• US & China Arms Race to control the Western Pacific

PLA and U.S. Arms Racing in the Western Pacific

by Richard Fisher, Jr.
    Published on June 29th, 2011

Introduction

On 18 May 2011, during his recent visit to Washington, D.C., General Chen Bingde, current Chief of the General Staff Department of the Central Military Commission (CMC) of the People’s Liberation Army (PLA), complained that China’s growing economic and military strength had, "unfortunately aroused unfounded suspicion and exaggeration of China's defense and military development.” General Chen further noted that this, "not only distorts China's strategic intention, and tarnishes our international image, but also pollutes the political environment for Sino-U.S. relations." Chen further stated, “I can tell you that China does not have the capability to challenge the US…To be honest, I feel very sad after visiting (the US), because I think, I feel and I know, how poor our equipment is and how underdeveloped we remain.”[1] Regarding Taiwan he stated, “efforts to enhance our military capabilities is [sic] mainly targeted at separatist forces… We would use peaceful means to resolve the Taiwan question and achieve reunification.”

These are well-worn Chinese deception and disinformation themes. Far more than most, General Chen Bingde would want Americans to be misinformed about PLA capabilities and Chinese intentions, as for over 15 years General Chen has been centrally involved in PLA’s side of what is now an arms race in Asia to determine who controls the future of Taiwan and who will dominate power relations in Asia. In 1995 and 1996 General Chen held top command positions in the Nanjing Military Region opposite Taiwan when the PLA fired missiles to intimidate the island’s democratic voters.[2] Chen likely was personally affronted when President Bill Clinton deployed two aircraft carrier battle groups to counter PLA intimidation.

As Chief of the CMC’s General Armaments Department from 2004-2007[3] he was directly involved in the decisions that led to weapons being revealed now and thru this decade, and in his current position he can be considered the PLA’s chief “war fighter.” Should he rise to CMC Vice Chairman or Defense Minister, then far more than his predecessors, General Chen Bingde would be uniquely prepared to lead the Chinese Communist Party leadership through military operations against Taiwan and the United States.

http://www.strategycenter.net/resear...pub_detail.asp

China building aircraft carriers, I hope it's not nuclear driven.

not yet...but that's inevitable

Boss the first one is been built, with four more to come.

1st is a non-nuclear ex-Russian carrier

Oh another copy again, I thought for a moment they were building it from scratch, oh well the Ruskies might just bug it too.

They're re-building an old Soviet carrier but have their own design in full scale development

So if Jamaica don't allow them to bring in their workers for any project they aid, the will just pull up off the coast and steady shelling Kingston?

how you so bad man

All you have say is you nah support "one China policy" and them close everything.

Nope...they would just not fund the project

Wait, a suh yuh think, big man wid big stick haffi drop licks, otherwise...

Nope the present one isn't nuclear driven, It would be an engineering marvel to see them put steam catapaults on it without sailing around with super oil tankers at its side.

The lesson from this is that Ja is playing a very dangerous game. As you can see all these so called corps in China are fronts for the PLA. Hey a chines corp bought the carrier saying they wanted it as floating Casino. This same "floating casino" is now fitted with real weapons to take american lives. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-13693495

The same way Ja is planning to sell these chinese corp. strategic material which will end up in the PLA to make missiles; which they intend to use to rain down on our mothers, fathers, sisters brothers, uncles, aunts, and cousins who live in the US (and some who serve in the arm forces of the USA). It may be that these politicians are very stupid but I doubt it. They think they are smart in the sense that they can implictly threaten the national security of the US and get away with it. They don't have the will to build a nation, they don't of the ambition of industry all they have is the handout mentality from slavery hence an envy of what the US has achieved. Therefore if they can help destroy the US fine.

Be warned though; that contrary to your warped thinking, the US is no fool and you ar ebeing watched, Don't think the poor and ignorant will suffer for your misdeeds and personal agenda this time around.

See where the great China interest lies:http://behindthewall.msnbc.msn.com/_...inal-al-bashir

With all the advance China as accomplished, the Chinese are still paying big money to get to the USA.

Jawge, when the siten gu dung mi know which side mi deh defend, mi nuh know bout yuh JLP & PNP friend dem, Mo weh yuh deh.

A yah so mi live so mi know who mi a defend if it come to it but like Obama, Bruce, Walmart, Cameron, GE, GM, Greece and the rest of Europe mi will take a little piece of the Chinese pie.

Ain't no mystery, the rest of the world playing the same game, no need to back yourself in a corner. China own most of our bonds and investing heavily into Europe's. Check it out Georgia and other southern states seeking Chinese investment too.

Naive, alarmist view..especially so since....

Jamaica's cooperation with China PALES in comparison with China's US relationship.

The US supplies China with advanced, dual use (read civilian & military) technology in telecommunications, avionics, computing, manufacturing, digital design, material science etc....and also trains Chinese people in advanced technologies...which cutting edge expertise is rapidly being exfiltrated back to China.. legally and illegally

On top of that the US has allowed China to hold $2Trillion or so in treasury obligations and thereby prop up the US economy by mitigating inflation with cheap goods...those two economies are now totally intertwined and interdependent.... Jamaica's relationship with China does not even approach that level of interdependence

In the face of that reality and the reality that the US and the West does not have the excess capital or will to invest in economies like Jamaica's to the point where they can develop sustainably...what is Jamaica to do? Turn its back on Chinese involvement because of those naive reasons you advance? That's laughable.

Jamaica's proper course is to secure investments in critical sectors from available sources on the best terms possible...including China...while maintaining good relations with traditional and regional powers like the US, Canada & the UK.
                              Last edited by Don1; July 4, 2011, 02:32 PM.