All over di werl politician ah show seh dem nuh ready..... ...UK, Greece, Ireland, US, Syria, Egypt, Libya etc, etc, etc ... Social Contrak NOW before it too late an di hataclapse lick Jamaica
Memba mi tole yuh (fram 2007)
Is the PNP's Progressive Agenda the answer?
MARK WIGNALL
Thursday, August 11, 2011
NOT so long ago people in various countries mounted waves of protests by gathering in metropolitan centres and as of one heart sat in on night vigils to demand regime and directional change.
In recent days in several British cities thugs and looters went on a rampage, and taking advantage of the "civil approach" of British police officers and probably a poverty of hopelessness they had what amounted to a free-for-all.
It matters little how much the dollar is stable, interest rates are down and the NIR is up. The poor are worse off than they were in 2007 when the JLP took power
In Chile student unrest has boiled over into street clashes with the security forces. The unrest in Syria which began in March has seen President Assad releasing the full might of his military machine against anti-government protestors and the death toll is inching to 2,000. Armed fighting, famine and massive human dislocation have reduced Somalia in the Horn of Africa to a state that has had no effective central government since 1991.
The great United States of America is effectively leading the charge in what seems set to be a double-dip recession, and bets are on as to which of the European countries will first find the solutions to their ongoing economic problems as the reality of the last recession revisits.
To say that the world is in turmoil is an understatement and to many, it is a scary place to be in at this time, especially if one is trying to raise a family.
There has been no street unrest in Jamaica because our people know what would be expected as a blowback by the local security forces. But enough hopelessness and economic uncertainty exist among our people to scare the JLP government silly as it views its electoral prospects in 2012.
Of late I have become afraid to venture out too much in public where I am known. Last Tuesday at around midday just before I left for a meeting with two members of the PNP, who wanted to give me a brief slide presentation of the much-awaited Progressive Agenda, I stopped by a shop to reload on mobile credit. A young man (35 years old) I knew walked up to me and said, "Missa Mark, mi a beg yu a money fi buy some food. Mi nuh eat from mawning.
" I summoned my 'other side' and simply said, "No", but it pained me to do so.
At minutes to 4 pm when I returned and stopped by to "lyme" with some of the men gathered there, he approached me again. "Yuh can help mi now, Missa Mark." I pretended not to hear him.
According to government figures, poverty levels have increased as follows: 2007: 9 per cent, 2008:12 per cent, 2009-16 per cent, 2010: 20 per cent. In the same period real GDP in $ billions has been steadily falling: 2007: 510, 2008: 506, 2009: 490, 2010: 484.
It matters little how much the dollar is stable, interest rates are down and the NIR is up. The reality is, the little man and woman at street level are very much worse off than they were in 2007, the year the JLP took power.
According to the PNP, "The Progressive Agenda is a document that reflects the new direction. Because of the rapidly changing economic face of the global economy, the document has gone through several iterations to reflect current conditions."
Dr Winston Davidson and Anthony Hylton (former minister of foreign affairs in the last PNP government) both assured me that, "We did not arrive at the final document by just placing nice words on paper. The country has had enough of that. All of what drives the document is data-driven and it is all based on measurable outcomes."
One aspect of the business philosophy that I particularly like is the reality that only by linking to the global supply chain can businesses in countries like Jamaica truly prosper and survive. I look forward to making more detailed comment on this document which is certain to generate much discussion in the coming months.
It is an exciting document that takes the PNP into almost scripting what I see as the ultimate mission statement. It is to be officially launched on August 17. The PNP's Manifesto for the 2012 election is to follow.
Does the JLP government have any mission statement guiding it or is it still playing "ketchy shubby"?
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz1UiiCsHMb
Memba mi tole yuh (fram 2007)
Is the PNP's Progressive Agenda the answer?
MARK WIGNALL
Thursday, August 11, 2011
NOT so long ago people in various countries mounted waves of protests by gathering in metropolitan centres and as of one heart sat in on night vigils to demand regime and directional change.
In recent days in several British cities thugs and looters went on a rampage, and taking advantage of the "civil approach" of British police officers and probably a poverty of hopelessness they had what amounted to a free-for-all.
It matters little how much the dollar is stable, interest rates are down and the NIR is up. The poor are worse off than they were in 2007 when the JLP took power
In Chile student unrest has boiled over into street clashes with the security forces. The unrest in Syria which began in March has seen President Assad releasing the full might of his military machine against anti-government protestors and the death toll is inching to 2,000. Armed fighting, famine and massive human dislocation have reduced Somalia in the Horn of Africa to a state that has had no effective central government since 1991.
The great United States of America is effectively leading the charge in what seems set to be a double-dip recession, and bets are on as to which of the European countries will first find the solutions to their ongoing economic problems as the reality of the last recession revisits.
To say that the world is in turmoil is an understatement and to many, it is a scary place to be in at this time, especially if one is trying to raise a family.
There has been no street unrest in Jamaica because our people know what would be expected as a blowback by the local security forces. But enough hopelessness and economic uncertainty exist among our people to scare the JLP government silly as it views its electoral prospects in 2012.
Of late I have become afraid to venture out too much in public where I am known. Last Tuesday at around midday just before I left for a meeting with two members of the PNP, who wanted to give me a brief slide presentation of the much-awaited Progressive Agenda, I stopped by a shop to reload on mobile credit. A young man (35 years old) I knew walked up to me and said, "Missa Mark, mi a beg yu a money fi buy some food. Mi nuh eat from mawning.
" I summoned my 'other side' and simply said, "No", but it pained me to do so.
At minutes to 4 pm when I returned and stopped by to "lyme" with some of the men gathered there, he approached me again. "Yuh can help mi now, Missa Mark." I pretended not to hear him.
According to government figures, poverty levels have increased as follows: 2007: 9 per cent, 2008:12 per cent, 2009-16 per cent, 2010: 20 per cent. In the same period real GDP in $ billions has been steadily falling: 2007: 510, 2008: 506, 2009: 490, 2010: 484.
It matters little how much the dollar is stable, interest rates are down and the NIR is up. The reality is, the little man and woman at street level are very much worse off than they were in 2007, the year the JLP took power.
According to the PNP, "The Progressive Agenda is a document that reflects the new direction. Because of the rapidly changing economic face of the global economy, the document has gone through several iterations to reflect current conditions."
Dr Winston Davidson and Anthony Hylton (former minister of foreign affairs in the last PNP government) both assured me that, "We did not arrive at the final document by just placing nice words on paper. The country has had enough of that. All of what drives the document is data-driven and it is all based on measurable outcomes."
One aspect of the business philosophy that I particularly like is the reality that only by linking to the global supply chain can businesses in countries like Jamaica truly prosper and survive. I look forward to making more detailed comment on this document which is certain to generate much discussion in the coming months.
It is an exciting document that takes the PNP into almost scripting what I see as the ultimate mission statement. It is to be officially launched on August 17. The PNP's Manifesto for the 2012 election is to follow.
Does the JLP government have any mission statement guiding it or is it still playing "ketchy shubby"?
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz1UiiCsHMb