• Brown Man War Time

Who Wants Samuda Out?
    Published: Sunday | August 7, 2011

... 'They are out to get me'; His woes are self-inflicted, says Vaz

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer

SIMMERING TURMOIL in the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) bubbled over late last week as Karl Samuda stopped short of asserting that a segment of the leadership may be out to get him.

Samuda, who recently lost his senior ministerial position in the Cabinet, after earlier being forced to relinquish the position of general secretary in the JLP, bluntly told The Sunday Gleaner that he would not put it past some leaders in the JLP to wrest the position of campaign chairman from him.

"If they are planning to have me removed, it would be on a personal (rather than a professional) basis, and then again that would not be surprising to me ... I have always tried to divorce personal feelings from political involvement," Samuda told The Sunday Gleaner. "It would not be surprising to me if this is so."

However, Information Minister Daryl Vaz contends that Samuda's bitterness and animosity are self-inflicted.

Vaz, who stressed that he was speaking as the person with portfolio responsibility for information as he is no longer an officer of the party, said Samuda's dedication, commitment and his service to the JLP in leading it to an electoral victory four years ago is unquestionable.

However, he said it was Samuda who opted out of the Cabinet when the prime minister reshuffled a month ago. He made some changes and it is public knowledge that Mr Samuda refused the mining and energy portfolio assigned to him.

and when di people vote dem out next year dem nah go know dat dem defeat was self-inflicted!

===============================================

Who are the candidates for Rasta Party, or yuh gonna vote fi Betty Blaine for all seats

Certainly, we have had enough of the JLP/PNP.

'wishing' and hoping and thinking and praying''

It nah get yuh nuh where.. show me the money !

if it means you'll stop singing...!

Are you expecting better when the PNP returns to power?

why yuh aks?

Mi see quite a bit about voting them out of power etc, so I am wondering if you expect much better performance from the PNP? or are you assuming that Astor going to win?