JLP/G2K goes after the media

If the media falsely portrays people as independent analyst when dem is clearly NOT.. what should be the response ?

In American dem ID yuh.. "Conservative Analyst".. "GOP Adviser".. what is wrong with doing dat here ?

Yuh tink everybady can si dem and know dem ?

Light di fields.. smoke em out !

How is it wi cyaan si di resume of people who a write dem article... deh breddah Karl love paste up pon di site.. Johnston... who him be ? who does he work/consult for ?

Is wha.. juss a concerned Jamaican Citizen ?

spoken like a party member as opposed to a citizen, is that what yuh call critical(selective) thinking
      as per yes and no, you don't dictate that

seem as yuh brain gone so critical yuh can't diferentiate right from wrong

price of freedom, with your train of thought, might as well sell it before yuh come tek it

az a mata a fak; yuh need fi try out fi di Ja relay team as yuh always a reach
      yuh leff from media gaan a civil servant; yuh seem to a have a fetish fi civil servant

you are insane!!!

"And the POINT is...???"

because....?

try and formulate an argument..

come on oneie.. you can do it !

and this only happens on one side.

right!

anybody stopping the PNPYO from doing the same ?

Well.. besides the dearth of targets..

Vigilance wi deh pon comrade.. game on !

a true; dat dun establish already.

long time comrade...

yuh a look company, gweh wid yuh babylon persona!!

oh.. another 'independent' voice...

lol ! woiee !

come wid suppen different dat played out now, come wid some other party rhetoric; better yet apply some of that that critical thinking that you claim to champion

I have already applied critical thinking at a critical time.. 2007.. I am going to apply that same critical thinking in 2012...

What is your story ?

Publisher has advice for youth arm of ruling JLP

2011-07-19 10:39:46

KINGSTON, Jamaica, CMC – Newspaper publisher Lloyd B Smith has warned the President of the youth arm of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Delano Seiveright, to be careful about plans to launch an all out attack against sections of the media he belives does not support the Bruce Golding administration.

Smith, who is also a columnist, said Seiveright is treading on dangerous ground and should remember that freedom of expression is enshrined in the Jamaican Constitution.

“If we were to look just north to the United States of America, there are television stations, columnists and even newspaper that take strictly partisan positions. I have never heard of them being so subject to this kind of attack

“So I think Mr. Seivwright and his G2K members need to revisit this particular situation because it could backfire on them in the sense that we would not want to think that Jamaica is moving in the direction of censorship,” Smith said.

On Monday, Seivwright, who heads Generation 2000 (G2K), the JLP youth arm, said the group plans to launch an all-out attack against sections of the media it deems to be bias against the ruling party.

Seiveright told a news conference that some stakeholders in the local media were hostile to the governing administration and that they were politically biased against the Bruce Golding led administration.

“Several radio talk shows, political analysts, news commentators are hostile to the JLP. Additionally discussion panels are too frequently biased and include persons deceptively positioned as being neutral but are usually political activists themselves,” he noted.

Seivwright also complained that the recent political polls conducted by three of the island's main media houses were loaded with discrepancies and there is a need for an independent analysis of party standings.

He said the polls were carried out around the same time in May 2011 yet there were significant gaps between the JLP and the main opposition People’s National Party (PNP).

The JLP’s youth arm pointed to the Bill Johnson poll carried out on behalf of the Gleaner newspaper which it said showed a narrowing 10-point gap between the PNP and JLP while the CVM – TV Don Anderson poll showed a near 23-point gap between the two parties.

“As such we eagerly seek further discussions with the Gleaner, CVM Group and the RJR/TVJ Group to shed more light on the methodologies utilized and the actual execution of the polls conducted, before we make a final determination.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=30236

2011-07-19 10:39:Jamaica, CMC – Newspaper publisher Lloyd B Smith has warned the President of the youth arm of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Delano Seiveright, to be careful about plans to launch an all out attack against sections of the media he belives does not support the Bruce Golding administration.

Smith, who is also a columnist, said Seiveright is treading on dangerous ground and should remember that freedom of expression is enshrined in the Jamaican Constitution.

“If we were to look just north to the United States of America, there are television stations, columnists and even newspaper that take strictly partisan positions. I have never heard of them being so subject to this kind of attack

“So I think Mr. Seivwright and his G2K members need to revisit this particular situation because it could backfire on them in the sense that we would not want to think that Jamaica is moving in the direction of censorship,” Smith said.

On Monday, Seivwright, who heads Generation 2000 (G2K), the JLP youth arm, said the group plans to launch an all-out attack against sections of the media it deems to be bias against the ruling party.

Seiveright told a news conference that some stakeholders in the local media were hostile to the governing administration and that they were politically biased against the Bruce Golding led administration.

“Several radio shows, political analysts, news commentators are hostile to the JLP. Additionally discussion panels are too frequently biased and include persons deceptively positioned as being neutral but are usually political activists themselves,” he noted.

Seivwright also complained that the recent political polls conducted by three of the island's main media houses were loaded with discrepancies and then is a need for an independent analysis of party standings.

He said the polls were carried out around the same time in May 2011 yet there were significant gaps between the JLP and the main opposition People’s National Party (PNP).

The JLP’s youth arm pointed to the Bill Johnson poll carried out on behalf of the Gleaner newspaper which it said showed a narrowing 10-point gap between the PNP and JLP while the CVM – TV Don Anderson poll showed a near 23-point gap between the two parties.

“As such we eagerly seek further discussions with the Gleaner, CVM Group and the RJR/TVJ Group to shed more light on the methodologies utilized and the actual execution of the polls conducted, before we make a final determination.

“We have sought to engage an American or United Kingdom based pollster and have engaged members of G2K’s polling unit to review the methodologies utilized once we receive them and form a conclusion thereafter,” Seivwright added.

With an election year looming, the G2K says it's moving swiftly to change the negative perception of the party resulting from the recent polls.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=30236