Gleaner/La May under pressure

• Gleaner/La May under pressure

PAJ and some PNP affiliated groups have come out against the cartoon calling it vulgar and out of character....

RE: Gleaner/La May under pressure

Why? Artistic expression ... dem tek demselves too serious. When she baawl out, nuh fi draw har tongue, anybody did see it as vulgar?

Still, do you think the short skirt hiked up, anklet, nose ring and belly skin blouse is an accurate depiction?

Try putting your biases aside first

Since when people care about an accurate depiction in a cartoon? Unuh all getting touchy about nothing.

<DIV>Sickko, the cartoon, more a caricature,is nothing big. We take things too literal in this country. She had no bizniz talking about her personal credit card regarding the travelgura issue. The cartoon deals specifically with that.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>It's no wonder our caricaturists are so boring sometimes.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Let's move on!</DIV>

Mosiah, you are mixing issues here. Your argument is that since she has no right talking about her credit card (which I agree with), it is no big deal if she is depicted as a skets (I disagree there). Is the cartoon a just punishment then?

For further edification, are our CARTOONIST really Caricaturists? See below:<H1 class=firstHeading>Caricature</H1><DIV id=bodyContent><H3 id=siteSub>From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia</H3><DIV id=contentSub></DIV><DIV id=jump-to-nav>Jump to: navigation, search</DIV><DIV class="thumb tleft"><DIV class=thumbinner style="WIDTH: 182px"> <DIV class=thumbcaption><DIV class=magnify style="FLOAT: right"></DIV>A common caricature of Charles Darwin focuses on his beard, eyebrows, and baldness, while often giving him the features of an ape or monkey.</DIV></DIV></DIV><DIV class="thumb tright"><DIV class=thumbinner style="WIDTH: 182px"> <DIV class=thumbcaption><DIV class=magnify style="FLOAT: right"></DIV>A caricature of director Quentin Tarantino, using pieces of overlapped construction paper and color pencil.</DIV></DIV></DIV><DIV class="thumb tright"><DIV class=thumbinner style="WIDTH: 182px"> <DIV class=thumbcaption><DIV class=magnify style="FLOAT: right"></DIV>A caricature of film comedian Charlie Chaplin.</DIV></DIV></DIV>

A caricature is a portrait that exaggerates or distorts the esse

My point exactly...I have no problem with the Cartoonist taking issue with her statements, some time the PM chat too much and goes too far in the things she says as if she has no control..but my problem was how she was drawn....like a sketel, skirt hiked up, the nose ring, the anklet, belly skin blouse and revealing cleavage...that was too much and over the top, that is not freedom of speech, that is abuse of previlige...