Giving Miss Lou Lip Service

My back broad but I know know Mosiah just expressing his frustration...well I hope....yu tink he really believe that? Cayliss talk dat!

Him very expressive sometimes. LOL.

With respect to your comment on the music, I am old school and personally like to hear a reggae band; only Morgan Heritage comes to mind that we hear about these days and even so they are not a new band. If I am out of the loop please fill me in on some local bands worthwhile listening to.

While we ignore it others have picked it up and making it their own... check this band called 1814 from New Zealand. Check one of the comments... the poster asks them to tag it as NZ Reggae (no problem) or "MAORI MUSIC" ... Jamaica may become a footnote in the history of reggae music the way the music going.

:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_4RP...f=list_related

Miss Lou ! the ignorant amongst us would have us believe she would put up with slackness by equating her love for all things Jamaican and African i.e our dialect and cultural expression to the slackness in dancehall.

Never heard her promote , bleaching , gunshots and almshouse of any kind on the contrary she would lick out gainst it .

Anyone African who says he/she has no interest in Africa is a lost soul.If you claim you have an interest in Jamaicas { social, economic and political development } without looking at the genesis of our current situation to what the possibilities of our future could be , is truly dealing with some serious bleaching of the soul.

Until we know ourselves we dont have a chance of survival , one of the tennants of Garveyism.Black man know thy self.

Like it or not Jamaicas interest is in a multipolar economic world.Whose economies we have to be in sync with.Not the USA or Europe soley ! Brazil or S.America , China and India will play a huge role in the economic world in the next 25 years, thats around the corner.

I expect the next 25 to 50 years after the rise of the BRIC . Brazil , India,China etc to be that of an economic power house called Africa.

Dancehall is comfortable with its Niche market and thats a sad statement of our music.I believe it has run its course, I say thank you and goodbye.I enjoyed it for awhile, you just became played out.
          Last edited by Sir X; September 11, 2011, 09:45 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You have no interest in Africa...yet you trespass on Marcus Garvey's philosophy??

That is a recipe for intellectual confusion...Marcus' very essence is grounded in Africa, not Jamaica.

Whether your belief is dumb or not I leave to others to assess
            Last edited by Don1; September 11, 2011, 10:11 PM.

what about patois? i have an abiding love for it as my indigenous language and would love for it to be formalised. i wonder what miss lou would say? how about rex nettleford?

Is Sean Paul, Shaggy, Jr Gong Niche market?

a dat yuh mumma and puppa send yuh go a school fi laarn?

pride and love of self and country .... do they still recite the national pldege for schools?

Yep. Totally dumb. It is painful to admit.

Yep. No wonder in 2011 our biggest export commodities are scrap metal and whores.

Ah great advocate fi di language mi love suh much likkah cook food called wah Patios. She write it talk it, advertise it to di worl an den man ah tell mi bout dem nuh understan weh it mean pan paper. Dat mean dem nevah si di Honourable Coverly inna discussion bout it or read any ah har great inspirational poem dem. Ah wondah weh dem wouldah tell aunty Lou can you please write in English please. Ah bet dem di ignore dem powerful piece ah literature said way, an kyaan cross it yah now. Honorable Aunty Louise Bennett Coverly fi years widout tears, love har di death.

plain english an bad manners, bwoy yuh ruff is a shame