HL, wi culture a run di place

Mdme x....my laaawd.....mi see one a walk down rockaway bld inna canarsie tight up pants pan im cell , hands snapping ,flaming queen wid big jamaican accent a discuss im/har bashment di night before..mi swear if im eye dem did meet mine a war.......mi juss press pan my gas ....

Mi shame bad.....Sass say dem sexy .....lol..

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

man really go inna di woman dem store and buy dem tings? mi find dat hard fi believe.

oh, you know what, a town dem buy tings deh, so dem peoples a town set dem up. i see now!

Dont know if is true but to hear the ignorance and superficial nonsense that comes out of their mouth , i would not put it pass them.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Di bordah still intact.. stay deh..

wi juss ah create ah uppah-uptown..

Notten don't wrong wid the dancing, and the dressing start from bout ten years now, european dressing tek over from hip hop , even the rappers a feature europen design, the problem is dem set dem self a way wid di bag a bleaching an overreliance on designer wear when dancehall used to be about originality, fashion over style missa wacky say

Ok, I am very late into this argument. X, MadamX and all the opponents of Dancehall, you are all chatting a bag of rubbish (don't take it personal...we juss debating here). The music is, and always will be a reflection of the time and the masses. Dancehall, which has evolved from Mento, Ska, Rock Steady and Reggae will always be looked down on by the "sophisticated" and the "educated" section of our soceity, because it was borne out of poor black people. Ska and Reggae were not readily embraced by "educated" Jamaicans until our artistes like Bob Marley went overseas and white people started to like it. I remember when Reggae was not played on the radio on Sundays.....until Irie FM came into being. Those very songs of the 60's, 70's and 80's that we call classics now, were scoffed upon by our elders. Back in the days, dance moves like the ska, rub-a-dub, cool & deadly were frown upon. MadamX, me know seh you did puddung your fair share a bubbling inna your days. Dance styles are just youngsters expressing themselves. Whereas, I don't care for some of these latest moves, like the daggering which is taking things too far, there is absolutely nothing wrong with most of them, regardless of how silly they may look. It is a serious flaw within us Jamaicans, that we don't give credit to our own until the white foreigner says that it's ok. We skin our teet when these same white foreigners say, "Oh, I went to Jamaica and it was so lovely. The food and the people were so nice. I love that dish with the scrambled eggs with the codfish and johnnycakes". We feel that sense of pride and talk up a storm trying to educate them about our culture and showing them the good in Jamaica.

The fashion comes with the lifestyle and the music. Just like hip-hop; just like disco; just like salsa. Men wearing tight-up clothes has been around from ever since. During the disco era, the men wore their pants so tight you could see dem seed bags. It's a wonder how more fires never got started in the night clubs with all those polyester rubbing together. I remember back in high school, I went through the fashion phases as well. First it was the "bad man" phase wearing "lengths". This was in the early 80's coming out of the disco era. The pants were tight up top but flared from the hips, unlike the disco pants which flared at the knees. Then I went through the hip-hop/breakdancing/Michael Jackson era. I used to stitch my pants foot in until it tapered at the ankles - the "gun-mouth style". Of course the hairstyles also changed with the times. The 70's was "the souls"; the 80's, I moved from "the napoleon", to "tony C". The 90's, the fades, which evolved into the the fades with the zigzag lines. I even remember the days of the mohawks which everybody is wearing now. Back then, as a young person, X, you would have looked down on me and my friends/crew because we dressed like that and could do every one of those dance moves.
              X, Hip-Hop is a perfect similarity to our Danchall and look where it is now. It is a billion dollar industry and turning untalented people into overnight millionaires. I wish the Jamaican government could somehow figure out a way to capitalise, financially, on our dancehall culture. I am glad to see, as HL said, our youngsters and dancehall practioners finally figuring out and creating choreographed movements to our music. Like hip-hop, there will never be any one technique to learn because it is that dynamic. Step aside Fox Trot, Waltz, Samba and Rhumba, Dancehall just entered the party.
              Last edited by Jangle; July 28, 2011, 11:18 PM.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good analysis!

leggo dancehall!

Spoken like a true Man U man , X look down on who, X was a big time break dancer , danced at ardenne bbq, doesnt excuse the badness or madness , you cant compare the late 80s /90s to the present .Shabba & Cat were my rude boy idols .

This generation deh pan a defeatist path , dem youth a embrace genocide with happiness, when a DJ can promote bleaching as in line with Marcus Garvey teaching , its a mark of the dangerous times we live in...promote it and accepted by some.As for the tight up pance and di competition wid di girl dem fi clothes?

Not in my days ! wi on the tipping point.........Gaza mi say ! or Bleach mi say.

Dont excuse the negative message in the music as a fashion statement , it is a social statement and it is being promoted and glorified as the norm, in society.DECADANT !STAGNANT ! BACKWARD!

This should never be.Our emphasis needs to be on education.Not bleaching, this is where we are ?where dancing hall culture is accepting of this MJ(bleacher) Duppy Vybz !I remembered when dancehall bun dat out .

Sorry boss I cannot accept the promotion of an uneducated society through music.Dont confuse the two subjects.
                  Last edited by Sir X; July 29, 2011, 05:34 PM.

X yuh mussi drunk or sumpen. Of all the DJ's of the 80's you could have picked, you chose the King of Slackness to defend your point. Even though he is my all-time favourite DJ, Shabba took slackness to the next level during the 80's and was no better than Vibez today. Shabba was the first of the DJ's who started to wear goyshers (sp) and anklet. Tell me what's the difference with those songs below andVibez Kartel's songs. If you go to a party today and these songs start play, you would be the first one on the dancefloor.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMaxL9Pu6Mc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ki8IG...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnQA7TTxJ_c

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9TCz...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfFHp...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugA0-...eature=related
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

you ever seen some a dem man a go England inna the ska era and see the tight pants with the bring seam them use to wear a skank some SKa? LOL.

Them a gwaan like Tight pants is a new era. Mi use to have a tape when Josie Wales did a cuss Peter Metro inna a dance bout him tight pants.

Di tight pants of today can't rival those of the 70s. And thank God for that!

We are beginning to sound like our parents. Chill out!

More disgusting to me than the tight pants is the pants off the butt. Bun dat out, if wi need fi bun someting.

Jangle ? I know Jangle and this isnt Jangle , the Jangle I know has sense , he can differentiate between the arguement or theory or promoting an uneducated society through music with musical entertainment for enjoyment.

Is this Sass?

Let me make it clear when society promotes and reacts with violence and ignorance out of musical messages we are in trouble.Violence in the form against self (Vybz self mutilation i.e bleaching ) Schoolers fighting each other over this Gully vs Gaza B.S.

An entertainer likened his cause to that of Marcus Garvey to defend his bleached skin.

history is a hell of a thing. Sometime we have to look behind the talking heads. You think nuff a dem did accept the great Mikey dread and King Bob Marley. Only when the death of Marley and Third World them start accepting dread. Many asked why Dennis and Gregory turn "dutty dread".

The drop down pants mi nuh inna it. If mi see my son wearing it, him a fi go a toliet because him must mant to shhiiitt.

Like comparing the murders of the 60s and 70s..its not shooting in the head no more,its shoot and cut off ead with mutilation of the bodies,its not gang warefare, its community warefare or gang gainst community, its so called garrisons.its promotion of all these through music.....yes an uneducated society i.e culture...kissteeth.

Like the murders of today cant be compared with the murders of the 60s,a gunshot in the head is now a gunshot with decapitation and corspe mutilation all promoted through our music.