner, just say so. This way I can see why it has to go to Europe (until we are fully developed and equipped). One ting mi know; is that Eddie is light years ahead of you guys :P

Everyday I'm more and more convinced about you people. Same way last weekend couple comrades a tek Jezas off a di cross how a the gov't OWN the majority of JPS. But as usual, the thinking people are always in the minority when it comes to Jamaicans.

I suggest that you start paying attention Jawge.

Okay so you are overwhelmed. Why don't

you Ben, Mdmex and others to help you out? I would like to hear some convincing arguments as to why we cannot interpret our own laws. Could it be the 53% illiteracy legacy? I don't want to go off on a guessing game here. Lazie go get help and come :P

Halfwit! The only person I hear saying we cannot interpret our laws is you! Do you know what a referendum is? Bettah yuh gwaan reason with the other comrades. Only dem alone would think yuh mekking any sense right now.

Lazie you don't seem to see my point: It's

an insult to the people's intelligence to ask them to vote on self determination. Why would one want to ask the people to vote on the fact that they want to decide their own destiny Lazie? As I said call on the other labourites because you are way out in the deep blue :P

... and you think you have a point? Comical!