17,000 take the train

• 17,000 take the train

An estimated 17,000 persons have so far utilised the passenger rail service since its phased resumption just under two weeks ago.
    According to Mike Henry, the minister of Transport and Works, for the first eight days the average daily passenger load was about two thousand.
    Mr. Henry told RJR News Wednesday night, July 13, that adjustments have been made to accommodate passengers.
    "We've had to increase the capacity of coaches running (as) we’ve now carried I think some 17,000 persons since we restarted up the interim (rail) service to assist the (Bog Walk) Gorge and therefore, it shows a great potential for moving on, especially now that school (is out)," he said.
    Since the closure of the Bog Walk Gorge on July 4, the Jamaica Railway Corporation has been transporting persons between Linstead and Spanish Town.
    The trains have been traversing both ways along the corridor, in the mornings and afternoons, Mondays to Fridays.

Jamaicans really know how to exaggerate stuff or his jus fool dem fool..Keep it to 2000 a day..why multiply it by the 8 days like its a new set of people using the train everyday.
    Anyway, I applaud this effort. This is a very good thing they have going

Very good thing?!? This is the biggest scheme, racket, gimmick ever under taken by a govt. in years!!!

Who is paying for this?!?!

Very good thing?!? This is the biggest scheme, racket, gimmick ever under taken by a govt. in years!!!

Who is paying for this?!?!
        Whats the problem you have with this now?

how did they arrive at the 17,000 figure ?

Your calculation seems dodgy..

who pay fah di Told Rd ?

Leave Mosiah alone Lazie......

What should happen now--is adding freight services to the railway system.

Apart from the massive cut in cost to transport goods... shipping by rail would reduce those big 18 wheel trucks from the Jamaican highway. Safer roadways would also result; plus the wear and tear on the roads from these big trucks would make them last longer.

Originally posted by Plush View Post
                Jamaicans really know how to exaggerate stuff or his jus fool dem fool..Keep it to 2000 a day..why multiply it by the 8 days like its a new set of people using the train everyday.

Plush - you gonna make me fall out of my chair - you have me laffing

how did they arrive at the 17,000 figure ?

Your calculation seems dodgy..

The same calculation they used for the 16 million who watched the Jamaica National Champs. Go figure

Originally posted by Plush View Post
                    In NY the MTA reported a total usage of 1,604,198,017 for 2010. Is it a new set of ppl on a daily basis or if you take the train to work, 5 days per week aren't you counted more than once?

It should really be 17,000 trips taken on the train, and that is the standard method of accounting for rides on rail/bus transit.

That figure is likely trips taken, and yes you are counted based on the person/trips/daily.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          That figure is likely trips taken, and yes you are counted based on the person/trips/daily.
                          Thanks .... boy Plush ... stop follow the crowd bredren. There is more than enough stuff to knock the gov't for but damn .....

Mosiah was once a roving photographer. Mo, please go and take photos of people/animals boarding and getting off the train. Thank you.

Interview them, as part of your presentation to the forum

My brother (Victor) was a part of the team to get this railroad thing started. I cut and pasted these pictures (from his FB site) that looks much better enlarged.

But yes, Mosiah could do us a good service by providing us with more vivid pictures.

From the album: Mobile Uploads
                              By Victor A Lowe
                              Enthusiastic citizens
                              From the album: Mobile Uploads
                              By Victor A Lowe
                              Train travel renewal in jamaica
                              Last edited by HL; July 14, 2011, 01:06 PM.