• Some shameful sins of slavery

<DIV id=printReady>

Some shameful sins of slavery
    published: Sunday | February 4, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody PgAjQ="true">

<SMALL JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">Edward Seaga </SMALL><P JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">The sins of slavery did not end with emancipation. Some have endured from that time. These are postscripts of slavery. <P JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">On August 1, 1838, <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> woke up to find that, as of that day, all the able-bodied men among the 310,000 freed men, women and children were suddenly unemployed. This was a devastating blow for a small country with no experience in dealing with unemployment and no resources to tackle the problem. <P JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">The impossibility of gainful employment being found immediately by a country without resources, would be daunting to even the best of the post-war leaders who had to re-build their bombed-out countries in a few short years. <P JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">SOLUTIONS <P JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">Two solutions presented possibilities as the only recourse to these conditions of desperation. A great many of the former slaves took to the hills to plant the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">food </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">products</SPAN> they learned to grow in their spare time as slaves. They sold the produce mostly to each other. But as they all grew the same products, the market was relatively small and the scope of small farming was too limited to absorb all the unemployed former slaves. Some returned to the plantations to work for starvation wages and the provision of substandard <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">housing</SPAN>. These two solutions, however, were still inadequate to absorb all the surplus of unemployed labour. <P JSEXy="0" fhpFT="0">A third option became available - migrating to neighbouring countries where there were openings available for unskill

RE: Some shameful sins of slavery

beat mi to it, because mi deh here ah lecture

Lazie, mi neva get fi post it. :P

Weh Lazie deh?

One of the best articles I have seen out of Jamaica in a long time.

Seaga is not afraid to touch many topics people are afraid of and he does a good job of finding out problems.

Very good work from the Distinguished Fellow.

Ediie is showing the root of Nanny P's

problem. Lazie has to disappear, dem argument yah too big fi him :P

He had another one the weekk before,

I would like to ask some questions on that one :P Mi so busy. yes I knew for years that Eddie understood our conditions and psyche (he spent time studying us). The Ras had called for Garvey's works to be taught in schools but some would disagree, maybe if Eddie tell them :P yuh know what it's just not funny anymore.

He probably would have been better appreciated in another land.

Mi rate him still baba.. mi woulda pack up and leave long time.. battah bruise fi wah ?

Him shoulda devote himself to a global condition instead of waste him time down yah.

More like him waste time studying us..

Yuh evah check out Enchanted Gardens ?

That is the ultimate metaphor.

Nice but what do you have to say

about the article presented above by Eddie. Thanks.

Black Man Time will fix all those problems.

Good thing we went with Black Man Time when we did.

That Seaga guy did not have a clue.

and how does that relates to the above

article? Small wonder Eddie ah disown unnuh :P

The most instructive part of the above has probably eluded you:

"So it was in the past; so it is in the present; and so it will be if we still continue to bemoan the pain of the past instead of promoting the potentials of the future."

We took a path of bemoaning painrather than promoting potentialin 1972 and 1989.

No-one knows when we will recover.

Bermuda.. GDP 4.5 Billion

Population 67,000

Over 90% Black.

Referendum to become 'independent' failed at the polls.

'Black Man Time' - Entitlement, rather than promotion of potential.

Bermuda? Ben stop before Eddie say him don't even

know yuh. Boss if 2k tourists come to bermuda, they easily post profit. Is this the type of reasoning that goes on up at the JLP HQ? Tell me you are joking or you are redefining the word clown :P BTW you still did not address Eddie's article.

Stop and think before you post.

Bermuda GDP is 4.5 Billion with a population of 67,000

Ours is 8 Billion with a population of 2.7 Million.

Bermuda debt is 160 Million.

Jamaica debt is 11 Billion.

Okay let me bring things clearer but I know

Eddie is going to say; I know him not :P Ben what if St.James was an island with Mobay as its capital. Please think before you answer.