No ... seriously, did Portia say mangoes

How comes it a go sell fi so much? Mango nuh need nothing much to grow after the first few years. We have stringy mango a stone dog. It stay a ground and rotten so why we can't market it?

a tief them tief why it a sell fi that price.

They are planting old banana land in St.Mary with new variety of pineapple. Karl there is a very vibrant market in Ja for fresh fruits.
      Re: Planting
      Never knew that.

Re: Local market
      That does not cut it.
      We need overseas markets

Karl there is a huge local market in the hotel sector for these fruits. If you take over the local market then you can tackle export. First you have to have some market.

Sass and Karl - I love the following fruits:

Naseberry
          Sweetsop
          Custard apple

Those are my must HAVES when I'm in Jamaica. Yet, I can never get them in any of the hotels I've stayed. WHY?????

End of June, I'm in Kingston. Somebody please get/save my favorite fruits fi me.

wrong thread ... wrong FORUM!! this is a FAMILY forum!!!

LOL!!!!!

Just go down a Cornation Market. you get anything you need. All mi original "chacklit tea" mi get down there.

Packaging...pesticide...water...etc...yuh think yuh can pick mango off a tree in yuh backyard and export it jus suh? Yuh need an approved facility which involves electricity which automatically prices us out...

Mango don't need all the care that other stuff need. The cost that come with Mango is minor as long as you pick them at the right time. You need approved faciltiy but no processing.

Desapping, cleaning and washing, hot-water fungicidal dipping,
                        grading and irradiation. You haven't yet factored in transport from harvest to certified packing house. Washing has to be done with potable water. There is no way Jamaica can compete on price based on all of these energy intensive factors.

Just go down a Cornation Market. you get anything you need. All mi original "chacklit tea" mi get down there.
                          Not me, not venturing down there!

wrong thread ... wrong FORUM!! this is a FAMILY forum!!!

why? yuh fraid dem crown yuh? LOL

put it this way. Canning Callalloo is more energy and labour intensive and they sell for about the same price.