JPS monopoly

• JPS monopoly

Jamaica is too mountainous to not have light and power monopoly . So said the govt minister Mullings.

Talk about a country of dunces

the terrain is challenging.. communities in these areas have to be subsidized.. how yuh duh dat with a fragmented distribution model ?

...it's impossible...it cannot be done.....

not true.. yuh can find ah Santa Claus or a billionaire dat juss luff poor people and luff inefficient models ..

call mi fuss ting !

As we are talking about the JPS Monopoly Air Jamaica came to mind. I remember the days when we use to cry for a competitor to Air Jamaica because of prices and services. Jetblue came in to the market and we all thought prices would drop to the benefit of us consumers. I think they did for a while but they have gone right back up. Jetblue now has one way flights to JA for more than $519 plus Tax ...One way.. Have prices really gone down? Did this competition really help us or is there massive collusion happening between the Airlines?
          Now regarding JPS, any investor will want to recoup their investment and get a solid rate of return. Is that possible in JA at this stage if aditional companies invest. What we need is tougher government stance on these companies...they should be heavily regulated in a monopoly situation. In JPS's case, it seems OUR looks over it but their hands are tied by agreements..agreements that were signed by greedy corrupte government officials. Agreements that will rob the JA masses over and over again...God help us

Industry subsidizes households on the Grid. (in the real world)

Bauxite companies are off the Grid... wha dat leave ?

Water Commission is JPS largest customer.

17,000 km of Transmission wire and half the population live in a 15 mile radius.

Monopoly ?

Unnuh tink di PNP failure is a joke ting ?

It is expensive to be poor.. learn dat..

Continue di fvckery comrades...

Wi ah target all sympathizers in sheeps clothing.. all dem dat did run guh UWI and breed up di place after unnuh leave Gordon House in '83.. all di born again pretendahs..wi know who unnuh be.. wi ah spray dung di Intellectual Ghetto and every nook and cranny..

Kill dat beast hatched in the 70's.. di 'social democrats' once and for all...

Bud !

what we need is new diversity. Stuff like solar panel and other forms of energy saving things. Just like how wireless change the telecom schene. can you imagine what lime would be charging if we still had to use landlines only?

JPS will never have any real competition.

Competition implies a healthy market environment demand outweighing supply..

There is nothing about the current energy demand profile of Jamaica that suggests this could work.

Dem nuh close down all di factories dem ?

What production that is left close dung at 6pm.. Turbines run same way.. our peak usage profile has nothing to do with productive operations..

Whole ting fvck up PNP stylee...

100 more Hotel and 40 High Rise and 3 work shift operations den wi can start talk..