Cartoonist Las May to be fired!

• Cartoonist Las May to be fired!

RE: Cartoonist Las May to be fired!

Don't fire May, fire the Editor!!! The lyrics in the cartoonare fine but I must say the PM is depicted in a very disparaging way and shows no respect for the Office of the PM - more so to the woman. Why is she depicted with 'bore-nose', what looks like underwear and barefooted? Some decency is needed here. I guess it reflects where our society has reached - base level.

You should see what they do to George Bush in the States.

Look like someone mash yuh corn when it come to Portia..

hmmmm...

Exile, yuh alright? I heard her response to the travel issue and the cartoon is a true reflection of how she came across. Respect fi the OPM? Yuh joking right?

Exile (2/1/2007)Don't fire May, fire the Editor!!! The lyrics in the cartoonare fine but I must say the PM is depicted in a very disparaging way and shows no respect for the Office of the PM - more so to the woman. Why is she depicted with 'bore-nose', what looks like underwear and barefooted? Some decency is needed here. I guess it reflects where our society has reached - base level.
          Did you have a problem when EDDIE was potrayed in GANGSTER ATTIREand a BIG GOLD CHAIN BELL around his neck?

Exile just getting emotional. Him need to look at the picture again.

He should have been fired a long time ago when he depicted the Haitian boat people on our shores in "black face", big lips, and bright eyes. He is an idiot!

Huh? Suh how him should draw dem? As being white? Now unuh overreacting.

<DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>If that's okay for you, Lazie, run wid it!</DIV>

Really nothing for me to get emotional about...it is a lowering of our standards and lack of respect for public figues. They may have been the ones to contribute to it...but the continued reinforcement by the fly-by-night journalists and media doesn't help. Call me naive, call me old-fashioned, but I still think we have to respect our women - regardless of party affilliation etc.

Based on the justification she put forward, did you ask for her to show more respect to the Jamaican people? I get tired of hearing about respecting women. Where was this cry before Portia became PM?

Did Las May draw that?

I see nothing wrong with the depiction of Portia in the cartoon.

Some of us should be more upset when politicians attend memorial services for gunmen &amp; gangsters, and when KD Knight once proclaimed that "Zeeks votes for the PNP".

Mi no care what some of you all want to say, ah idiot thing dat fi draw Portia like dat. No matter if you dont like how her Government is being runned or if dem draw Haitians looking like some big lip ape or even George Bush like a big clown, the man dem disrispect the lady like dat. As to how they drew Eddy looking like a gansta with a big bell round his neck, those drawings were suttle in comparison to the skettel looking drawing of Portia. Ah big disrispect that to the woman who neva did anything/or lookto be dipicted as such.

Didn't Eddie describe himself as the One Don? Has Portia described herself as Mumma Lashy?