• Karl, everything about FINSAC

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business2.html

All my greatest fear about FINSAC and JRF.

sounds like a irresponsible business man... him is a comrade after all..

Well at least we avoided mayhem and murder in the streets...

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business2.html

All my greatest fear about FINSAC and JRF.
      What about that has "fear" in it?

Ask Gamma what are the alternatives of Blythe and then think on what possible reasons Blythe had not to settle the matter by any of those alternate means.

Note: If Blythe speaks truth in that at times he wanted to settle the debt from the sale proceeds he could have realised from sale of the land

Notwithstanding, at all material times, the value of the security exceeded the loan balance.
      ...and that he had a buyer

On January 28, 2008, still eager to rid himself of the loan, the Blythe family found a purchaser for the land. As a result, the witness said, he wrote to the JRF advising that F.C. Hamaty of the law firm M.N. Hamaty and Company would be handling the sale. He also gave the assurance that Hamaty would give an irrevocable undertaking to have the sale proceeds of the land placed in an-interest-bearing account under the joint control of the JRF, or its attorney, and Hamaty.
      ...why did he not use alternate means to pay off the loan?

What you have here does not make sense. Even a dummy could take care of this.

what other means? What incentive they have to settle when them the interest is accumalated daily and JRF can't lose? Even if they sell the land it value more than what they would have gotten 5 years ago, even on the cheap.

As usual you can see the Samfie and fleecing by these institution. Where else they could have added that interest amount on a daily basis?

What I find troubling is we continue to praise the transformation of public sector to private sector while being angry with the microcosmical Finsac/JRF.
          Drastic wage cuts for AJ worker,some 5000 civil servant jobs to be compromised ,JPS arbitrarily implementing unjustifiable rates...
          Who is Govt serving?

what other means? What incentive they have to settle when them the interest is accumalated daily and JRF can't lose? Even if they sell the land it value more than what they would have gotten 5 years ago, even on the cheap.

As usual you can see the Samfie and fleecing by these institution. Where else they could have added that interest amount on a daily basis?
            Sass, you know if you have a debt and draw the cheque (or cash) the creditor cannot refuse same?

Blythe just said he had the buyer (cash...and even informs that that cash was more than enough to settle - i.e. would leave hi cash in hand) ...but never paid off the loan! My question to you is, "WHY?"

One alternative is double/simultaneous closings. ...and the nonsense about FINSAC not giving a payoff letter ( specific details about retiring your loan ) is @#$%^&^%$#@. Legally it must be given.

...and seeing Blythe says the sale of the property would more than settle the loan...he is also saying he knows his loan balance and what is needed to close out the loan. How does that reconcile with FINSAC preventing him from settling?

He had to get the APPROVAL of FINSAC and they didn't approve so he COULDN'T SELL IT.

You simply don't understand or wish to understand the POWER of these institutions.

He had to get the APPROVAL of FINSAC and they didn't approve so he COULDN'T SELL IT.

You simply don't understand or wish to understand the POWER of these institutions.
                You do not know what is possble under the conditions as reported Blythe laid out.

If the report is ture - He is either lying or stupid - (whether or not it is his attorneys or him personally it matters not) - or both.

So then he had about 3-5 different attorney and I am sure his PHD is worth something. These attorneys are top attorneys in Jamaica and all stupid.

Got you!!!!

you won't get it, not only when it hit you in the face. Blythe is not the only one there are many more stupid business men and attorneys out there in Jamaica.

Microcosmical ?

lol ! woiiee !

I submit this as early contender for post of the year.

Now I did describe the fiasco as Govt throwing its people to the sharks,and ignoring their cries. In the grand sheme of things the Finsac/JRF is microcosmical...

Which Govt dat ?

90% of the Post-recession economies ?

Unnuh lucky...

When recession lick yuh and all dat in di cupboard is 'credit card bills' at 20+ percent..suicide not far off...

All now mi nuh know how wi escape dat...

I don't know if selling JPS was wise either. However those are totally different thing. I am not about selling the debt or FINSAC. What I am against is the fact that there is no guideline for them to make a reasonable return. We gave it away for cents on the dollar and they turn around and can charge the debtors any interest rate they want. It has been more than 10 years and people interest rate continue to raise. There is absolutely no control. At leas there is a utility control board. Who control JRF?

Having no control is bought too,to date nothing can be done.Your only control is not selling to begin with.It is a given with every privatization.
                            Sure on paper,the Govt to sell off non profitable entities sounds like a brilliant idea,akin to it flirting with impratical notion of freezing its workers wages.You lose protectionism,and obsolve the Govt of its responsibilities when you agree to privatisaztion.
                            Whey Govt fah,and what of the lessons learnt from Finsac?

Rockman, the government couldn't manage the portfolio of FINSAC. Some basic legislation saying the company couldn't charge more than a rate of return of say 12% over a period of time was enough to cap it. The company even went as far as to say that they had to use their compassion on some of the debtor and reduce some of the rate. What rate are they charging? and who can stop them from charging 100% interest rate?

Again basic policies could have help. The same basic policy which result in JPS monoply and now they can't do anything about it except to beg JPS to give up monopoly.