Offensive political cartoons!
RE: Offensive political cartoons!
<DIV>For the thin-skinned among us:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>FEBRUARY 4, 2007
Read My Column About Political Cartoons Then Write About Something Else, by Daryl Cagle
As a political cartoonist, I'd like to think my cartoons influence public opinion, but that rarely happens. People love a cartoon that they already agree with, and hate cartoons that they already disagree with. Editors like to choose editorial cartoons that they know their readers will like, so cartoons end up being a reflection of public opinion. In fact, political cartoons offer a great historical tool, giving a true picture of the opinions and emotions of a society at any given time.
Historians seem to have discovered political cartoons only recently, and I've started seeing a steady stream of scholarly papers about my profession as college professors and students suddenly look to my work and the work of my colleagues to support their political positions. One widely held canard seems to be popular among the academics: that the world supported the USA after 9/11 and this support was then squandered by the Bush administration's adventures in the Middle East.
Academics like to look at the cartoons drawn immediately after the 9/11 attack where, around the world, almost every editorial cartoonist drew the same image of a weeping Statue of Liberty. I drew one too. In fact, most cartoonists are ashamed of their weeping statues; we wish we could have a "do-over" where we wouldn't draw the first image to come to mind. Newspaper columnists all wrote much the same column right after 9/11, but it is easier to notice matching cartoons than matching columns, so cartoonists get the bad rap for "group-think." Even so, our matching cartoons were what the public wanted to see at that time and I probably received more mail from readers who loved my weeping Liberty than any other cartoon I've drawn.
International political cartoonists revile the USA in a uniform drumbeat of daily digs at America. The academics don't notice that international political cartoons before 9/11 were almost as negative about America as the cartoons now. After our matching, weeping statues, the American and international cartoonists diverged. On 9/12, American cartoonists started drawing patriotic cartoons portraying resolve, strength, and the virtues of the New York Fire and Police Departments, standing tall as twin towers. American cartoonists drew scores of images of a strong Uncle Sam, threatening eagles and a newly militant Statue of Liberty, demanding revenge.
Just after 9/11 the international cartoonists depicted the irony of mighty America put in its place. A favorite, foreign symbol for America is Superman, and we saw scores of images showing both Superman and Uncle Sam defeated, injured, bleeding and grieving. The worldwide cartoonists treated 9/11 in the way that tabloids treat fallen celebrities: with delight in the spectacle of a beautiful actress who is overweight, or getting a messy divorce -- or better yet, caught in a drunken scene, screaming racial epithets so that we can see that the rich, powerful, famous, conceited, fallen star was a hypocrite all along.
Some international cartoonists wrote to me about the patriotic cartoons; they couldn't believe American cartoonists would choose to draw such cartoons by their own free will; we must have been directed to draw that nonsense by the Bush Administration. Academics have picked up on the idea of "self-censorship;" that cartoonists somehow didn't draw what they wanted to draw because
<DIV>Hortikal (2/6/2007)Mosiah you a talk bout "black face", and then post a cartoon with the N word?(N)
Mosiah (2/6/2007)
BTW - Terrible as Bush is, I would be surprised if it turns outthat he said that!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
<DIV>Yuh go good school, please don't be so simplistic. Has Bush ever uttered those words publicly? Then why is it offensive by him?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The cartoonist is making a point that Bush's actions, or inaction, following the NO flood amounts to him just shrugging off the "****s". And his apology to Condy speaks to the hypocrisy in him even appointing "****s" to his cabinet.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What is so different about Las May's cartoon?!!?!?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Do I have to explain everything to you?!?!?</DIV>
Well done Mosiah! Well done! By the way, yuh figet Bush is not a woman or ... (which is the main cause for the upraor ...) a comrade."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
OK!
What are you trying to do?
...and, just to touch on that "flood" cartoon - What is the cartoonist depicting? Bush's/the US federal administration's ignoring of the plight of the people in New Orleans who just happen to be predomninantly blacks?...i.e. pushing the people into the water as opposed to helping? ...pointing out that the administration is racist? If so, it would not be the cartoon that is offensive, but the Bush White House and those in the federal administration who should have been rushing to aid of the people of New Orleans!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl- enjoy the cartoons for what they're worth(Tant) Yuh tink Bush would have been so dumb to say those things in public (fi tell a man seh if him was rich, him would lose more)!!
We need a little humor!!“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”