Sincere Apology: Dancehall Culture Uplifts!!

• Sincere Apology: Dancehall Culture Uplifts!!

Let’s overlook the alleged felony and misdemeanor acts of several of our most prominent dancehall acts during the recent past. I could list them here, of course. However, they are, quite rightly, things of the past and so are best overlooked and erased from our collective memory.

And please never ever worry about the fact that very often, the most visible global spokesmen for our Jamaican society today are our male dancehall artists! Don’t ever ever worry that, in far too many cases, these informal spokesmen represent the least socialized elements of our tiny society. No problem, mon!!

Now forward to the future of dancehall and its concomitant cultural and (in general) societal improvement of the spiritual lot of our people!! Long live dancehall and its artists, producers and management teams!! Long live Jamaica!!

Gyptian, DJ Frass argument turns deadly

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

An argument which developed between well-known dancehall artiste Gyptian and producer DJ Frass has left one man dead.

The incident took place at Steven 'Supa Hype' Davis' studio on Dumbarton Avenue in St Andrew on Monday night.

According to reports reaching the Observer, Gyptian, whose real name is Windel Edwards, and Kimani Palmer also known as DJ Frass, were engaged in an heated argument over a song Gyptian had voiced on one of Frass' 'riddims' while at the studio.

According to reports, the argument reportedly became more intense and DJ Frass allegedly left the studio only to return some minutes later accompanied by about six men.

It is alleged that Frass 'draped' Gyptian and then members of his entourage made a move towards the singer.

"Wi nuh know if a part dem did a guh fi part it or what, but maybe some a Gyptian friends think seh a attack dem did a guh attack di artiste and mi nuh know who pop off dem gun," someone close to the parties involved in the incident told The Observer.

According to him, it is said that the first attempt to pull the trigger failed as the gun stuck, by this time some of the men ran, but not before two shots were fired hitting one man.

According to the Constabulary Communication Network, 27-year-old Davion Bailey otherwise called Burro was gunned down by unknown assailants. The police aid that about 5:45 pm, a group of men armed with guns entered the recording studio and opened fire hitting Bailey multiple times. The men escaped in a white Honda motorcar. The police were called and Bailey was taken to the Kingston Public Hospital where he was pronounced dead.

Among the top 'riddims' that DJ Frass is known for are Israel, Shadow and Hot Patty.

Among Gyptian's better known releases are Hold You, Serious Times, Mama Don't Cry and Nah Let Go.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz1XyID4nir

While we do have a voilent society and it is reflected in our music, come on now man. Peter Tosh and Free-i were not dancehall artists, Garnett Silk wasn't a dancehall artist. Tupac and Biggi weren't dancehall artist and neither was poor Marvin Gaye.

The dancehall ambassadors like Shaggy, Sean Paul I have never heard them in anything while at the same time let us see the report of what happen here. Even in the Harder they come the main act approached the producer outside the studio with him gun so what that say about the ambassador of Reggae?

What about the positives?

Ce'Cile donates to Village All-Age ... in keeping with her reading initiative

Ce'Cile performs for the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]students[/COLOR][/COLOR] of Village All-Age [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]School[/COLOR][/COLOR] in Faith's Pen. - Contributed
      Ce'Cile has fulfilled her promise to start a reading initiative by donating to the Village All-Age School in Faith's Pen. The school was adopted by the artiste earlier this year.
      As part of her STAR of the Month activities in February, Ce'Cile urged readers to donate books and more to the school. Telecommunications giant LIME took up Ce'Cile's plea and assisted the artiste to donate a Lenovo desktop computer for the more than 80 students and [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]teachers[/COLOR][/COLOR] at the institution. Ce'Cile and the LIME crew visited the school on Monday, which before did not have a computer accessible to students. Several [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]parents[/COLOR][/COLOR] and well-wishers gathered on the school compound to witness the handover.

scholarship grant

"Music has made me a lot of money and has taken me across the world. This is because I was very good at English and took time out to get a good [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]education[/COLOR][/COLOR]," the artiste told the students. The singer announced a special scholarship grant for a top student at the school and encouraged the students to take their education seriously.
      In a release sent to THE STAR, Courtney Bell, LIME community programmes manager, was quoted as saying, "LIME understands the importance of access to learning technologies and the role it plays in enhancing education. We are delighted to support any initiative that helps foster the development of Jamaican youth and our communities at large."
      Principal of Village All-Age, Herma Reeves-Hall was also quoted as saying, "I am extremely humbled that Village has guardian angels in the form of Ce'Cile and LIME. I really want to encourage our parents to help us protect the computer because it will help with the education of your children."
      The students, parents and teachers present were treated to gift packages from LIME and a special performance from Ce'Cile.
      LIME recently launched its 'Fliptop', which is a low-cost computer designed to increase access to the Internet for Jamaicans by helping to removing the barrier of high-cost devices.

- Krista Henry

LIME Ambassador Ce'Cile and Community Programmes Manager Courtney Bell hand over a Lenovo desktop computer to Herma Reeves-Hall, principal of the Village Primary School in Moneague, St Ann. Dr Carol D'Caccio, St Ann Region Three education officer, students and teachers at the school look on

Why I Dislike Dancehall

I will respond more adequately to your dancehall commentaries soon, ‘Sass .

I just need a bit of free time (adequate amount, that is) to reply in detail, including replying to Bricktop’s sarcastic comment about Billboard Charts (which I never ever look at, because they represent the most trite and stupid products of the music industry), and about Jamaican musicians.

For the moment, always remember that as long as fat-assed Jamaican producers without a touch of musical training or talent continue to sit on their soft chairs and churn out computer rhythms, real music will suffer!! The average Jamaican producer is not likely to ever be able to create the types of keyboard chords and lines that a trained, accomplished keyboardist can! The average Jamaican producer is not likely to be able to ever create the type of guitar and bass patterns that a trained, accomplished guitarist and bassist can! The average Jamaican producer is not likely to be able to create the type of drum rhythms and patterns that a trained, accomplished drummer can do!

Yet, when accomplished musicians go on stage to provide backing for those dumb dancehall noise makers... sorry, deejays...., they are forced to churn out the decidedly talentless patterns created by musically illiterate producers in order to convey the original recording in a live setting. Now, can you imagine the frustration of many talented musicians?

But, this is the story of dancehall, rap and hip hop!! No wonder rock, jazz, gospel and country music, with their emphasis on real musicians, offer such a fresh, wonderful alternative!!

You are probably not a musician, so you cannot even begin to imagine the sh!t that dancehall, by its very existence, has gotten the jamaican music landscape -- including our trained musicians -- into!!

Anyway, I will respond in a more complete way when I get some real free time .

Dancehall is not the problem in my view. Whatever the popular art form, it would attract the lumpen in our society. That's because the lumpen class is just too huge!

Until we invest in education and improve the economy, that is what we will have to deal with.

I understand your fustration and share some of it but, we are also to blame(our generation) for part of the lack of quality. This is not only reflected in dancehall but modern day music on a whole.

No I am not a musician but many of the things I like to hear in music is no longer there and while it is sad, there are some of the producers and musicians are trying, and they need our support, not to be broadbrussed.

I was never really a huge fan of Capleton but when I see his work and generosity of "A St.Mary mi come from" I have no option but to support him bigtime and wish him well, and there are others. I will also give you a few story and cases when I have time and why I still work with some artists.

Well Said.

Is Gyptian a dancehall artiste btw? i always thought of him as a reggae artiste as most of his hits (I should say "most of his songs that I know") are more liks reggae ballads than anything else...

Excellent Point!

Dancehall is not the problem in my view. Whatever the popular art form, it would attract the lumpen in our society. That's because the lumpen class is just too huge!

Until we invest in education and improve the economy, that is what we will have to deal with.
                  Excellent point, boss!! This, more than any other single factor, I suspect is at the root of the dancehall quality problem!

I believe it was poster Stonigut who also made reference to this specific factor some time ago in one of his usual outstanding posts! Assasin has also in the past repeatedly mentioned the need for education, including music education!

Now we’re getting to the crux of the problem!! I can assure you that when truly talented musicians-turned-producers -- like Sly Dunbar or Cleveland Browne -- have complete freedom at the control board, and workg with truly talented artists, the result can be musical magic! Dancehall can be as beautiful as any other genre, and in the “hands” of brilliant recording artists like Cherine Anderson, Diana King, etc., along with the right production team, I am sure that I could become the greatest fan of dancehall! I mean it!

But your point hit the nail squarely on the head, Mosiah !!

I hear you, about 75% of the dancehall tunes are plain awful. There are some quality music available, but they rarely receive adequate promotion.

None of these newer tunes ever made it big.

Vybz Kartel
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbDQDAvZjkQ

Wayne Marshall
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBOywj9rklU

Damian Marley
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPW-xO7xafE

Ironically, Gyptian is one of the better artistes among the current crop of jokers who see a mirophone as an instrument to be used for forcing sewer gas into the heads of our youths. The ignorance, and garbage coming from the mouths of most of those illiterates, and aliterates give any good music lover brain cramps. Such garbage.

Jr. Gong again wicked.

Now di cynicism deh taking di ********, wi bad but worse outdeh.

that is the problem right there. The DJs are using payola, and friendship to select the mess they have to play.

If the DJs played somea the better tunes and promoters do the same then we wouldn't be here talking.

Look like we forget that did Bob get shot too.

The dancehall artistes apparently must have figured out how to travel back in time to commit that one.