Cartoonist Las May to be fired!

RE: Cartoonist Las May to be fired!

No, but it amounts to the same thing. I'm unable to find the cartoon with the Haitians. I have a feeling it has been deleted from the archives, for obvious reasons.

Well, is now unuh going to draw her tongue!! Sorry fi unuh(Tant)

Careful yuh nuh pull something with that stretch..

Actions speak louder than words..

Thanks. At least there is one voice of reason around here. If Jamaicans (especially those at home) could just pull themselves out the political context at times, they would see things a little differently.I know man and manmay get upset about this but it sometimes help to be less mono-chromatic in outlook. Yes, there are other colours than green and orange!

What cartoonists like May, some of 'writers' in the newspapers or even the TV reporters have done is to report the 'news' at it's basest levels. For example, invasion of privacy in times of mourning, filming, photographingthe worse of the worse for shock value or for sales without taking the effort. It's intellectual sloth at best. Look at the sad excuses for plays now? It's all about shouting and screaming and stupid one-liners, no nuance, no subtlety, no double entendre....a sad place we are in now. But as they say art imitates life. Has Jamaica become this harsh cold place? Have we become a soul-less, spiteful hateful society? Can't we see the sky for the trees or is it because we are so tainted by our green and orange tinted glasses?

It's time for all 'uncontaminated' Jamaicans to 'rise up and take a stand'....that is, if you can.

<STRIKE>When Seaga is drawn as a gangster .. unuh complain?</STRIKE> No scratch that, because unuh wouldn't have a problem with that.

When Phillip Paulwell is drawn in diapers .... unuh complain?

When Conlin Campbell was drawn with a long nose unuh did complain?

When Bush is drawn to look like an ass or a dummy, anybody complain?

Unuh a tek unuhselves too serious. Stop look at the cartoon and look at the message being sent.

Then again, Jamaicans love get upset over the wrong things.

Exile (2/1/2007)Really nothing for me to get emotional about...it is a lowering of our standards and lack of respect for public figues. They may have been the ones to contribute to it...but the continued reinforcement by the fly-by-night journalists and media doesn't help. Call me naive, call me old-fashioned, but I still think we have to respect our women - regardless of party affilliation etc.
              Agree with you 100%...and, if that picture Mosiah showed was his...fire him, again!

The Editor should also come under fire! Perhaps, he should also be fired! The circumstances of how thoseslipped through on his watch may save his job...or, it may not!

As I am in the mood the damn reinforcement of 'the culture of the gun' ...and, the 'tearing down of women' by the dancehall artist - MUST STOP! Those types of songs must not be allowed airplay.

...but, then I reside in Shady Pines ...&amp; in my days dem dere tings not just did not happen...it would not have happened!

Thats it ... its because she is a woman! Aren't we all suppose to be equals here? Suh why its okay fi draw PJ, Seaga or any other male leader any way, but unuh all start bitchin when it happens to Portia?

Time unuh cut the bull. All now none a unuh nuh see the message in the cartoon. Unuh cyaan read between the lines?

Fire dem fi wha? Unless Ennis was right.

Lazie (2/2/2007)Thats it ... its because she is a woman! Aren't we all suppose to be equals here? Suh why its okay fi draw PJ, Seaga or any other male leader any way, but unuh all start bitchin when it happens to Portia?

Time unuh cut the bull. All now none a unuh nuh see the message in the cartoon. Unuh cyaan read between the lines?

It has never been OK to treat my Mother, wife,sister or any woman the exact same way men are treated. In my book, equality only goes so far.

There must be some extra respect shown to those who nuture us for 9 months and brought us into the world. Yup! ...our ladies must be treated as the gentler and as themost reveredgender. If it were not so, what would be the point of treating them with that special dose of tenderness and with reverence. Yup! ...treating our ladies with respect defines us...in many, many ways.

Karl (2/2/2007)
                    Lazie (2/2/2007)Thats it ... its because she is a woman! Aren't we all suppose to be equals here? Suh why its okay fi draw PJ, Seaga or any other male leader any way, but unuh all start bitchin when it happens to Portia?

It has never been OK to treat my Mother, wife,sister or any woman the exact same way men are treated. In my book, equality only goes so far.

There must be some extra respect shown to those who nuture us for 9 months and brought us into the world. Yup! ...our ladies must be treated as the gentler and as themost reveredgender. If it were not so, what would be the point of treating them with that special dose of tenderness and with reverence. Yup! ...treating our ladies with respect defines us...in many, many ways.
                    <DIV></DIV><DIV>Please, Karl, wi not talking simple social interactions here. Have you ever played mixed doubles in tennis or badminton? Yuh tink anybody treat the women any differently? Or what about mixed football, do you think coaches tell the boys to ease up when a girl has the ball?</DIV>

Trying to gain points? Is Portia yuh Mother, wife or sister? She is the Prime Minister (Why?I regret supporting her!) and she needs to act like a PM. The cartoonist did not portray Portia in a manner that Portia didn't portray herself.

If you notice, the quotes are quotes from Portia herself? Stop focusing on the character's attire. No wonder mi and most a unuh cannot see eye to eye on most issues. Guh tek an Art Appreciation class.

<DIV>Fun and joke aside, unnu tek anedda look pon di cartoon. Nuh HOT WUK Portia a puddung?! Mi nah joke, it look just like hot wuk to me.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>"Wine, Portia, wine, Portia, </DIV><DIV>Hot wuk, baby"</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Prime Minister work (wuk) hot fi true!</DIV>

Didn't you say, "Fun and joke aside?" Mine yuh get the masses more upset.

Yu wouldn't know 'Hot _ _ _ _' all when it inna yu face...maybe you should write the article on exotic dancing. Ah, there's your homework for the weekend...plus hey, you may learn a few dance moves.

I'll start my homework tonight, like about 12:30 am!

Pilgrims among us
                                published: Tuesday | February 6, 2007
                                <DIV class=KonaBody PgAjQ="true">

Colin Steer, Associate Editor - Opinion

Shortly after Carl Wint was assigned news desk responsibilities at The Gleaner some years ago, he sat down with reporters individually asking them what their particular interests were and the beats they might want to cover. I indicated, among other things, religion. He looked at me over his glasses and said nothing. In a subsequent meeting with all reporters he commented rather dryly: "I do not want any pilgrims in the newsroom." I understood him to mean that we should not be naïve and gullible.

After assigning specific beats and reshuffling responsibilities he then told us, that we should so cultivate our sources that we should be able to find people not only at their matrimonial homes, but where they drank and where they fornicated. It was Wint at his cynical best. The passage of time allowed me to see the practicality of his statements.

Journalists tend to be among the most cynical of people. For good reason. Medical doctors who treat the battered wives of the respectable businessman or university lecturer, or who terminate the pregnancies of the daughters of upstanding middle-class parents; psychiatrists who treat junkies and the schizophrenic, lawyers who become affluent defending criminals; and pastors who counsel the emotionally, mentally and spiritually dysfunctional tend to govern their activities by a code that protects the privacy of their clients and the counselled.

Journalist, on the other hand, more often than not, tend to sanitise the public personae of private scoundrels.

Some of the 'nice' personalities are hardly ever shown in their true colours; and politicians who scandalise their colleagues are protected by a code that shields the sources of information etc. So some of the smiling people who sat at the table and ate with P.J. Patterson and Edward Seaga and then say the 'nastiest' of things about them privately are not exposed.

Criminal courts

Veteran journalist Billy Hall once suggested that as part of his/her early training every reporter should be sent to cover the criminal courts, where he/she could observe people with the faces of angels lying like devils, who are exposed under cross-examination.

People, including journalists, may well strive for ideals of personal behaviour but fall short in their humanity, or they may wear masks deliberately to conceal their true selves. But a mirror can also deliver the most unflattering images to those who care to look.

For all the frequent charges of sensationalism, journalists do not, as a general rule, publish everything about anybody. In part we are constrained by the laws of libel and slander and also questions of whether some things are really in the public interest.

All these thoughts come against the background of the furore surrounding the publication last week of a Las May cartoon 'skettelising' the Prime Minister. Quite apart from any concerns about the fairness or accuracy of the cartoon, or matters to do with the respect for the office of the Prime Minister, there were some rather curious reactions from persons who were offended. "It would not have been so bad," they said, "if the Prime Minister was portrayed with the same words - even behaving the same way - just as long as she was better-dressed." Ugh?!!! In other words, the clothes maketh the person.

I wonder how many of last week's offended people rushed to condemn the People's National Party supporters who paraded through Kingston with placards a few years ago, with the depiction of a coffin with the words inscribed 'Seaga pamper baby dead'? When Carla Seaga, who was in an advanced stage of pregnancy, protested, there was some criticism of the demonstrato