Very Interesting Music Comments, Gentlemen!

• Very Interesting Music Comments, Gentlemen!

About an hour ago I came online for the first time since yesterday afternoon, so I belatedly saw the really interesting responses to my Great Guitar Solos (in a song) thread for the first time. In order to avoid the confusion of making individual responses in separate posts all over the previous thread, I’m placing my responses in a new thread. Hopefully, this new thread will encourage the continuation of the fruitful discussion promised as a result of yesterday’s several replies.

Originally posted by Gamma
    how about the guitar solo on rastafari is (peter tosh captured live)

This particular solo should have been on my list, Gamma, but I completely forgot about it!! Thanks for mentioning that live Peter Tosh performance!

The guitar solo on the live tour rendition of Tosh’s “Rastafari Is” was played by an American blues guitarist, Donald Kinsey (the guy in the afro on the videos of that tour). In fact, Kinsey was the guitarist who also played that delightful solo on Tosh’s studio recording of “Johnny B Goode.”

That move to include rock-influenced guitar solos on Peter Tosh’s recordings and live performances was an attempt at capturing a wider international market (and, hopefully, rival the success of Bob Marley, I might add).

Chris Blackwell at Island Records had made a similar move in the early to mid-1970s at making reggae more “acceptable” to a wider American and European market, which is why he remixed Bob Marley’s “Catch A Fire” album. Blackwell added two American studio musicians on keyboards and lead guitar. The next time you listen to that screaming, extended rock guitar solo on “Concrete Jungle” (from the remixed “Catch A Fire” album), that is American rock guitarist Wayne Perkins.

I always found it interesting that both Bob Marley and Peter Tosh had American lead guitarists (Al Anderson and Donald Kinsey) who had a decidedly blues-rock feel as a part of their groups. Also, one of the ironies of reggae, in my opinion, is that BOTH Anderson and Kinsey, at different times, were members of Bob Marley and the Wailers AND Peter Tosh’s Word, Sound and Power!!

By the way, Gamma, in my opinion, that particular live concert which included “Rastafari Is” featured one of the greatest aggregation of reggae musicians (band) ever formed!! Included in this stellar version of Word, Sound and Power were Donald Kinsey (lead guitar), George “Fully” Fullwood (bass), Carlton “Santa” Davis (drums), Steve Golding (rhythm guitar), and others. I think Robbie Lyn was a keyboardist in that particular group.

Originally posted by Tilla
    Add to this for me is Neal Schon of Journey.
    He did the solo guitar piece on Who Is Crying Now by Journey.
    Tilla, this is bringing memories, as Neal Schon’s “Who’s Crying Now” was one of the few rock ballads that was given prominence on Jamaican radio. This recording by Journey was played quite often in Jamaica back in the 1980s, to my immense pleasure, I might add.

It is indeed a very tasteful, well-executed solo by this great rock guitarist! Schon’s talent, by the way, was recognized from he was a youth, which led to him becoming a member of the super rock-Latin group Santana while he was still a mere youngster (he was not yet even sixteen)! Can you imagine being asked by Carlos Santana to join his super-group at such a young age?

But back in the 1980s, the guitarists who captured my imagination most included Neal Schon, Steve Lukather (Toto as well as the studios), Al Dimeola (jazz), Dean Parks and Larry Carlton (studios), etc.

Originally posted by X
    Guitar solo on concrete jungle ..BBC studio ?
    X, thanks for asking this question. I made a slight error in my initial post (which started that other thread yesterday). Instead of simply identifying the album “Catch A Fire,” I should have been more specific and stated that Wayne Perkins was the studio guitarist who played the blazing solo on the Island Records remixed version of “Concrete Jungle.” This impressive performance, of course, was part of Marley’s remixed album, “Catch a Fire.”

I’m not sure about your BBC studio reference though. I know that the lead guitarist on Marley’s performance at the Lyceum in London was his regular lead guitarist at the time, Al Anderson. To this day Anderson’s solo on that live version of “No Woman No Cry” remains one of my all-time solos (regardless of instrument) on a Jamaican recording!

Incidentally, I am not a fan of Bob Marley’s other lead guitarist, that charismatic, animated musician Junior Marvin. I have never had reason to regard Marvin’s talents as being anywhere near to those of either Al Anderson or Donald Kinsey. Ironically, when videos of Bob Marley’s “No Woman No Cry” are played today on television, it is always the version featuring Junior Marvin’s decidedly uninspiring playing!

By the way, X, I’m still playing that YouTube video you posted of the New York Ska Jazz Ensemble playing Dave Brubeck’s “Take 5”!!

I was initially amazed that anyone would want to change the beat of that classic recording from 5/4 to a regular 4/4, and I recall thinking to myself the first time I played that YouTube video, “What the hell!!” (lol). However, those guys in the New York Ska Jazz Ensemble can play, and everyone in that group, including the drummer, is clearly an accomplished soloist. Overall, that is a really outstanding group of guys and their reggae interpretation of that jazz classic is just beautiful. I love it!

Interestingly, the only conflict we have in our music discussion is on the issue of the popularity of ska when compared with jazz. There is nothing else that, as far as I’m aware, we disagree on.

Originally posted by Islandman
    Did any of you see a Documentary named "Standing in the Shadows of Motown". ?

It is about the Funk Brothers who were in in-studio band during the classic Motown days. Very talented musicians who never really got much recognition.

Historian will be quick to point out that while Motown paid the bills, most of them were Jazz musicians by night. LOL.
    Islandman, you know me too well (lol). And you are correct in everything you said in your final sentence!

I watched that very good documentary on two occasions. The Funk Brothers was indeed among the cream of the crop of studio musicians back in the 1960s and 1970s, and it’s sad that in those days Motown did not give album credits to the individual musicians. My favorite member of that super studio group, of course, was the late, great James Jamerson, who remains today one of the most influential bass players in history!

I was never particularly impressed with Motown’s guitar solos, however, as that was apparently never a priority with Berry Gordy and his producers. In fact, R&B and soul music during the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s featured very little in the way of guitar solos that were in any way remarkable. A similar trend developed in reggae throughout its history as well.

Originally posted by X
    Lyn Tait kept it simple but complicated.
    X, I honestly cannot recall any outstanding solo by the Trini-turned-Jamaican guitarist Lyn Tait! Maybe he was a good soloist, but this was never apparent in any of his playing that I heard, either in the studio or with his band the Jets. Lyn Tait was certainly no Ernest Ranglin or Eugene Grey or Rupert Bent, that is for sure!

In addition, I think I should point out that the ska era didn’t exactly encourage guitar or keyboard solos. Emphasis back then was almost always on horn players.

Lyn Tait reminds me of another outstanding rock steady and reggae studio guitarist, Hux Brown. Despite his importance in the development of our music, I have never been able to figure out if Brown can take lengthy, interpretive solos.

Rupert Bent, Sr’s really beautiful, uncomplicated guitar solo on Toots and the Maytals’ “Never You Change” is one of very few attention-grabbing guitar solos from the ska era.

Originally posted by TDowl
    I got nothing to say....

James Jamerson
    Jimmy Hendrix
    TDowl, I mentioned James Jamerson among the Top 10 Greatest Bass Players (see other thread). I honestly feel that, aside from Larry Graham, Jamerson has probably influenced more bass players today than any other bass player in history! I did not mention the great man here because I focused on guitar solos in this thread.

I did not include Jimi Hendrix because I was focusing only on solo breaks within a song. Hendrix’s playing is more of a complete guitar performance, almost like an instrumental solo with voice on top (lol) as opposed to short solo breaks in someone’s song (I hope you get my point here).
    Last edited by Historian; June 16, 2011, 09:23 AM.

on the funk brothers, i don't think they were as prolific but the muscle shoals rhythm section was baaaaad ... i like their particular brand of funk ...

You're Certainly Right

on the funk brothers, i don't think they were as prolific but the muscle shoals rhythm section was baaaaad ... i like their particular brand of funk ...
      Yep, the Muscle Shoals rhythm section was indeed awesome, no doubt about that! Those guys from Alabama could really play, and they appeared on dozens of hit records in various genres.

(Quick question: was any member of that studio group black? The thought just occurred to me as I reflected on the fact that they accompanied many R&B singers.)

On another note, it is interesting how several studios in the 1960s developed well-recognized outfits that, in a sense, almost monopolized the American recording industry. Motown had the Funk Brothers, Stax had Booker T & the MG’s, and Muscle Shoals Sound Studio had the Muscle Shoals rhythm section.

Before them, Los Angeles had the Wrecking Crew, a group of studio musicians who played on many of the hits of the 1960s. Based on the members of this studio outfit, the Wrecking Crew is certainly among the most talented group of studio musicians ever assembled anywhere!

Historian, I am surprised you left Ernie Ranglin playing on The Wailers "It Hurts To Be Alone". Sublime. Check it out on You Tube. Mek sure it is the original Wailers version. Don't think it was Bob singing lead. You guys are right the guitar solo on Rastafari Is was always the best to my mind.

remember that at the time most of the early reggae groups were heavily influence by r&b harmony groups like the impressions and curtis mayfield in my mind was a blues guitarist so it is not small wonder to me how the blues guitarists come into this thing!

How you rate the curent Isley Brother on the guitar?

I know Jamerson played Bass Fiddle until he had to play on a Martha Reeves and the Vandellas song, and he seems to employ that technique from the fiddle to the electric Bass.

All those Bassie you have listed, did anyone of the have bass Fiddle background..

Martha is such a Rocker - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzSWE...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XE2fn...feature=fvwrel

that would be Ernie Isley

You mention the guitarist from Dire Straits?

Rudi, I didn't leave Ranglin out

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    Historian, I am surprised you left Ernie Ranglin playing on The Wailers "It Hurts To Be Alone". Sublime. Check it out on You Tube. Mek sure it is the original Wailers version. Don't think it was Bob singing lead. You guys are right the guitar solo on Rastafari Is was always the best to my mind.

Rudi , I did not leave out Ernie Ranglin’s memorable solo on the Wailers’ “It Hurts To Be Alone.” What happened is that this thread to which you are responding was created simply to reply to the several valuable contributions in that other thread by forumites.

In my original thread on outstanding guitar solos, Ranglin’s awesome solo was included among my “Top 5 Greatest Jamaican Guitar Solos” (that thread is now on page 2, but I don’t want to send it to the top as it might cause confusion with this thread).

By the way, the lead singer on “It Hurts To Be Alone” is the late Junior Brathwaite. I feel that of all the members of the original Wailers, Brathwaite had the “sweetest” voice. Unfortunately, he was murdered back in 1999 during a visit to Jamaica (he had lived in the USA since leaving the wailers in the early 1960s).

Here is the original list I posted:

Originally posted by Historian
                    Historian’s Great Jamaican Guitar Solo Breaks
                    (Listed alphabetically here according to the guitarist’s surname. This list, of course, is NOT complete.)

(Please note that not all the soloists below are Jamaican. Blues guitarist Al Anderson and rock guitarist Wayne Perkins are both Americans, but they have been included for obvious reasons.)

Al Anderson: guitar solo on Bob Marley’s “Woman No Cry” (Live at the Lyceum in London).
                    Rupert Bent, Sr.: guitar solo on Toots and the Maytals’ ska classic, “Never You Change.”
                    Wayne Perkins: guitar solo on Bob Marley and the Wailers’ “Catch A Fire” (Island Records).
                    Ernie Ranglin: guitar solo on the Wailers’ “It Hurts To Be Alone.”
                    Unknown guitarist: solo on live performance of “A Jamaican in New York” by Shinehead. This performance was in Kingston back in either the late 1980s or early 1990s.

Yep, many of them did

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                      I know Jamerson played Bass Fiddle until he had to play on a Martha Reeves and the Vandellas song, and he seems to employ that technique from the fiddle to the electric Bass.

All those Bassie you have listed, did anyone of the have bass Fiddle background..
                      TDowl, that’s the thing with jazz that I really like; many of those musicians have a high level of music education indeed. To answer your question, several of the electric bass players I named in my incomplete list started off playing the double bass (that is, bass fiddle). Stanley Clarke and John Patitucci, to name just two from my list, studied the double bass at university level and became influential double bass players as well as bass guitarists.

By the way, you probably noticed that I had also compiled a separate list of double bass specialists (the third list in that thread starter) .

"Very Good," But Not "Great"

How you rate the curent Isley Brother on the guitar?
                        Ernie Isley is actually a very good guitarist. However, the problem with living in a culture-rich country like the USA is that there are so many excellent musicians “out there” at every level. In Ernie’s case, I would have no reason to list him as “great” simply because there are countless rock guitarists in the USA who are superior players. As far as rock guitar soloing is concerned, he is clearly no Steve Vai or Joe Satriani !

From back in my teen years listening to the Isley Brothers, I realized that Ernie Isley was heavily influenced by Jimi Hendrix. In fact, very heavily influenced to the point where one could easily mistake his solos as being done by Hendrix himself. Just listen to the extended version of the Isley Brothers’ “Summer Breeze,” for example, and you will see what I mean. Many years ago when I used to devour every book and magazine I came across that had information on singers and musicians, I read on more than one occasion that Jimi Hendrix had lived at the Isley Brothers’ home during the time when he was their lead guitarist (that is, before Hendrix became famous). No doubt that’s where the influence on Ernie started.

Nope, I Didn't

You mention the guitarist from Dire Straits?
                          Willi, I did not mention that guitarist. Mark Knofler, the lead guitarist for Dire Straits, would -- and this is just my opinion now -- probably fall in the same category as the Eagles’ Joe Walsh and Don Felder (listen to their twin solos at the end of “Hotel California,” for example) or Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour. In other words, excellent guitarists who might not be regarded by many music critics as being anything above “excellent”; in other words, outstanding but not great when compared with the more influential rock guitarists.

While I have listened to Dire Straits on more than one occasion in the past, I am not as familiar with their work as I am with, say, the Eagles or Pink Floyd. But I have listened to Knofler more than once.

By the way, one danger of posting my personal opinions on “Great Guitarists” is that, in elevating or ignoring certain musicians, I may end up coming across like a know-it-all or a snob. I hope that this is not the case, because I am neither. I simply listen to a very wide variety of music and read virtually everything I have come across about music and musicians (since I was a child learning music).

Alright boss. I stand corrected. Excellent choices.

Chuck berry - This man defines Rock, all those Rock guitarist imitae him all the way to the bathroom - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvw6o...eature=related