9/11 tribute
Very sad day for all decent people. I too remember that day as if it were yesterday. I was no longer living in NY, but I had visited the Tower some years before and realise it could have been me, or persons close to me.
I like the fact that the USA will not allow this tragedy to be forgotten, but more importantly, it is doing all it can to prevent a similar recurrence.
Makes me wonder what we are doing about our own terrorists. What is Jamaica doing to ensure that we don't continue to give birth to them? What are doing to ensure that we never again see another Tivoli Crime Syndicate?
Very sad day and rightfully the US is making sure it will become a part of thier history centuries from now.
Interestingly though CNN just did a piece on Afghanistan, where they went in some villages where nobody had any idea what 9-11 was and when shown photos of the towers burning they had no idea what it was.
I remember seeing a poll which was even more hard to believe, that the majority of people in some parts of Afghanistan had never heard of 9-11. This was after may 8 years of US occupation. Hard to understand how that is even possible and it certainly would explain to some extent why thier hatred of the US would be so severe. I wonder how many places in the Arab world are like that."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Ahhmmm...maybe because thier country has been bombed out for the last 10 years and one would think they would have heard the reason they gave for doing it? Whether they choose to believe is another story, but one would think they would have heard it.
I suppose you think that would be the level of information in a western country as well if it was being bombed for 10 years by another country?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The point is it doesn't matter what the US says is their reason for invasion...so why would Afghanis know or care what the US stated reason for occupying their country is? It's all bullshit anyway...could you answer my second question now?
Tragedy happens around the world everyday...no tributes...no strong arm tactics to have a flag found in the rubble displayed at World Cup football tournament...nothing...just another tragic event in history...everybody turn Maya Angelou all of a sudden...
p.s. 10 year anniversary has nothing to do with this...every year it's the same thing...
Interesting....thats like saying why should people living in the US have heard what Bin Laden stated as a reason for attacking the US or why should they be able to identify a photo of him.....yet they have and they can. But your lack of logic does not surprise me anymore.
The stated reason the US gave for invading Iraq was the presence of WMDs in that country. What that has to do with this discussion is lost on me."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
So you are tryna tell me that the average Afghani citizen has the same comforts as the average US citizen? same access to information, media etc? The US didn't state that Saddam Hussein was complicit in 9/11? You tryna rewrite history here? By the way did they find WMD's? So it was a bullshit reason...gonna answer the 7/7 question now?
So hold on, if people here choose to identify with a particular tragedy what is wrong with that? Some forumites live or lived in NY or have some connection with the US and were personally affected by 9-11.
Post you own tragedy anniversary when it come nuh, nobody won't deny you that."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass