sigh

heh sigh heh!

Actually yuh can now get Latte AND play some roulette casino style right now innah dowtown.. mi hear seh di place ah give acropolis some competition.. and wi nuh even reach ocean front yet !!

Drivah.. don't stap atall !

What massive layoff.

Even the long term proposal is small pruning (10K). If we did the same percapita as in the UK, 25K would be sent packing!

put it in context. 10,000 over 5 years. That includes early retirement also.

Karl basing his argument on propoganda.

vroom vroom!

Baddaz, maybe "driven out" is an exaggeration, but Manley made it clear it would not be business as usual for the capitalist class. If that is your policy then ok, but once you decide to go down that road then you should have a plan to deal with the consequences. Manley seemingly had none, it is as if he did not expect them to react the way he did.

Willi summarized my basic point: yes there were external factors, some out of the control of JA, others as a result of the actions of the JA govt. Separate and apart from all that though, the management of the economy by the govt of the 70s was quite poor to put it mildly.