• PNP power vacuum looms as Portia's leadership MIA

...is KD the new PNP leader?

PNP plans islandwide protest
    Tuesday, July 12, 2011

KINGSTON, Jamaica (CMC) – The opposition People’s National Party (PNP) will stage a series of demonstrations in protest against Prime Minister Bruce Golding’s handling of the extradition matter involving the reputed drug lord, Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke to the United States last year.

Former justice minister KD Knight, who was also the PNP lead attorney for the party during the Commission of Enquiry that looked into the extradition matter, outlined details of the planned protests while addressing party officials at a divisional conference in Manchester on Sunday.
    Knight said that the activities will begin tomorrow.

"The re-education of Bruce Golding … the protest will start in Portmore, it will go through Kingston and St Andrew, all through Constant Spring.
    “We’re going over the hills and we’re going to Annotto Bay, now we’re covering ground and we’re going to Port Maria, Oracabessa; we’re (going to) Ocho Rios, Runaway Bay, we’re going to Falmouth, where we’ll have a meeting,” he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...#ixzz1Rtwep4XB

I remember in obe of the sessions George was having a conversation with Hugh Small about the behaviour of KD.Mr Knight asked that he repeat the comments and George responded by lying.
    I said it before,the COE should have included in its recommendations that the PM should not have anything to do with picking the members of the COE,so as to remove even the notion of impropriety.
    The findings of the COE are suspect because the COE itself is suspect.
    KD needs to make a case why it is so.

The timing is poor for this action... if they wanted to do this it should have been done immediately after the whitewa...sarry...brownwash was announced. There's a sense most have that we must move on from that issue.

The PNP is leaderless..and probably hopeless at this point..no new personnel, no new policy, no atonement for failure....an empty vessel which occasionally makes noise when kicked. Portia doesn't have the tools for effective leadership in this day and age.

The best thing or only thing they have going for them is JLP political ineptitude

Good analysis.

It is even worse in reality. Nuff of them in la-la land and even with the labarite eff ups, I cant see them (JLP) losing the next election. PNP has squandered every chance of true reform and retooling. Peter Phillips should never have gone back in on those terms, as even if they get elected, he can be fired on a whim and we back to square one.

PNP is too far removed from the party that the "MAN with the Plan" led.
        JLP is not great, but they are managing to keep the boat afloat, barely.

Opportunity is right there in out grasp, but we are just to immature and will contine to be played by unseen hands, Farrin, Domestic and Overseas.

Good analysis.

It is even worse in reality. Nuff of them in la-la land and even with the labarite eff ups, I cant see them (JLP) losing the next election. PNP has squandered every chance of true reform and retooling. Peter Phillips should never have gone back in on those terms, as even if they get elected, he can be fired on a whim and we back to square one.

Opportunity is right there in out grasp, but we are just to immature and will contine to be played by unseen hands, Farrin, Domestic and Overseas.
          I agree

but Bruce wanted to get to the bottom of the illegal MOUs.. was there some other real issue worth an enquiry ?

The only unprecedented act committed was by Peter Phillips.. that needed full ventilation..

a good start is the replacment of portia. imho it is a serious indictment to return the pnp to power in the absence of a demonstration that they have made any meaningful personnel change from that which had was in for the 18 years. i would in fact say even if we were seeing halcyon days, they should have some clear succession plan as well as continuity and they just seem to be reshuffling the deck.

voted them out and it would be an insult to come with the same group to try to get back in ......

Mark Golding or Bunting for PNP leadah !

Good School wi seh !

Work pon it Julian...

Mi ready!

Mi ready!

the return of dudley thompson!!!! yikes!!!

Good analysis.

Wah yuh seh Willi?

Poised to take off?

Oh really now? I want justice to be served to the taximan for what he did to that kid. Then we can talk about marching and other things.

Just keep that crap out of my parish - Portland

No we have much heavy lifting to before we can even think about lift off. However, there is much opportunity to grasp. We have the materials, but not yet the tools.

Them set of politicians are not up to scratch. Too local, too unexposed, too pampered, too full of themselves, too non-ambition....just too plain dibby-dibby. Not a Lee Kwan Yu among them.

I struggle to find 2 world class ministers among the 60 MPs.