• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Group 69

This is consistent with what I know:

Do your research, Mr Buddan

Published: Tuesday | September 20, 2011 6 Comments

THE EDITOR, Sir: I AM A recent graduate of the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]University [COLOR=blue! important]of [/COLOR][COLOR=blue! important]the [/COLOR][COLOR=blue! important]West [/COLOR][COLOR=blue! important]Indies[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Faculty of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Education[/COLOR][/COLOR] and Humanities, Department of History. I have a natural bent for [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]history[/COLOR][/COLOR]: political and otherwise. I have been taught by greats such as Professor Roy Augier, Professor Verene Shepherd and other luminaries of that ilk. My thesis was supervised by no less a person than Professor Patrick Bryan. It covered the political period in Jamaica between 1943-1967.
    I preface my comment with my qualification for the simple reason that I want to establish the fact that I am qualified to speak in the area.
    Now I am most disturbed by an article which appeared in The Sunday Gleaner, September 18, under the caption, 'Parties as machines' by Robert Buddan. In his article, he praises the People's National Party (PNP) of being a nation builder and a regional builder. On the other hand, he condemns the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) as being a party that only seeks to win elections and that is why it associates itself with the likes of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke. That is garbage.
    Political violence unleashed