Jamaica - 2nd worst country - least likely to pay back debt

• Jamaica - 2nd worst country - least likely to pay back debt

In case we are fooling ourselves about the Jamaican reality, and the post-JDX euphoria (not withstanding involuntary default), and the effect of the borrowing addiction and acceleration in the past few years, here is a wake up call; showing how we are perceived in the world.

http://business.blogs.cnn.com/2011/0...lds-debt-list/
    Greek tragedy tops world's debt list

Posted by:
    CNN.com business producer, Kevin Voigt
    (CNN) – Greece has hit another low point in the 18 months since its debt problems worried global markets and even threatened the existence of the European Monetary Union.
    On Monday, Standard & Poor’s – one of the ‘big three’ credit ratings agencies – cut the ratings of the troubled Mediterranean nation three notches to CCC with a negative outlook. That makes Greece the least credit-worthy country rated by the credit agency and signals the belief that Athens will default on its debt payments.
    So if Greece is the worst, who is the second worst? According to the S&P, these are the top 10 nations least likely to pay back debts :

1. Greece (CCC rating)
    2. Jamaica (B-)
    3. Ecuador (B-)
    4. Pakistan (B-)
    5. Grenada (B-)
    6. Fiji (B-)
    7. Belarus (B)
    8. Argentina (B)
    9. Belize (B)
    10. Ghana (B)
    The good news for Greece: Unlike Ecuador and Argentina, it hasn’t recently defaulted on its debt. Ecuador defaulted in 1999 and in 2008; Argentina defaulted in 2001.
    S&P’s revised rating comes a week after another Big Three ratings agency, Moody’s Investors Services, downgraded its rating on Greece, saying the nation has a 50-50 chance of defaulting on its debt. (However, Moody’s rates Ecuador even lower than Greece.)
    But the risks for the financial world are much larger with the Greek situation, because of the pressure it puts on the 17 nations united under the euro currency. A default from Greece is bound to rekindle fears of possible defaults from other euro nations, like Portugal and Ireland, and reignite the debate on whether the eurozone can survive.
    Last year, Greece got $145 billion in aid from the EU and IMF to make its debt payments. Greek press is reporting the country now will seek an additional $58 billion.
    Why? To borrow cash in the form of bonds, the market is demanding 25% interest payments for a two-year loan.
    On Tuesday European ministers will gather to discuss possible solutions to the ongoing Greek drama. As CNN’s Emily Reuben explains, Germany wants private sector to take a hit with a “soft restructuring,” for example, which will extend Greece’s repayment dates. ECB fears any kind of prescribed restructuring could broaden the crisis.
    “We are advising them to have a voluntary scheme (to reduce debt) and to avoid schemes that would trigger a credit event or selective default or default,” Jean-Claude Trichet, head of the European Central Bank, told CNN’s Richard Quest.
    The Greek Ministry of Finance, meanwhile, says the reduced rating “ignores the intense consultations taking place currently between the (the ECB and European Commission) and the IMF aimed at designing a viable solution that will cover the financing needs of Greece in the coming years.
    “The Government remains determined to implement the difficult policies required for Greece to exit the crisis.”

PNP PROPOGANDA ! OR PNP FAULT......lol.....BEN & Lazie will spin it as both.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Largely the PNP's fault under Patterson

The debt issue gathered steam in the 1980s under the DayWalker, exploded in the mid- late 1990s with the FINSAC debacle and has increased markedly under the current regime... mitigated by the commendable local debt rescheduling

Nuh dem same ratings agency give Fanny Mae high marks and loved ENRON?

People still tek dem serious?

Now Moodys under investigation:
          http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/0..._n_571008.html

Excerpt from Kartel's new book

Vybz Kartel a.k.a Di Teacha.

I start the song, by repeating "hustle the money" "me a hustle the money" almost to make the message subliminal. Careful. Read again. Haters, critics, read again and listen carefully - its hustle the money - not steal the money, not take a gun and rob the money, not start a ponzi and con the money- just hustle the money. I stress the point repeatedly because there is a sector of society that believes when ghetto youths acquire ambition for financial success it means that we are going to begin to embark on some unscrupulous or illegal behaviour to rob people money. I often wonder why the elite of society don't think us ghetto youths don't want the same for our family as they do. NEWSFLASH, we waan go big school, drive nice car too, we would like ac in our house, we want our mother retire young and yes we want to be rich, there, I said it, Vybz Kartel want Ghetto people to be rich. Babylon, deal with it.

Society, likes to blame us poor people for Jamaica's weak economy. Not true, not fair. The only thing I have heard creative where government is concerned is how to increase and make new taxes. That does not make sense, in fact, there is a term for it - we have a regressive tax system where the poor is forced to bear the biggest burden and the rich keep getting away. They recently tried to tax patty and pad hard. Rich man don't eat patty for lunch and rich ladies shop in foreign. Our government so good at taxing, they found a way to tax Jamaicans overseas by putting over a 100% levy on calls coming in on a landline, even the US companies begged for us but our government said no, tax them. The Custom's Department just celebrated 7.7 billion dollars in collections above the 98 billion they projected for 2010. Now, say what they want, we know most of that money come from people who work overseas and struggle to send little things for their families or our Informal Commercial Importers or "higglers' who hustle little buying and selling. The tax man now open an informer line and stop people from travelling over taxes which is confusing because if you want a deejay to pay his tax bill, why prevent him from earning money to pay you Mr. Taxman? How does that make sense? How you punish a man for not paying his bills and then kill his livelihood at the same time? You sure you not trying to kill his livelihood and using the tax issue as a cover? Pon the Gaza, we don't take anything Babylon do simple, them always preeing the Dollar Sign, so we say Ghetto people must pree it to.

I am not naïve, I know a country needs taxes to run but have we not gone too far when we want to tax patty and women "necessaries?" We know that without vision the people perish and trust me, poor people perishing really bad every day. We pree the real numbers pon the Gaza, our debt (poor people never borrow any of it) is over 125% of our GDP, put it another way, we owe at least a 1/4 more than what our economy produces. Congratulations Jamaicans, even though the bank never lend you any money, you owe more than $500,000 per person when you divide the total debt of Jamaica by its population. Hence, every man, woman and child even the baby on his mother's breast, born half of a million dollar in the hole. By the way, in case you never know majority of that debt is what Society used to bail out their rich friends when their businesses failed and could not pay back the bank. When poor people can't pay back the bank, bailiff come to take your things - so the thing set Jamaica.

dem seh a likkle knowledge is a dangerous ting .... seet deh!

"Society, likes to blame [us] poor people for Jamaica's weak economy"

Really? When that happen?

Jamaica has been in the same junk rating (default range) for the past decade. The country has been on the road to bankruptcy and Audley extended the road a little with his debt adjustments. That was a good move, but the most important thing is what is done to create growth in the 5+ years before the bonds mature.