• Ben & Lazie crime is down ?

Two women beheaded

Gunmen send chilling message by cutting off 3 heads in 3 days

Thursday, July 21, 2011

CHURCH minister Charmaine Rattray and her 19-year-old daughter were yesterday morning beheaded by gunmen who invaded their Lauriston home on the outskirts of Spanish Town, St Catherine.

The macabre murders, apparently meant to send a chilling message, come days after a neighbour, 18-year-old Scott Thomas, was similarly decapitated by men believed to be his cronies from the feared Klansman gang.

Undertakers yesterday remove one of the bodies from the home in the Lauriston Housing Scheme, St Catherine where gunmen hacked and then beheaded mother and daughter, Charmaine Rattray and Joyette Lynch (photo2). (Photo: Michael Gordon)

1/3

Thomas' death was a result of gang infighting, the police have said, but detectives were up to last night looking into several motives that could have led to the murders of Rattray and her daughter Joyette Lynch.
    "We believe the case is linked to Monday's murder of Thomas," ventured one detective who spoke on condition of anonymity.
    Both women were said to be devout Christians and members of the New Life Church of God. Lynch, a former student of the Queen's High School in Kingston, was scheduled to start her law degree at the University of the West Indies in September.
    The two were attacked just after dawn by the men armed with guns and machetes and who kicked open the door to their home as they slept. The women's heads were taken from the scene by the culprits who had inflicted numerous chop wounds to the victims' bodies.
    Residents listened and cowered helplessly as the women's horrified screams pierced the morning's silence.
    Yesterday as detectives combed the areas for clues, family members and friends of the victims wept openly. At least one woman was seen hastily gathering her belongings to leave the area.
    Members of the New Life Church of God, who had gathered on the scene, were in a state of shock. Holding his head in disbelief, Bishop George Carter said there was no indication that the victims had been threatened.
    "I still can't come to grips with what happened," said Carter, in a grief-filled tone.
    Police have vowed to leave no stone unturned in capturing the culprits.
    Last night the police imposed a curfew in sections of Spanish Town, which will remain in effect until 6:00 pm tomorrow

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1SjZQGTta

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Clearly X, yuh not saying that this is evidence of rising crime rates, are you?

However, I think we are getting complacent following the successes which were due to the Tivoli Operation. We now need a real plan.

Believe what you want X.

Of course it is going to rise anyone with common sense knows this, anyone thinking the extermination of jlp gunmen in TG solved anything is fooling themselves.Remember so called pnp garrison were left untouched,unemployment is the real issue and our economy has been the problem from our independence.It will rise.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A man said he was impressed how the jlp gov dealt with crime...bruce kill out di gunman dem my reply and di gunman dem dedd leff a 100 pickney fi tek im place because dem nuh ave nuh work....

Get real...or believe what you want to believe

I do agree, X! The Tivoli Operation can only go so far. It was an essential operation and we have to thank Hero Phillips for it. But wi nuh reach nuhwhere yet, and certainly, when yuh listen to the news, yuh seem to still hear about 5 murders every day.

A man said he was impressed how the jlp gov dealt eith crime...bruce kill out di gunman dem my reply and di gunman dem dedd leff a 100 pickney fi tek im place because frm nuh ave nuh work....

Get real...or believe what you want to believe
              Yuh all over the place ... I guess you didn't have a point in the first place. Your initial question was if crime was down as if you didn't believe it was.

Reflective queston,the objective was achieved .I hope,it did make you think?

A flat earther response .... gwaan pat yuhself on the back.

I have no heroes in either party but you see the political game they play with peoples security for votes and the security forces are the only ones keeping us from falling apart and some see them as the problem.....mi naah call nuh name!

You will thank Hero Phillips one day.

Suh it guh ... some people duh the work .... others try fi tek credit.

HAHA! Tell me about it!

Liad Bruce comes to mind re tek credit!

Unemployment is one issue but it is not the explanation for having one of the highest crime rates in the world though it has dropped. . If that were the case then there would be dozens of countires with higher crime rates than ours.

Jamaicans have a culture of crime and violence that has to be changed. The Tivoli/Dudus cleanup did more to further that cause than anything else in recent memory.

You ever hear dem say facts are stubborn things?

Some man hate facts and ignore them at all costs when them say something different from what thier "religion" teach dem.