• X6 Driver And Other Wrong Doers .

X6 DRIVER AND OTHER WRONG DOERS
    Sunday, 17 July 2011 17:59 Editor
    It is two weeks and two days since young Khajeel Mais was shot dead. I hope we now have answers or explanations to the following: Who shot the young man? Are the police able to identify the weapon that was used? Was this a licensed firearm? Who was driving the vehicle at the time of the incident? Has the vehicle been positively identified? Was the vehicle an X5 or an X6? Was the person who left the island the one who was driving the vehicle? So, the two sons also have a matter in court from 2009! Hmm! Could it be that we have been too hasty in demanding that the police speak the details to the public? What if this is far more complex and complicated than we suspected? I would want to give the police the benefit of the doubt that they had good reason and they have acted properly by not naming the individual when the citizens of Jamaica have been shouting 'double standards' and displaying heightened impatience daily.

Maybe the police should use this opportunity to embark on a public education programme to help us better understand why they do what they do.
    It can't be because they are inept. I don't believe it! This would also help us understand what are our rights and what are we to expect as correct procedure and process.

This incident has been all over the social networks from July 1.
    Social Networking — that is Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube et al — has changed the speed of communication and who gets to share information. These networks and platforms are responsible for the levelling of the information dissemination playfield.

No longer must we rely on traditional media to get information to us. Truth be told traditional media — print, radio and television — depend on Social Networks for breaking news and for regular updates. There are now established partnerships between traditional and new media.

The technology is accessible to many. It is relatively inexpensive, quite easy to use and it is not cumbersome. A camera phone is pretty much all that is needed these days. And so what we find is the introduction of 'citizen journalists;' most often than not, these are not trained journalists.
    A 'citizen journalist' is someone with a phone or other technology that is able to capture and share with the world unfolding events.

Think of the birth of the Asian Spring — the events of Tunisia, Egypt, Syria — and a few years ago, Iran.

Had it not been for the 'citizen' with the available technology the wider world would have been kept in the dark for quite some time. And some information might not have been shared at all.

What this means is that EVERYTHING and ANYTHING may be transmitted, and this can be instantaneous.

Information not always fact
    So, we have our rights to share information but we also need to understand the responsibility that comes with that sharing. Let me use the unfortunate incident in which the 17-year-old Kingston College student, Khajeel Mais was shot and killed on Friday, July 1. The news spread like wildfire that this incident had occurred. I was happy to have been in the loop. But after the early information, which was good to have, what followed were several pieces of misinformation.

Misinformation can lead to annoyance, inconvenience, unnecessary trauma and loss of life.

The Social Network platforms had former Miss Jamaica Universe, Kimberly Mais and her family, as the family that was affected. It was flashed across the globe that the vehicle was a 'black' BMW 'X5'. A licence number was circulated a few days later. A name was published/broadcast. I agree that these networks are excellent at helping to corner criminals or wrongdoers but if we use them irresponsibly we are possibly setting up innocent people. So it looks like the X5/X6 driver may not be the only wrongdoer in this episode.

Those of us who use social media need to be aware of what harm we may cause by naming people or giving 'specifics' that have not been verified, or even if they have been. I beg you, be careful when naming people on these networks. (1) An innocent person could be set up for vigilante justice to be meted out to them. (2) Posting someone's name who is not the culprit could open the individual who posted the information to violent and criminal reprisals.

You could become the next victim of someone who was wrongly exposed. Not everyone takes these things sitting down. Reflect on the behaviour of 'Mr. X6' (3) — we need to be responsible and understand that there are always consequences for ourselves and others and this includes when using social media.

Not everting gud fi eat gud fi broadcast
    Being too eager to share information may hamper investigation.
    Example, if there is a kidnapping and the police are closing in on the perpetrators and messages are flying left, right and centre on social media networks that this is so, it shouldn't be difficult to see what options the criminals might choose.

Criminals are outfitted with the latest technologies too. They often are experts at using them.

As with face-to-face conversation we need to know when to talk, and when not to. As we say in Jamaica, 'Is not everyting gud fi eat, gud fi talk'. A sign of maturity is to know when to 'kibber yuh mout' (shut your mouth).

Should some information in a message that you either initiated or 'rebroadcast' turns out to be wrong, erroneous and as a result an innocent person is maimed or killed, what would your responsibility be? Would you consider your actions criminal? What this is pointing to is the need to regulate social networks. It will get to the point where the originator of said message is found and brought to book.

Many people have been vilified, scandalised and embarrassed by irresponsible actions by people using social networks and mobile phones. Relationships, families and friendships have been destroyed because of evil, irresponsible, unthinking, malicious and 'sick' people. Children in America have committed suicide.

I hope we will try to be more thoughtful the next time we decide to generate or pass on information.

Here is another problem, the people we have as 'friends', having linked up with them, for the first time, on these networks are not friends, not even acquaintances.

Talking with someone on line, sharing pictures and videos does not make that person a friend.

These are total strangers; it doesn't matter how many hours, days, weeks, months and years you have been communicating, you really don't know this stranger.

Be warned; be careful. Do not expose yourself.

Another frightening thing is this, why do people need to post their whereabouts and give regular updates. It is stupid! Not only can you be tracked but people will know when you're not home and burglarise your premises. Or waylay you. Phew! Common sense isn't really common.
    Seems there might be several wrongdoers here. Ensure you have not been one.

My column is published every other week, so back with you on July 31, DV. Walk good! Fae Ellington is a broadcast journalist, lecturer in radio and a communication consultant.

Your views and comments are welcome. Send them to fae@mail.infochan.com

http://www.sunheraldja.com/index.php...als&Itemid=684