The Music changes

• The Music changes

Gone are the days when Harmony was three guys singing backup or JC Lodge, Marcia Griffiths, etc. doing background in the studio. Gone are the days when Bob Marley did backup for Dennis Brown. Harmony is now one singer singing on different tracks and worst of all they use T-Pain or some electronic compression on voice to try and round it up.
    Gone are the days when you had horn section in most studios and they would play on a few bars. Gone are the days when studios have band. Many have even parked their mixing board and are using Protools or some other recording software. First horns are replaced by a few bars from Keyboard. These bars are mostly pre recorded or digital enhanced.

The fact is we hardly support instrumentals and musicians in pure form. When last we had a instrumental on any chart. The last instrumental that in reggae that rode the chart I think was “Unmetered Taxi” and “Tripelet” which came out the same time. Once there was a time when instrumental was played in hip hop, and you had instrumental like “Rock it” from Herbie Hancock. Gone are the days when dub or instrumentals were the B side of reggae tracks. The fact is nobody no longer by instrumentals and that is the death of the recording hornsmen, not With the stereotype about dancehall, look at songs like this. The clarity is there and
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvJi8INoyUw
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMQN1bKnydc
    I don’t like or defend murder music but when people act as if dancehall is only lowlife and no good artists.
    Leroy might not be the best hornsman around but if you listen you will see a place for the horns in dancehall.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flKVxism06g
    [FONT='Times New Roman','serif']All the hater, unnu need fi encourage good music and stop been like many of our parents who rubbish everything young people do. Music has changed and the world has change but there is still some quality.

Music like everything...will evolve.

Evolution takes different branches (or change). Some branches are worthless. Other branches are an improvment of the past. They are changes nonetheless.

Music, more specific Reggae has evolved: Some of the new branches of Reggae is pure trash........................................

I am a Reggae purist.

You can't fake the funk!

Some of the new stuff I like but the foundation music of the sixties seventies and eighties still have it for me... HL, ah suh yuh ol'? yu an mi ah de same vintage?... I always thought you were a youngster...

HL as much as I will agree that most of current Jamaican music is not for me, I am always wary about criticizing it too much when I read stories like these:
        --------------------------------------------------------------------
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jazz

"Prohibition in the United States (from 1920 to 1933) banned the sale of alcoholic drinks, resulting in illicit speakeasies becoming lively venues of the "Jazz Age", an era when popular music included current dance songs, novelty songs, and show tunes.

Jazz started to get a reputation as being immoral and many members of the older generations saw it as threatening the old values in culture and promoting the new decadent values of the Roaring 20s. Professor Henry Van Dyke of Princeton University wrote “...it is not music at all. It’s merely an irritation of the nerves of hearing, a sensual teasing of the strings of physical passion.”
        ----------------------------------------------------------------------
        WOW! Not music at all, and from a so-called intellectual at that! Almost sounds like what we are saying about (gasp!) dancehall!

inneresting DEFINITELY inneresting

the transition from rocksteady to reggae is my favourite era.

i just think that not unlike the 20's, the late 70's early 60's was one of the most creative eras where songwriting and musical arrangements and composition is concerned. that stuff is STILL being sampled!

Pure trash HL. It will not last. Great art last forever. Nuff said.

(I think) I get the point you are trying to make I'man.

It's an excellent attempt at showing a parallel.

On a personal note; as a kid growing up in Jamaica...i clearly recall one of my Uncle 'slagging off' Bob Marley......

A few years ago, that same uncle visited me. I put on some Bob Marley as entertainment. My uncle could not stop praising the icon. He even knew the words of the songs.

I still think dance hall is 'shallow' in it's scope. To me It has only carnal appeal.

I hope i am proven wrong

As a youth growing up I was introduce to Socialist Root(Black Harmony) sound system, Arrows, and people like Kojak and Liza. Then it was listening to Mikey Dread, Norman Marsh, Winston Williams, Barry G, ET, Mikey White etc. This gave me a love for the music of the day,

Them my friends in Hughenden started to run a set name Disco Vibration that gave me a nice mix, of Reggae and R&B. Then I got into Ska, and music of the 60's.

I realise music is ever changing and a lot of the blame has to be with the DJs with Payola, friendship and drugs money. No matter the form there is always good talent and I am amaze to go to Jamaica and see the talent level. you can walk into most hotel and find an act that can hold a few good notes. The fact is what is selling and what is playing you are going to hear.

I can tell you have hear some very good songs coming out of Jamaica recently, in both Reggae and Dancehall vein but especially here on the east coast it is hard to even hear them.

I love selecting music I don't care if it is Reggae/SKa/mento/Dancehall I will choose good music. I won't condemn all the dancehallers, because fact be told I can remember when Bob was just a "dutty dread" who a mash up good music, I remember when Mikey dread was force off radio for not sticking to "the standard" and when reggae was not fully accepeted by too many uptowner until Bob died and Third World had a big international hit.

Dancehall can't die, the hispanic using it as Reggaeton, and the British is now calling it Ragga for a while now.

You do realise that dancehall is going on 30+ years now, right.

It has lasted as Jamaicas most popular music genre longer than Ska, Rock Steady and Reggae did.

Just the facts.

Just this summer at Fully Loaded (a teenage/young adult dance) Buju, Supercat and Shabba tunes from the late 80's got huge responses from the crowd.

The dancehall parties that play music from the early 90's are always packed, so I am not sure how this don't last thing come about. People said Mavado's tunes don't last for more than a couple months, but it is now 5 plus years later and the people still moving to it.

Well I grew up mostly in neighbouring St Thomas and the big sound system of the 80s was Aces Int'l, with King Yellow and Fathead running things.

And you know the other day I was listening to some Yellowman and Peter Metro hits from the early 80s and quite frankly, the modern-day DJs are much more lyrical and versatile then the early ones were. Thats what happens when any form of music evolves. People like Papa Levi, Papa San, Stitchie and many others changed the way dancehall lyrics are written and delivered.

....this is indeed an "inneresting" debate!!

But (still maintaining my current opinion on contemporary dancehall), I was a avid dancehall goer and advocate in the '80's.

I was more familiar with the NY based DJ's (and singers).

Preacher Bado, Supercat, Nicodemus, Junior demus, Leroy Gibbin, Shinehead, Meatley.

My sounds were General High Power (with Fitzy General) and Tunda Muzik ( wid Puppa Stiggy at the microphone stand) ... Sons Junior from downa Nassau county.

The big difference is the lyrics. Back then it was bad-bwoy lyrics (and yes some slackness). Today it's the same but sadly more graphic........

G'dam...I better stop. i am having flash backs of the goodtime I use to have in the 80's.
                          Last edited by HL; September 1, 2011, 09:34 AM.

No, It Is Not "The facts"

You do realise that dancehall is going on 30+ years now, right.

It has lasted as Jamaicas most popular music genre longer than Ska, Rock Steady and Reggae did.

Just the facts.
                            Islandman, I originally had no interest in making any contribution to this thread. However, I’m forced to point out a serious flaw in your post.

Dancehall has NOT lasted longer than reggae for the simple fact that reggae is still something of a force to be reckoned with worldwide (and in Jamaica as well)!! In fact, I will bet you my last dollar that even at this minute, there are much, much more reggae tracks being released in 2011 than there are dancehall tracks!

This is simply because reggae has now moved out of the confines of the Jamaica borders and spread worldwide. There are numerous reggae bands and groups in Europe, Africa, the Caribbean and South America in particular. You would be surprised at how many people are recording reggae music either as an entire album, or as one or two tracks on an album!!

The same cannot be said of dancehall.

Your implied view that reggae is dead, therefore, is completely incorrect.

don't think I-Man was implying that Reggae is dead. Reggae is far from dead.