• PNP & JLP, Grade -F

Friendship's long, winding road to better facilities

Published: Saturday | August 13, 2011 0 Comments

Dr D.K. Duncan, member of parliament for Eastern Hanover.

Christopher Thomas, Gleaner Writer
    WESTERN BUREAU:Residents of Friendship in Hanover will have to wait until later this month to learn how and when their demands for road repairs and an improved water system in their community will be met.
    The residents, who recently clamoured for assistance with road repairs and for piped water, claimed they have been grappling with these problems for some 20 years.
    Dr D.K. Duncan, member of parliament (MP) for Eastern Hanover, acknowledged that the residents' concerns are valid, but stressed that contrary to their accusations against him, he has been making political representation on their behalf.
    "Representations have been vigorous by myself and the councillor (Wynter McIntosh). As a matter of fact, we were last in the area together on Labour Day at Copse; we had the parish project at the school for the disabled, and we did a Labour Day project to begin building a community centre," Duncan said.
    "The road is an extensive road, and as they (the residents) say, it's been in a deplorable condition for many years. We've been making vigorous representation because there are a lot of bad roads and this is one of the critical roads, and has been high on the priority list at the National Works Agency and (Hanover) Parish Council for three years."
    Unfulfilled promises
    The MP lamented that promises have been made to address the Friendship residents' issues and also the constituency of Eastern Hanover on a whole through the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] Development Infrastructure Programme (JDIP), but to no avail.
    "The funds that we get from the Constituency Development Fund are inadequate to address the issues at Friendship. It cannot do [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]rehabilitation[/COLOR][/COLOR] of that magnitude. We are really very concerned and deeply sympathetic with the residents, but our hands are tied, both for lack of funds and how funds are allocated," Duncan told Western Focus.
    "As a matter of record, we are very suspicious about the possibility of victimisation in Hanover and Westmoreland, where some 22 JDIP signs have been put up to suggest that roads are going to be built, and none of them are on the list provided by the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]works[/COLOR][/COLOR] minister (Mike Henry), or very few if any."
    Alicia Martin-Angwin, a teacher at Friendship All-Age [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]School[/COLOR][/COLOR], confirmed that the lack of water and good roads affects both [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]students[/COLOR][/COLOR] and teachers.
    Water used to be trucked to the school until about two years ago. The school now relies on the river and spring for the commodity.
    There is also the problem of transportation due to the bad roads.
    "We don't have any taxis coming this end, and most of the time it's very expensive to get somebody to take me up here," Martin-Angwin admitted. "I am coming all the way from Mount Peto end, and they charge me $500 to come up here, sometimes $1, 000 per trip."

'Thank God for the rain' - Cascade residents grateful for divine intervention to water woes

Published: Saturday | August 13, 2011 2 Comments

Lloyd Scott, operator of the water pump in Cascade, Hanover, uses a wrench on the pump to turn the water off. - Photo by Mark Titus

WESTERN BUREAU:Residents of Jericho, Cascade and Claremont in Hanover are displeased with the lengthy wait for the return of their [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]water[/COLOR][/COLOR] supply after the infrastructure to pipe the resource into their [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]homes[/COLOR][/COLOR] was removed to facilitate a more expansive project for the area.
    "Thank God for the rain. If it wasn't for the rain, we would not be able to survive," said Roland Hamilton, a grocery shop operator living in Jericho for more than four decades.
    The senior citizen said the move was made over 18 years ago, and there is no word from the political representatives, forcing them to at times to depend on less sanitary means.
    "Buy we have to buy water. If we don't buy it, we won't get drinking water because the spring water is sometimes dirty," he added. "As for me and my wife, it is impossible for us to walk four miles and take water on our heads, so it is even more difficult for us."
    unemployment rife
    Unemployment plagues these communities that are home to some 3,000 residents, and those persons who have secured [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]jobs[/COLOR][/COLOR] are believed to be earning minimum-wage salaries or depend on farming to survive.
    The National Water Commission (NWC) installed an irrigation system - or what the locals call 'a catchment' - in Cascade, but that has not been able to satisfy the needs of that community and its neighbouring districts.
    During a recent visit to Cascade, disgruntled residents were seen waiting by community standpipes, some peeved that the 'pump man' had not released any water all day.
    At the catchment, a NWC employee was seen removing debris from the water tank. He was, however, unwilling to speak to divulge any information, referring us to his regional office.
    "I cannot definitively say what the situation is," said Mayor of Lucea Lloyd Hill and councillor for the Sandy Bay division, who has responsibility for the affected communities.

"I have made representation at the highest level up to recently, and although commitments were made, I am yet to see any [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]action[/COLOR][/COLOR]."

According to Hill, the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] Social Investment Fund indicated a willingness to fund aspects of the project, but the NWC indicated that it had plans for something more substantial.

He said that with no specific timeline given, he sought to get both parties to come together and pool their funds, but this failed. Hill said he has been in talks with Dr Horace Chang, minister of water, housing and environment, without any success.

"Cascade has some engineering work to be done and, until that is done, we cannot put a timeline on it. The fact is, we do not have the capacity to deal with them all at once, but it is part of a long-term plan," Chang commented.

"This is up on the hill and those on the plains would be losing water, so it is a kind of a tricky situation. But a solution must be found, because we won't go through the costly exercise of laying pipes without a guarantee that supply will be constant."

Fi financial policies yuh caan gi PNP an JLP di said grade, dat is just calling di spade ah spade, wi haffi unbias. PNP mek some very bad financial decisions if di truut be told. Especially ovah di last how much years dem did in deh.

Yuh lucky mi nuh put -Z.

How would you grade this Mr BraveOne, Hanover of Two Prime Ministers?

Tell what party they belong to?

you have fi put some of he blame on the local government of Hanover too. Them sell out the people.

What local Government? Weh Yuh Deh, for the last 4 months or so they did not have a quorum to address the Parish business.

Would you like to see the Craters in Lucea?

Lucea soon sort out.. polls allowing..

Party man till de very end, Boss the ships are sinking..

mi ?.. no sah.. mi juss good at analysis..

Green, Black & Gold mi seh..

Mr Brave one, bwoy yuh brandish mi yah now (ah nuh nutten ah Brandon Hill mi come from yuh know it, dangerous bad bad), mi jus a talk it like how mi seeit yuh nuh breddrin. Hanover of Two Prime Ministers ah wha dat, not eben inna di parable ting yuh nuh jus leggo di ting trait ah mi wi gi yuh fi mi opinion.

Lawd, stap pull mi tongue, yuh want dem sassinate mi?

Wah happen Bay man, long time mi nuh guh a Brandon Hill, bout inna de 80's on my way to Rosemount.

Wait wah happen to Mo Bay Technical inst. up a Orange hill?

The combined ages of DK Duncan and Mike Henry must be running close to bout 150 years?

What is it with these people and politics? Dem nuh have nuh grandpickey fe go spend some time wid inna dem final decades? Or even some young gyal fe go look?

Here is your answer - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Njmy7H7tf1A

All for themselves.

No sah, mi nuh waan dat atall, ahhh, ah si yuh know it well
                              yuh haffi ask man from di west, bout di MoBay ting