• Number of Americans living in poverty increase

Number of Americans living in poverty increase

The US Census Bureau says the number of Americans living in poverty rose to a record 46.2 million, last year.
    This is the highest figure since the Bureau started collecting the data in 1959.

In percentage terms, the poverty rate rose to 15.1%, up from 14.3% in 2009.
    The US definition of poverty is an annual income of 22 thousand 314 dollars or less for a family of four, and 11 thousand 139 for a single person.

The number of Americans living below the poverty line has now risen four years in a row, while the poverty rate is the highest since 1993.

The figures show poverty among black and Hispanic people was much higher than for the overall US population, last year, as unemployment remains stubbornly above 9 percent.

Obama 2nd term just vanished.

Its looking less & less likely he will be re-elected. Latest opinion polls, 55% dissaprove his job performance.

Well I praying the repubs don't win. I only see their policy driving us more in debt and unemployment in the short term.

I just want Obama to realise that he has people on the left who need motivation and leadership. Going to the center and giving away even good ideas he has is not good enough.

He should give up some but stand and force others.

Well I praying the repubs don't win. I only see their policy driving us more in debt and unemployment in the short term.

I just want Obama to realise that he has people on the left who need motivation and leadership. Going to the center and giving away even good ideas he has is not good enough.

He should give up some but stand and force others.
          you support the left in America? ...hmmm

Sintin nuh right

Dis is whe dem kall a conundrum

Obama in a worse position dan Drivah...

Him mussi doing a wussa job.. hmmm.. (Tea Party and PNP nuh easy)

lol !

you support the left in America? ...hmmm

Sintin nuh right

Dis is whe dem kall a conundrum
              Yuh seit! Im deh pon di right fi Jamaica an deh pon di left fi 'Merica
              Wah yuh seh? Im mix-up mix-up

Please define 'left' and 'right' in Jamaica..

PNP seem to be all over the place.. depending on what dem feel suit dem at the time.. never seen a more schizophrenic populist set..

lol !! woiee !!

You should support the right in America. You don't believe in supporting Battty man and them claim them believe in self reliance. A dat the tea party and religious right a preach.

I support economic policies, not right or left. I tell you I support free education, free healthcare, and some government control but good economic policies. It doesn't matter to me if PNP or JLP win what matter is that they have progressive policies with economic growth, productivity and creating wealth for the country at the heart of it.

NOTHING can subsitute for economic growth and proper polices. I didn't spend my thousands of dollars to do policy studies to listen to rumours and listen to BS. Left or right nuh matter to me a growth and development of the people matter. We should embarrass for our leaders who are in power for years and can't obtain any economic growth but ofcourse the excuse party will find a way to forgive that.

you have left, right and Comrade inna Jamaica, them a Comrade straight. LOL

I don't support or reject left or right or whatever labels...only policies I find worthy

It's amusing that the JLP is republican aligned...yet their adherents mostly claim to reject that party and its policies

Recall Stale Salad Lorna complaining of a plot to undermine Gelding by the "PNP's friends" in the Democratic Party/Congressional Black Caucus

Funny, convoluted stuff

so what kinda question that you ask me above? You nuh think the same goes for you, as well as others?

I am sure most Jamaicans don't migrate to America because of ideoligy of left and right but rather because of the economics. There are many progressive left countries I can think of that they could migrate to and don't have to think about the Tea party.
                          Last edited by Assasin; September 14, 2011, 05:36 PM.

gweeh

..since yuh off load Dudus, nuh?