Passpot Issues-Is Jamaica For Real Here?

• Passpot Issues-Is Jamaica For Real Here?

Attorney denied passport renewal

Published: Sunday | June 19, 2011

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    A Jamaican attorney-at-law who has been in practice in Jamaica for more than 53 years, during which time he has held several Jamaican passports, has been refused renewal of his Jamaican passport, which expired in October 2010.

The attorney, who was born in Havana, Cuba, in 1927 of Jamaican parents, who brought him to Jamaica as an infant, where he has lived all his life, married to a Jamaican citizen for more than 52 years, was told that he has to produce his father's birth certificate in order to qualify for renewal of his Jamaican passport.

His father's birth certificate dates back to the 1870s and cannot be located in the archives of the Registrar General's Department. The end effect is that the attorney, who is entitled to Jamaican citizenship, effectively is barred from travelling and cannot visit his family, who are established in the United States of America, or to go to any other country for business or pleasure.

Isn't this reminiscent of the cat chasing its tail!
    CONCERNED CITIZEN
    Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2011, 02:42 PM.

Meanwhile...Chinese, Japanese and everybody else getting Jamaican passports.

LoL

We black people are good to each other, eh?
      Sigh

A bureaucrat who is an ass or the gentleman has fallen foul of a silly politician?

Politician have nothing to do with issuing ppts, or even setting policy on back up docs needed to apply.

If you think they do not put their paws into any and everything whenever they wish...then...????

...anyway have not a clue what is this gentleman's situation.

Well my friend mother lost her ID, and she was told to present her mother's birth certificate or have someone verify when her mother was born, go figure that one...only in Jamaica.

That is it.

We have some very strange bureaucratic policies in place set up by officious functionaires!

Didn't the law change recently,or is he having the same problems getting his mother records?

All bureaucratic bullshit, and waste of someone's time. The man has held numerous Jamaican passports before; what is so hard this time around.

Some people in uniform in high places, have no freaking sense.............

That is it.

We have some very strange bureaucratic policies in place set up by officious functionaires!
                      Jus becausen mi nuh waan why mi a su-mile

I hope there is some twist to this story that is not stated in the letter.

Otherwise it makes absolutely ZERO sense.

karl HOW in the name of all that is holy do you come up with these things? i suspect that you have proof of the silly politician at least?

Gamma you have me dying wid laughter at my desk.

Perhaps, Karl - sitting in the Shades too long

is this the NEW fair and sensible karl?!!