• Time for Portia to rise above being mere symbol

Time for Portia to rise above being mere symbol

Mark Wignall

Sunday, August 28, 2011

For much too long now Portia Simpson Miller has been held up mostly as a symbol of her connectedness with the poor (and by extension the PNP's proximity to understanding the needs of the voiceless) as well as an example of female achievement in Jamaica and the PNP, while in her chief role as Opposition leader there is still a troubling level of leadership incuriosity, an unwillingness to tackle pressing issues and convince the independent in the electorate that she holds possible solutions.

To her loyalists, once she is criticised, it must mean that the person doing so is sexist and is a closet hater of women, or it's a class issue where we are merely mocking her because we believe we are 'better' than her. As in politics everywhere, to Portia diehards and to a lesser extent, PNP loyalists, she is incapable of any political missteps. As I have observed repeatedly in this country, the components used to judge Simpson Miller by many of those who see her as 'Mama P' is first, love for her and second, little if any consideration to any performance successes.

Therefore, in Jamaica, and especially in the PNP, her pulling factor is that Jamaicans see themselves through her. To the very poor, and to the benefit of the PNP, that is very powerful imagery, especially among people who often have no voice and no real individual power and influence. To many of those people her presence at the top is enough for them to place a vote for her.

That is the political reality, although between now and election day in the latter part of next year it is possible that a small but significant shift from those judging her on the 'pure love' factor to 'performance' may tip the balance away from her and make the race once again a very competitive and contentious one as it was in September 2007.

We must remember that in 2005 and most of 2006, that love factor had pushed her popularity rating in opinion polls to a high of 75 per cent, but it was still not enough to take her party to victory in September 2007.

Many other factors have played up since: The stupidity of the JLP administration in telling Jamaicans that we would not be affected by the recession, job losses, the ineptness of the administration in handling crucial policy matters, the bungling in the Coke/Manatt affair, a significant drop in the murder rate, the economy limping back to life, an unexplained spike in horror killings and, a huge rise in the use of the social networks between 2007 and 2011.

The main factor, however, is the lack of any visible, coherent policy in the JLP administration that is convincing significant percentages of people, especially those out of work, that there are real plans to provide jobs and allow more people to have more money at their disposal. At times there are indications that something is happening, but it is mostly suspicion because, at those times if we allow ourselves to think a little harder and more realistic, it seems that our political leaders and representatives are just as confounded as the rest of us, although they have a bigger, more comfy cushion to sit on.

Although there is growth in the economy, it is the growth of roots, not fruits, so reports of it especially from inside the youth arm of the JLP, G2K, rings somewhat hollow among young men seated on street corners and unemployed women staring at these socially less viable men, wondering how come the 'success' is missing them.

The times are tailor-made for Portia Simpson Miller, champion of the poor, to rise to the occasion and be their voice. It seems to me that her reluctance to do so is probably related to what she sees in the JLP as low-hanging fruit. Next year she hopes to pick the tree clean.

The social networks, especially Facebook, while being a playground of social chatter, holds back nothing in its castigation of the ruling JLP and its leader, but I have seen nothing there to indicate any of the previous outpouring of love for her as existed in the 2005 to 2006 period. In the few times that I sign into Facebook, users are very much on top of what politicians like to believe are 'complex' issues that can only be navigated by them. Although many in the country are worried about where the next few thousand dollars are going to come from, it seems to me that it will take more than a constant burst of altruistic love to get those voters to vote for the 'Portia' of 2006.

It is quite possible because it is that same Portia who allowed her political competitors easy access to too many views of her that were uncomplimentary to a holder of the nation's highest office that independent voters may opt out of supporting her, especially if the general thinking is that the economic problems being experienced now require more serious thought and action than an excess of sweet and bitter rhetoric from the podium.

In the first instance, people tend to vote out governments rather than going directly for a new agenda of workable plans, but going against Simpson Miller and the PNP is the reality that no political party has ever been given just one term. At the same time, many people, especially the young and the unemployed, are expressing a new level of social alienation that to a large extent, is very anti-political, which is working somewhat in the PNP's favour. Some of them voted JLP for the first time in the last election and may simply opt out of the system, taking valuable votes away from the JLP.

That much of it is raw anger at what they see as a broken and corrupt political arrangement, their votes may stay at home, forcing the PNP to sing louder to its own choir.
    As much as the PNP may be convinced that Jamaica is PNP territory, Portia is the people's darling, and the country is theirs for the taking especially because 'Portia nuh get fi har term yet', the road to an easy PNP romp home will be anything but easy.

The leader of the Opposition must stand up and call out the Government on what she sees as its most egregious failings. But it must be more than 'dem a go get a beating' campaign rhetoric. That has its place but, a year out, more comprehensive analysis and alternative solutions must replace the tired, old, foolish political response of the 1960s and 1970s when politicians thought we were all fools.

Factors which can help the JLP's cause
    If Jamaica is able to pull through this hurricane season without a direct or near hit or if there is no excess flooding through to November, the JLP will automatically get a free pass on what would otherwise be a national headache that we can do without.

Although disasters allow an obvious excess of money and work in the system, the JLP must be haunted by the memories of Hurricane Gilbert in September 1988 and the general election loss in February 1989. Although at that time, two terms were the norm for both PNP and JLP, the economy had been recording impressive growth rates in the previous two years in comparison to the PNP's ruinous economic mission in the 1974 to 1980 period.

In essence, the Eddie Seaga-led JLP government had repaired the economy damaged by the PNP, a hurricane had struck, Seaga's management of the disaster was spectacular, but the JLP was still voted out of office even as we were reaping the efforts of his national leadership.

The return of hanging
    It could be said that any political administration that has to ride on coat-tails of the barbarity of hanging can't be having much going for it. That said, Jamaicans from all walks of life who are fed up with the equally barbaric murderers among us want to see the strongest message sent to these monsters.

Our EU partners and their generally civil socio-political societies must be made to appreciate that our present experience cannot be held alongside theirs because the situations are different. They must be made to see that while we still cannot afford to live without their loans and grants, the ultimate objective on our part must be to produce wealth and wean ourselves from being an old baby still clutching at their teats.

One of the fixes must be bringing heinous murderers to book and ultimately bringing this crime to controllable limits. Leave us to do our thing, to fix our broken polity. Our missions are poles apart. They have arrived, we are trying to get there. They can afford platitudes and convenient schools of morality. We are being overrun by monsters.
    It will be difficult, but this one policy fix by the JLP could hand it the election.

Independence 50
    In the months leading up to our 50th anniversary of Independence, the Government is expected to launch a 'spruce up, nice up campaign'. Being under more than the figurative boot heel of the IMF, it will be difficult for the administration to spend without breaching IMF conditionalities.
    Still, the Government could apply political 'creativity' and convince our partners that this milestone deserves no less. With the poorest being put to work and money in their pockets, the PNP will be embarrassed if it opens its mouth and criticises this programme.

Olympic Games
    Our athletes are expected to top the world again in the stellar Olympic events. In an election year, the JLP administration will be milking it for all they can get out of it. Huge parades and big celebrations at the National Stadium, along with parties to be held at Jamaica House, can only yield pluses for the JLP electoral chances. Sports Minister 'Babsy' Grange is expected to bring out her very best next year when cultural events at the very highest levels are expected to operate alongside the honouring of our modern-day sports warriors.

Renegotiating the JPS contract
    If the JLP administration is able to tap into the pressure being felt by hundreds of thousands of consumers and can use it to force the JPS to the table for a re-negotiating of the contract conditions and its pricing policy (JPS was sold during the PNP's run), it will be a plus for the ruling administration.
    If the reopening up of talks is successful, and the rate per KwH decreases by, say, 7 1/2 per cent, then it will place the PNP in a defensive position. It seems that some in the PNP have thought out that very possibility and have been positioning themselves to be on the 'people's side' if this should occur.

Trafigura may resurface next year
    We seem to have forgotten that the Trafigura investigations are not dead. It seems to me that it may rear its head again some time next year. In an election year, that cannot be good.

In 2006, Simpson Miller did not call an early election because the voters' list was still not complete. By the time it neared completion the Trafigura scandal broke and the PNP government, led by Simpson Miller, faced its most testing time.

We all remember how she, as prime minister, went silent for about two weeks as the scandal sailed close to her constituency. Anyone remember SW Services? SW in that instance meaning South West.

If in 2006 Simpson Miller and the Trafigura scandal brought such incongruence, that it seemed there were no easy and convenient answers to allow the matter to be reabsorbed into the woodwork as it was designed to be in the first instance, why do we believe that if it crops up next year that she will be more accommodating, especially when the investigators have probably done their homework? This will not yield any pluses for the PNP.

As the Dudus case is tried, and if it is still in the courts next year, certain revelations may harm the ruling party. At the same time, the same middle-class people who vented the most against Golding and the JLP at the height of the extradition delays and revelations on the Manatt matter may just decide to look at the bigger picture and convince themselves that the JLP giving up one of their own from the sub-cultural side of the tracks was not only brave but the right thing to do.

People may conveniently forget that it was the Americans who forced the hands of the Government to give up Dudus.

A Jamaican's live look at Singapore
    Dr Waine Kong (PhD), President, Heart Institute of the Caribbean Foundation, is a Jamaican countryman at heart, but he has travelled to 100 countries in his well over 60 years on this planet. He wrote the following on Thursday:

"After Independence in 1965, Singapore rapidly became the fastest growing economy in the world with one of the five busiest ports. They build ships, mining equipment and heavy machinery. The IMF has no business with them. You will never find a pothole in any of their highways and streets that are beautifully decorated with flowers and other vegetation.

"Singapore is the end of our cruise in the South China Sea and our port of disembarkation. After we clear customs, we claim our luggage which is then loaded into a separate bus and sent ahead to the Ritz Carlton. Our group is loaded into buses for a quick tour of Singapore before heading to the hospital to continue our medical lecture series.

"When our bus leaves the dock, the first thing the tour guide says is: 'Welcome to the City State of Singapore. We are a fine city: we fine you for everything. You will be fined for spitting on the sidewalk, fined for littering, fined for jaywalking, fined for smoking, fined for making loud noises and other lesser crimes against the state. She was a laugh a minute.

"The tour guide told us that there is no homelessness, as this is also a crime. But it is a crime with a benefit. If you do not have a home, the government will provide one for you at a cost and if you don't have a job, the government will find one for you as well. So, there is no unemployment or homelessness. The government of Singapore is also tough on crime. In addition to the fines, the government also has a system of corporal punishment which includes caning. They budget very little to provide guards, room and board for prisoners, so caning is the prescribed punishment for many offences including stealing, not meeting your financial obligations, sexual offences, including rape and vandalism.
    "They also impose mandatory death sentences for murder, drug-trafficking, and for possession of an illegal firearm. Amnesty International reported that they carry out two executions per month while Jamaica has had none in over 20 years.

"We learn that the citizens of Singapore contribute to a National Health Insurance Fund and in turn receive the best health care in the world at no additional cost.

After the lectures, a city tour is scheduled. However, we opt to be dropped off at the Ritz as we are scheduled to fly back to Bangkok in about six hours. We drink a few Singapore Slings although I would prefer rum punch.

"Singapore is the closest that we have come to streets paved with gold. The high-rise buildings do really scrape the sky. The glitzy part of town is the 'Las Vegas of the East' where a huge ship is balanced on three high-rise hotels. This hotel/casino is very impressive and draws people from around the world. The government discourages gambling for citizens by assessing a charge of US$100 as an entry fee but free for tourists. There is no social security or welfare for the elderly as this is perceived to be the responsibility of their children. This is legally enforced as parents have a right to sue their children for support as a per cent of the children's income.

"I am reminded that several months ago, Dr Wendel Abel, Head, Section of Psychiatry, University of the West Indies, wrote an editorial in which he made the following comments:
    "Jamaica must decide how we want to be seen by others. One of the first things the people of Singapore did before they embarked on their development was to decide how they wanted people to see them. The image that many people have of Jamaica is a bad and sad one. To many outsiders, we appear as a barbaric and disorderly people. Alcohol is sold to minors; ganja is smoked openly in public spaces; driving is reckless and undisciplined; music is played loudly; squatting is widespread and people freely litter the streets. We must now take a zero-tolerance approach to lawlessness."

"So, Jamaicans are undisciplined and Singaporeans are disciplined. No one jaywalks in Singapore while in Jamaica, everyone competes with the traffic and dares cars to hit them. So, why is Jamaica the third happiest place on Earth? Why doesn't Singapore win any medals at the Olympic Games or have a football team that can compete with our Reggae Boyz? When is the last time you heard of a new hairstyle, clothing line, song, dance move or a new musical genre coming out of Singapore. Our brethren developed the only new religion in the world (Rastafari) in the last 200 years and produced geniuses in every field of human endeavour. Other than their discipline and economic success, make me a list of the great accomplishments for the people of Singapore.

"While we could use a little discipline, do we really want to become like Singapore? Is this our model going forward or do we want to do it Jamaican style?"

observemark@gmail.com