Like it Was

• Like it Was

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpfKn88qaSc http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgYyWep5y-U&NR=1

At 9:00 ..the question of race in Jamaica

Required listening!

One of my heroes!

I remember watching this, perhaps when it was first aired, or a few years later. But this viewing has been impactful. (Word go suh?)

Compare to the HardTalk interview...sigh

None shall compare tuh Hard Talk

Good one Don1. It is very useful to listen to pieces like this from time to time and understand where he was coming from.

The disturbing thing to me about historical figures like Manley is that he is undoubtably extremely intelligent and has his finger on the pulse of the society he chose to serve, and yet some of his plans still went so horribly wrong.

Nation building is one complicated task, that is for sure. Yet the mistakes can seem so obvious after the fact.

true dat...Manley was very well intentioned and even brilliant imho ... but politically naive as to the impact of the push back from local & foreign forces... mostly to his rhetoric

too bad

So, who was at fault then?

Local and foreign forces...yuh cyaan read...Manley was brilliant...it's the rest of us who are stupid...

evvbady....including im?

Leaders can't blame people for what they are

The Jamaican elites: Backward, Selfish, Myopic

The DayWalker led Opposition: Virulent

The Jamaican people: Easily manipulated

The US: Extreme need for control of countries everywhere including Jamaica

Since leaders canna control dem tings dere...dem haffi wuk wid it.... Manley neva wuk wid it proppa
                  Last edited by Don1; September 18, 2011, 12:45 PM.

preaching to the choir!

True thing. Manley was an intellectual giant; I think he would have knocked Obama out in the first round of a 12 round debate for example (and I rank Obama up there with the best of orators able to think quickly on their fee). However, as you say he lacked (and the PNP lacked ) forces within the party that would have contributed input of a practical nature to synergise with the party's and his well - meaning theories. Philosophically, can anyone disagree with the objectives they/he had? It seems that contemporary governments have no vision or if they do they do not articulate it well.

When you hear the man speak can anyone wonder why they called him Joshua?

He was a great Jamaican regardless of which side of the abyss of our political divide you stand.

yep Obama cudden manage di Manley Sweet Talk

no contest

yep. Thank him fi free education and other things.

Made some terrible judgement call but his intention was good and with better support and advice...

Sweet talk?!?! He saved that for the ladies. Manley, in these interviews, was talking nothing but irrefutable sense!