• Wallace eyes seat - Former PNP member to run for JLP

Wallace eyes seat - Former PNP member to run for JLP

JLP alot more organised says Wallace
    BY MARK CUMMINGS Editor-at-Large, Western Bureau cummingsm@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, July 14, 2011

NEGRIL, Westmoreland — Prominent Negril businessman Carey Wallace who was one of the aspirants vying to represent the People's National Party (PNP) in Central Westmoreland in the 2007 general elections, is to be confirmed as the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) representative for Western Westmoreland.

"Wallace is certain to represent the JLP in Western Westmoreland in the next general elections and the party will make an announcement to that effect soon," a high ranking JLP official told the Observer West yesterday.
    WALLACE... when I joined the PNP in 2006, the JLP was going through a lot infighting and so, I was turned off from them, but now they are a united bunch

WALLACE... the JLP are a lot more organised, more progressive and more dynamic than the PNP

WALLACE... when I joined the PNP in 2006, the JLP was going through a lot infighting and so, I was turned off from them, but now they are a united bunch

The vacancy was created following the resignation of the JLP's Earl Melhado who unsuccessfully contested the seat in the 2007 general elections against the PNP's Wykeham McNeil -- the elected constituency representative since 1997.

When contacted yesterday, Wallace, whose elder brother Brian Wallace is a former JLP senator, confirmed that he has applied to the party to represent the constituency and is expecting a favourable response.
    He told the Observer West that he decided to sever ties with the opposition PNP because the governing party now appears to be best suited to run the affairs of the country.

"They (JLP) are a lot more organised, more progressive and more dynamic than the PNP," he said, adding that the governing party has been renewing itself.

"When I joined the PNP in 2006, the JLP was going through a lot of infighting and so, I was turned off from them, but now they are a united bunch," he added.

Expressing confidence that he will be given the nod by the party to represent Western Westmoreland, the former president of the Negril Chamber of Commerce has already started to work in the area, in a bid to wrest the seat from McNeil.

But McNeil yesterday appeared to be unfazed by the imminent challenge from Wallace, arguing that the constituency is "a safe PNP seat".

"Carey (Wallace) is somebody I have known well and worked with, and if he is really serious about being an elected political representative, I will tell him that Western Westmoreland is not the best place for him to run. It will be very, very difficult for him to win," said McNeil.

In the last parliamentary elections held in 2007, McNeil beat Melhado by more than 2,300 votes.

And in the general elections prior to that, he trounced the JLP's Patrick Atkinson by just over 3,350 votes.

Atkinson has since left the JLP and is expected to replace Member of Parliament for North Trelawny Dr Patrick Harris, as the PNP's candidate in the next general elections.

The constituency of Western Westmoreland include sections of the tourist resort town of Negril, Grange Hill, Little London, Friendship and Sheffield.
    A number of the communities in the constituency are said to be lacking in basic amenities, such as piped water and electricity.

Additionally, several roads in the constituency -- where unemployment is rampant -- has been in a state of disrepair for quite sometime.

The 43-year-old Wallace believes however, that the constituency needs a member of parliament who will be able to drive the development process.
    He argued that the constituency has for far too long been left behind because of poor representation.

"I believe that a strong MP who is committed to the process can encourage investors to come down to areas such as Negril to assist in the development so that the people will be able to move forward," he asserted.

Dr Christopher Tufton, the JLP deputy leader in charge of Area Council Four believes that Wallace will be a good political representative.

"He will make a good representative because he understands the issues; he is an established businessman so I am sure that he will provide the leadership that the constituency so badly needs," he argued.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...#ixzz1SAz22xJm
    Last edited by Karl; July 16, 2011, 11:17 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

TheLess ideology more about the prospects of being elected,there was no unearthing McNeil as the PNP candidate.
    Atkinson made the switch too.
    Bold moves are being made for self interest,it is all a gamble.
    Obtw,any relation to you?

He looks like my uncle ..lol ..ask pops (Karl) ..he knows them betther than me.The men are known to be galiss...he is from hanover, so i suspect a link.

If he is, dem naah tek it lightly, dem a some die hard PNP man..well the older generation.
      Last edited by Sir X; July 15, 2011, 10:11 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Karl gwaan disown hym,watch and see!

He wont be the only one, Grandpa too im worse...hehe.. at his old age , its best he not know... man might get a heart attack or stroke.

Hes going to get his shirt beaten off him, not only because he is going up against McNeil but because him nuh ready.

I am guessing he is banking on the fact that the people he went to school with at Mannings are voters and he feels his face recognition will help.

More likely because he flipped.

or because him name wallace?

There goes the houshold.

I doubt that his Mannings links are what he is counting on. He and his family are well known in the community for decades.

McNeil will be very difficult to beat , but I can just imagine what the victory party at the Jungle would be like if he did manage to win.

True. Flip and then flip back, because the family is JLP and he went PNP for a while.

Roof probably gwine pop dung... again....

Wah went wrang?

Manley (His Dad) neva teach im rite?
                          ...ooooh? Mus be im madda side?

a joke mi a mek!

His roots is Little London - ...and PNP!

Aside: We are not related - Many at school thought we were because we have an uncanny resemblance and we were both from Little London - (He was from Bay Road and I was from Top Road) -...and often rode (bicycled) to school in the same group.
                            Last edited by Karl; July 16, 2011, 11:48 AM.

Well Manley must have switched at some point in the 70s because when I knew Carey and his brother at UWI in the 80s they were hard-core JLP!