The effect of POnzi scheme on the economy
I know. it is rumoured at least that he is at least an investor.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Agree 100%.
There is no good in a Ponzi scheme.
...all it does is encourage short term splurging by those who through their money in followed by even greater hardships than they initially had.
...a few, very few may come out ahead. Usually those who recognised the "too good to be true" - and made a deliberate decision to get in early and leave early and followed through on that.
Could some of those persons use the funds received to start businesses or prop up businesses with cash flow support?
Definitely.
...and could some of those businesses succeed.
Definitely.
...but the havoc reeked by the Ponzi scheme is much greater than any successes by or two. The havoc is tsunami-like."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
lolTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Assasin View PostWell no wonder you can't explain how poverty decrease with production and wealth. While debt ballon.
Whatever it means...I maintain that Ponzi schemes don't create value.... particularly for poor people who cannot participate in them...and consequently Ponzis cannot explain the dramatic reduction in poverty between the late 1990s and 2007.
As to what may explain the poverty reduction...I already gave my speculations above in answer to WilliTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I would love to see his study on Ponzis and wealth creation apart from the lucky few who "invest" and get a positive return...and also his tracking of where the monies collected ended up... seems to me the investigators are not finding much in Jamaica...but in the US, Central America & Asia...
Mi nuh put much truss inna politicians... sarry... not credible for meTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
In a way I guess Ponzis can create value for an economy... since it accumulates capital and there is a psychological effect that people "feel" they are wealthier because they expect big returns to continue... so they may act wealthier by spending more...but
1. The capital accumulated by the Ponzi would have to be invested primarily in the subject economy...and not massively expatriated offshore in tax havens & foreign investments as seems to have been the case with Jamaica
2. The investments would have to be in assets producing value
But even so...since no legit investment can match the rate of return Cash Plus etc were paying...it would collapse even under those circumstances
Madoff on the other hand could have continued much longer...he was only paying a few points above the market yield ....no more than 15% or so annually...the rates in Jamaica were like 10% per MONTHTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
tut tut...bad timing
u guys shudda tek di crown inna 2002TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
"In a way I guess Ponzis can create value for an economy... since it accumulates capital and there is a psychological effect that people "feel" they are wealthier because they expect big returns to continue... so they may act wealthier by spending more..."
THAT IS THE SHORT TERM EFFECT AND THAT IS WHAT WILLI AND I HAVE BEEN SAYING.
Economics is not only based on asset that you own, as they measure sentiments in consumer and producer's survey, so how people feel is important and it can result in short term boom as it did. You can see this when Cash Plus sponsoring NPL team, Olint sponsoring Jazz and Blues, Cash Plus paying big bucks for Drax Hall land etc. These were not commuity PONZIs but illegal company with value of 15% of GDP so it must have economic spin off on society as a whole.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.