Don't fight the Dancehall

Everyone has equal blame BRICK ! even the music.Lets not absolve anyone but question it.

Can you even do that ?
    How so? If someone is socialised properly a song has no influence on that person...you don't blame machete makers for beheadings do you?

Can you answer a few questions?

Do you think Children should hear those song? Isn't that a matter for our policy makers?

What a day when our policy maker surrender policies to the like of Mavado and Vibez Kartel.

Did you see that recent policies since 2005 have really helped in putting some dent in some of behaivor and music played in the public space?

I notice you fail to answer about Ska and education.

Say after me, it is not dancehall, it is what we have allowed as a society. The artist take advantage. If it not dancehall it will be something else. The fact is we need better policies and to take care of our children.

Answered all of your questions , you seem to be moving the goal post all over the place , stay focused.....does dancehall promote an uneducated society?

Basically from what i can gather you beieve its soley a matter of the policy makers.It has nothing to do with these musicians.

I disagree, i believe it involves all of society.If you read my reply where I stated the correlation of our music by generation to present , 60s(ska) to gangasta for life present you will get your answer.The specific trend of education politics & violence with music .

Incidentally I pointed out your and Lazie hypocrysy in your campaign against DJs buring a fiyah on the B.Men..Boom bye bye.The campaign was based on the fact that it is murder music , hate and violence against gays.

So its good for the gays but not the uneducated? Now please stop moving the goal post!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Did you see me campaign agains dancehall in Boom Bye Bye? I said it stop these artist from getting certain concerts and I personally don't like it. The fact is because of campaign by sponsors, gay lobbies and policy makers most of these artists are hurt by their actions. Not the Music, the music is still alive.

Therefore that is the approach I recommend, the music in its form is great, and when you see what Sean Paul, Shaggy and Sean Kingston has done with it you will see Dancehall is not the problem. If we had no kids in the dance, better written music(in general) and better trained artists then that is a step in the right direction. You can't do it by abondoning dancehall but by putting more music in school and educating our future generation of artists. Since the 60, our decision of our policitians have more to do with our society than any music ever had.

I have no problem with Dancehall music. In fact, it deserves its place among our catalog of music which help to launch our popularity and keep our culture vibrant and evolving.

My interjection in the other post about the youth's propensity to androgyn
            was somewhat inappropriate and out-of-place in Mo's youtube post on a dancehall piece. However, I still maintain my stance that most a di yute gwaan too much like gal. That proclivity towards a unisex lifestyle, tight "pance", belly skin t-shirt, wrist flapping, the feminine gait/swagger and the general metro-sexual lifestyle is freaking disgusting to me. Man fi act like man, and ooman fi behave like ooman! This has nothing to do with any genre of music; and, a dislike of this behaviour should not be misconstrued to mean a dislike of dancehall.
            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I share the view about that somewhat but isn't that in itself ironic? Wasn't dancehall a male "macho" thing? With dancing on a commerical schene a nuh pure tight pants(you ever go a ward or little theatre)? LOL or watch dancing with the stars?

Thanks for the clarification. I also don't like the gun tune and a overdose of "Kill bman" but if a good DJ can come and run him things nuthing beats it. My problem is when we blame it for all that is happening such as the education of our children or lack of.

Let me give you some good dancehall music. This is from my favourite show on TV, Magnum Kings & Queens of Dancehall. Dis bredda shoulda did win di King part but him come second. Check it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMUkU...eature=related

MAAAAAAAAWD!

thanks Mo. It have all the attribute of a good dancehall song. Imagination, good delivery, verses and good punchline. Now maybe you can tell X how that contribute to the degrading of our society. LOL.

The problem is that the DJs don't give some of these songs any attention partially because of payola and friend business.

I agree there are some glaring problems in the world of dancehall;women barely dressed behaving the way they look,filth being rewarded evident in who is popular,most align themselves with some serious killers,men looking like woman and dancing with each other,but this is not absolute.
                    I am happy that Tupaq is seen as an accomplished poet,the same is true with dancehall.
                    Dancehall is one of the few industries that remains vibrant despite dereliction regarding education.
                    I think censorship is bent on derailing dancehall from being THE voice of the revolution,which was NEVER liked by Govt.

You answered your own question by asking IF ? so I take it you can ask IF not?....has some serious consequences for a child , by the way we have alot of (IF not) in Jamaica who are not well socialised.

So you see its a holistic issue , dancehall does not exist in a vacum.I will break it down to you in a reflective way multi nationals buy commericial space on T.V and radio to sell a product ,through thoughts and ideas......while not buying commercial space , music is marketed to sell the same things thoughts and ideas of a lifestyle be it criminal or sane.

Now market it to a child thats not well socialised in a tribal/political ghetto shitstem.

I hope I answered your question.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You answered your own question by asking IF ? so I take it you can ask IF not?....has some serious consequences for a child , by the way we have alot of (IF not) in Jamaica who are not well socialised.

So you see its a holistic issue , dancehall does not exist in a vacum.I will break it down to you in a reflective way multi nationals buy commericial space on T.V and radio to sell a product ,through thoughts and ideas......while not buying commercial space , music is marketed to sell the same things thoughts and ideas of a lifestyle be it criminal or sane.

Now market it to a child thats not well socialised in a tribal/political ghetto shitstem.

I hope I answered your question.
                        You are making leaps of logic...since there are children that are not adequately socialised we must remove everything in society that could influence them negatively...doesn't make sense...

Does dancehall promote an uneducated society ? The fact that one or two artist create clean music is great but the overall balance of dancehall,is at this moment negative.

With the Gully vs Gaza foolishness for the past 5 years , can you argue other wise?

Brick please stop yuh foolishness, I have never said that all my postings have said dancehall needs balance , it should be played , all i did was ask a question? See my post.....

Never said we must remove everything that influences negatively, i called for balalnce.Negative influences build character , in that you are able to determine good from bad through trial and error.......you asked IF ?

I am not getting you...negative influences in society should not be blamed for society neglecting to properly socialise it's population...if one is properly socialised negative influences will not easily affect them..."cleaning up" dancehall or massage parlours or casino's or movies et al does not help to solve the problem of deviant behaviour in society...

The fact is there are many that do clean music. You think Gazza and Gully is dancehall?????

There has always been rivalry in our music since Ska. The rivalry don't matter me as long as there is nothing physical. Then you blame the individuals not the music.