Offensive political cartoons!

RE: Offensive political cartoons!

<DIV>Well, what do you think, Karl? Do you think the people "just happen to be black", or that the administration reacted slowly because they were black? Or put another way, they reacted slowly because they were not white. Whatever! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>It's called satire and lampooning. Did the Bush admin. push anyone back into the flood waters? No, but the lethargy displayed in helping them amounts to basically the same thing. That's why having Portia in a sketel outfit is not saying that she is a sketel, but given what she said, quite unwarrantedly so, by the way, she might as well have have been coming from Passa Passa! And it's even more ironic because no one, and I mean no one, dresses more smartly than the Prime Minister! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Next week, class, a lesson in analogies! (Clap)</DIV>

A wonder if dem notice dat Bush all have donkey ears? Is a jackass dem a call him, y'know!

<DIV>Check out this one, MdmeX. The artist died in 1918, yet it so relevant today, esp. with what's going on in Iraq.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>

This last drawing (picture on the right) shows a skeleton in a harnassed uniform, standing near a gun. In the background numerous graves. The sky is black. The caption reads:

After four years of war (World War 1)- militarism speaks: "Have trust in me. I do not work fast, but the peace I will bring eventually will be very complete."

Political cartoonists are more important than we may believe, esp. the good ones. Las May, despite fleeting moments of brilliance, is not one of them.</DIV>

Did the Bush admin. push anyone back into the flood waters?
          Debatable? ...it certainly could be seen in the light of the 'waters came'...and, were rising...therefore not moving the people to safety was = to pushing the people into the water. right?

...but, that is besides the point - Bush is a man! Portia is a women! ...and, for me that must be taken into consideration. I am dead sure the cartoonist could have gotten his point across, with another cartoon, without 'tearing up' on Sista P's...and by extention, our ladies...womanhood.

1000% against that cartoon!

Are you saying something is wrong with women that wear tight clothes, have nose rings and kick off their shoes ?

[quote]Karl (2/6/2007)

...but, that is besides the point - Bush is a man! Portia is a women! ...and, for me that must be taken into consideration. I am dead sure the cartoonist could have gotten his point across, with another cartoon, without 'tearing up' on Sista P's...and by extention, our ladies...womanhood.
              That's how viragos act, Karl! Would it have been better if she was playing dominoes wid a hot beer in har hand? Las May captured the very essence of her silly response to the travelgura and for that he should be congratulated! (Clap) (Clap) (Clap)

In fact, if PJ or Bruce had responded in such a silly manner, I hope we could all see the joke in it if the cartoonist also depicted them in a virago's outfit! :w00t: Imagine the uproar then!

Mosiah (2/6/2007)<DIV></DIV><DIV>Yuh come een like dem white Americans who, for some strange reason, can't even mention the word "black" any more in everyday speech, for fear that...well, I don't even know!</DIV>
                Mosiah, you can not have it both ways. You can not be offended by the Portia cartoon, then post a cartoon of Condi like this.

You are only offended if the cartoon depicts someone you like negatively.

But I am not offended by the Portia cartoon!

You post this foolishness because you know that

Lazie is gullible, hence you take advantage. The premise of concern is how Nanny P was depicted. Look Brucie said Bangarang and war on the govt. Was Bruice depicted with short pants, bandana and m16? No he is always well dressed and in glasses. Show me a cartoon with Mrs. Bush and Hilary Clinton being depicted as a guido or prostitute or even trailor trash. You seem to support the demeaning of our women. We must set up laws to protect and establish respect for our women and childern. Where does this dude get off portraying the leader of our nation as a cayliss gyal pon corner? I guess you would accept it for your mother huh. I bet you would be up in arms if this was done to Dr.Gomes. I can recalled when I poinetd out Dr.Gomes poor judgement in going against Ja's plea for self determination, you quickly pointed out that she entered UWI at 12 years of age (in short a genius) Can you imagine if Las May had done this to Dr.Gomes. Garvey talk bout your kind still

Jawge, do you actually tek yuhself serious? Say it ain't so. Unuh can bitch and complain all unuh want, Las May did nothing wrong. What unuh must do is notice how Portia portraying herself when she mek her stupid statements. Then again, unuh wouldn't know the difference.

<DIV>
                        Jawge (2/6/2007) I bet you would be up in arms if this was done to Dr.Gomes. I can recalled when I poinetd out Dr.Gomes poor judgement in going against Ja's plea for self determination, you quickly pointed out that she entered UWI at 12 years of age (in short a genius) Can you imagine if Las May had done this to Dr.Gomes. Garvey talk bout your kind still
                        </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I would not be up in arms if this was done to Dr. Gomes. The fact is Dr. Gomes always conducts herself in the calmest and decent manner. Cartoonists hate those types.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And what the hell r u talking about? She entered university at 12? I didn't know that! But thanks for the info!</DIV>

Exactly what I am saying. Dr.Gomes (god) has never

been angry always calm and reassuring in "all" circumstances. Even in the bible yuh see where the father say him jealous and him wi do dmage if his people don't heed his words. I tell you boy. Nanny P now is skettel, straight up and deserve what's coming to her. As I said garvey talk bout yuh fram lang time.

And which famous person has spoken about your type ?

Ben leave this alone, it's out of your depth. Mi leff suppen up top fi yuh :P

Easy yuhself.. you would drown in a foot of water.