Giving Miss Lou Lip Service
Published: Sunday | September 11, 20110 Comments
Carolyn Cooper, Contributor
Last Wednesday was Miss Lou's birthday and the usual platitudes were spouted about her valuable contribution to Jamaican society. I wonder if we really understand just how revolutionary Louise Bennett's vision was. Her advocacy of the Jamaican language challenged popular assumptions about what it meant to be black in colonial Jamaica.
This is how Miss Lou put it in a 1976 television interview: "When I was a child, nearly everything about us was bad, you know; they would tell yuh seh yuh have bad hair, that black people bad ... and that the language yuh talk was bad. And I know that a lot of people I know were not bad at all, they were nice people and they talked this language."
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html
Published: Sunday | September 11, 20110 Comments
Carolyn Cooper, Contributor
Last Wednesday was Miss Lou's birthday and the usual platitudes were spouted about her valuable contribution to Jamaican society. I wonder if we really understand just how revolutionary Louise Bennett's vision was. Her advocacy of the Jamaican language challenged popular assumptions about what it meant to be black in colonial Jamaica.
This is how Miss Lou put it in a 1976 television interview: "When I was a child, nearly everything about us was bad, you know; they would tell yuh seh yuh have bad hair, that black people bad ... and that the language yuh talk was bad. And I know that a lot of people I know were not bad at all, they were nice people and they talked this language."
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html