Spent 11 days living in the 15th century....

• Spent 11 days living in the 15th century....

Spent my vacation in a Scottish little township called Falkland.

The house that I stayed in-- was built in 1635. The very narrow roads where only one car can transverse is the only giveaway that we are living in modern times. Of course, the interior of the houses all have modern facilities.

The Pubs are where the locals and visitors congregate. It is not unusual for a small group to break out in a folk song...much to the delight of all present. There are no juke-box. The Guinness draft is excellent. I have lost count on the number that i imbibed over the duration.

The castle where the beheaded Mary Queen of scotland lived for a short time is in Falkland. It's just incredible how well preserved the entire town is....
    [IMG]

Last edited by HL; July 8, 2011, 04:33 PM.

HL, do you know a little town, village even, in Jamaica called Port Royal?

Seen an excellent documentary on Port Royal. Have not been there...except for the airport.

Port Royal too could be and excellent tourist attraction given it's real history.

How preserved in Port royal?

homecoming? must have been a spiritual experience.

How was the food, had a few traditional meals I am guessing?

The place needs some TLC, and the fish is best on the island.

yes...how was the "hag"gis?

Too busy downing Guinness, the lush!

Seen an excellent documentary on Port Royal. Have not been there...except for the airport.

Port Royal too could be and excellent tourist attraction given it's real history.

How preserved in Port royal?
                  Very preserved! But yuh haffi can swim. Are you a bus?

or a fisherooman ?

Not fond of Haggis...mainly for it's saturated fats content...

Almost ever dish in a restaurant comes with chips (fries).

Had lots of freshly caught lobsters, crabs and mackerel from two fishing towns called Crail and Pitenweem.

you went that far for crabs?

heheheeeee....yes and lobsters and mackerel...

Darn you are funn-neeee

Wot a wee bayoo loike you wuz doing in Falkland? Ya fancy up there, aye?

Did you drop two Mento, bust a Gerrah,Dinki eh?