Don't fight the Dancehall

Did I say that ? so you will never get me , I said negative influences are part of trial and error in life that builds ones character hopefully for the better.

Society has a responsibility in my opinion to protect its youth from said influence, granted it might not be succesfull but the effort must be made.Especially the have nots and if nots.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

And how do you protect them from those influences? By socialising them properly...so turn your attention to the relevant authorities and leave the music alone...

LOL.....if it was a B.Man dat get duss out over Boom Bye Bye yuh sing a different tune .....lol....called incitation of violence against gays.

NONSENSE!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Relevant authourities could include musicians themselves.Its a holistic issue.

The irony of your post is that you,Sass & Lazie dont challenge the assumption that dancehall is promoting an uneducated society but who should police, monitor, legislate against it

hhmmmmmmm?

As mi say the physical thing mi nuh inna it but rivalry inna the music start from Africa so it nah go stop. Is Gaza/Gully dancehall?

Entertainers are responsible for socialising the population?

The irony of your post is that you,Sass & Lazie dont challenge the assumption that dancehall is promoting an uneducated society but who should police, monitor, legislate against it

hhmmmmmmm?
                  Nobody should police it, monitor it or legislate against it...you haven't learned from history I see...North Korea bans all that kinda stuff but guess what...they still watch & listen to it...you don't ban things you educate the population...

Agree with you 100% X. The discussion started with the discussion of dancehall in particular, but since the argument can't be defended, it switched to Ska, a completely different ganre, from a different era. Maybe the doctors, lawyers, and Campion College grads earn the right to dance. What are the usual dunces in the dancehalls celebrating?. I am trying to think. Maybe Red Bull, or Smirnoff, oh, it must be Rum Bar. Oh boy, probably its Digicel, or Lime, what about beheadings. A society on the way to hell real fast.

get your facts straight. The argument started with Mosiah showing a good dance routine on a Canadian show and suddenly turned south. Don't try to rewrite it. I guess you earn the right too?
                      Last edited by Assasin; July 25, 2011, 09:32 AM.

ah bwoy .... yow doc ... why yuh haffi fling 2 stones affa mi one an' mi not even inna di fight?!

I dont care what Mosiah wrote. Thats irrelevant. The title of your new thread was 'don't fight the dancehall', and that's where I bagan and where I will stay.

What are they celebrating ...a degree in ova di river ...caaan cross it and i..am so special...inna tiht up jeans and bleach face...., 2nd major is dem grudge mi beause mi can dance....lol

Did you actually read my post? The post is about music, and not about people's behavior. Dancehall as Genre is good.

Are you actually saying if we just listen to Reggae we wouldn't have this kind of deviant behavior in our society?

Talk to me Mr. Doc.

Yes I actually read your post. Did you read your post sir?. You never discussed, or even attempted to discuss dancehall as a purely arts discourse. You disscussed the social implications of dancehall music and dancehall artistes, and thats where the argument will stay. Now, if you were trying to say something else, and discuss the nuances of the lyrics and music of dancehall as an art form and its implication on the world of dance and music etc, then please open a new thread to that effect, but you won't be allowed to write one thing and develop an argument around something else. At least not by this forumite. No.