Police kill five gunmen in MoBay today
RE: Police kill five gunmen in MoBay today
<DIV>"He is a graduate of Calabar High School in St. Andrew and the Mico Teachers' College in Kingston. He also taught at three prominent Montego Bay secondary institutions up to the late 1990s." - :w00t:</DIV><DIV>
Montego Bay cops kill five - Cite major dent in gang operations
published: Monday | January 29, 2007 <DIV class=KonaBody xVlvo="true">
Nagra Plunkett, Staff Reporter
Police personnel and residents of Montego Bay, St. James, view the Honda motor car in which five gunmen were travelling yesterday. The five were killed during a gun battle along Barnett Street and Foster Avenue, yesterday. - Noel Thompson/Freelance Photographer
WESTERN BUREAU:
The police say they have dented the operations of the Collin Palmer gang, based in Tucker/Irwin, St. James, following the fatal shooting of five members in Montego Bay, yesterday.
The men were reportedly killed in confrontations with the police, which began about 2:30 p.m. on Barnett Street and ended along Foster Avenue in the western city.
Three illegal firearms - a home-made shotgun and two 9mm handguns - and an imitation gun, were also recovered in the incident.
At press time, three of the gunmen were identified as gang leader Collin Palmer; Kirk 'Joe' Thomas; and Stratty McLeod, all of Tucker/Irwin addresses.
Meanwhile, a sixth man was held last night for questioning in connection with the incident. It is reported that he went to the Granville Police Station to report his Honda motor car stolen.
The car was earlier involved in the shooting. However, when the alleged car owner was taken to Montego Bay, police personnel fingered him as one who was involved in the earlier run-in with them.
"The gang was wanted in connection with several cases of shootings, robberies and murders committed in the parish," said Superintendent Wilford Gayle, head of the Area One Crime Management Unit.
"The men were fingered in Monday's killings of Prince Christie in Catherine Hall and Steve Genus, subsequently on King Street."
Palmer was convicted of illegal possession of firearm charges in the Western Regional Gun Court last year, for which he was given a suspended sentence.
He is a graduate of Calabar High School in St. Andrew and the Mico Teachers' College in Kingston. He also taught at three prominent Montego Bay secondary institutions up to the late 1990s.
"It was just recently that I had a strong talk with Collin and told him to stop the foolishness," a friend of his told The Gleaner.
"He told me he had no work and has his children to feed; the man is worthless, he really disappointed me."
The St. James police have been struggling to arrest the parish's runaway crime problem, especially murders, in the last three years.
Up to yesterday, 27 murders were committed in the parish since January.
Last week, gunmen murdered five persons in Flower Hill and killed 50-year-old district constable, Luke Rhodes, in downtown Montego Bay.
In 2006, St. James recorded 178 homicides.
Meanwhile the Government will this week announce its anti-crime strategies for 2007.
Police Commissioner, Lucius Thomas says there will be major announcements with regard to community policing, intelligence and forensics.
It is also expected that the police high command will unveil other strategies in response to the current crime rate.
At the same time, Opposition Spokesman on National Security, Derrick Smith, and Jamaica Labour Party Deputy Leader, Dr. Horace Chang, will hold a press conference this morning with regard to the upsurge in crime and violence. </DIV></DIV>
Mosiah (1/28/2007)<DIV>These days, I wonder if the guns they recovered were first planted.</DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>
Hortikal (1/29/2007)Mosiah (1/28/2007)<DIV>These days, I wonder if the guns they recovered were first planted.</DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
<SPAN class=Subheadline><SPAN class=TopStory>Fierce gunbattle .....5 alleged gunmen killed by police in MoBay</SPAN></SPAN>
<SPAN class=Subheadline>St Andrew South's 'most wanted' man captured</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>MARK CUMMINGS, Senior staff reporter
Monday, January 29, 2007
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=380 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Guns allegedly recovered from MoBay police shoot-out. (Photo: Paul Reid)</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>The northcoast resort city of Montego Bay was jolted back to reality yesterday after the successful Air Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival, as police sharpshooters took out five alleged gunmen, in a fierce firefight in broad daylight.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Three of the dead men have been identified by police as Kirk Thomas, alias "Joe" of John's Hall, Colin Palmer "Teacher" of Tucker and Stratty McLeod, also of Tucker, all in the parish of St James. The other two were unidentified at Observer press time.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Thomas and McLeod were wanted by the St James police for several alleged murders and shootings committed in the parish, which got the dubious distinction of being the parish with the most murders so far this year.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Police said they also recovered four guns - one .25 guardian automatic; a 9mm semi-automatic; a homemade shotgun and a imitation revolver - 31 rounds of ammunition, a number of cellular phones and a mask.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Accounts by residents who witnessed the dramatic gunfight in apparent disbelief, seemed to support police version that there was an exchange of gunfire when the cops challenged the five men travelling in a grey Honda Accord motorcar registered EK 1085.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The gunbattle along the usually busy Barnett Street in the vicinity of Fustic Road, came against the run of play yesterday as Montego Bay quietened down after a weekend of jazz that filled and overflowed the city's hotels.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Superintendent in charge of crime for Area One, Wilford Gayle told reporters last night that the police were on patrol at about 2:30 pm yesterday when the grey Honda motorcar was spotted along Barnett Street.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Five men alighted from the car and they were accosted by the police. The gunmen pulled their guns and a shoot-out ensued. Three of the men were shot on Barnett Street. One along McCathy Street and the other along Foster Avenue," Gayle said. All of them were taken to the Cornwall Regional Hospital where they were pronounced dead," said Gayle.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The windscreen of the motor car in which the alleged gunmen were travelling was riddled with bullets while the interior was bloodied. Last night the police had not yet determined who owned the vehicle or whether it had been stolen.<P class=StoryText align=justify>For much of the afternoon, a large crowd of curious onlookers converged on Madden's Funeral Home on Union Street, Montego Bay where the men were taken after being pronounced dead at hospital. Inside, a few friends and family members grieved.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Me caan believe say him dead", one woman who claimed that she was a friend of one of the deceased, said tearfully.
But in small groups outside the funeral home on Union Street, and also on Barnett Street where the gunbattle started, the reaction was different. According to a senior citizen, who said he watched the bullets fly from his balcony on Barnett Street, the police deserve a medal.<P class="Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Mosiah (1/28/2007)<DIV>These days, I wonder if the guns they recovered were first planted.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>
<SPAN class=TopStory>The story goes on to say th gunfight happened in broad daylight...</SPAN>
<SPAN class=TopStory>...and, you doubt the shots fired by the gunmen were from guns in their hands? You are thinking...I am asking...that the gunmen were saying...bam! bam! pow! pow!??? They were just having a good 'play-play' cowboy and indiansgame?</SPAN>
<SPAN class=TopStory>Damn?!</SPAN>
<SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN>"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
[quote]Lazie (1/29/2007)Hortikal (1/29/2007)Mosiah (1/28/2007)<DIV>These days, I wonder if the guns they recovered were first planted.</DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>
Well yesterday after the shoot out hundreds of people who converged on the scene saw the police receiver the weapons from the car witrh the bodies.
Maybe the police are running out of real guns to plant as one plastic gun was found as well, trust me I did not know it was plastic until I was told...Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
When the NYPD said they had a shootout with Sean Bell and his friends, yuh did tek it as gospel? What is coming to light now?
When Adams dem said there was a shootout at Krawl, how many of us ... including me believed them? Yuh figet that 2 officers are to face the court for bringing a "sweetie" pon the scene? Why was Williams MIA during the trial?
All I'm saying is after each police shooting there should be an independent inquiry to see if the shooting was justified."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Karl (1/29/2007)Mosiah (1/28/2007)<DIV>These days, I wonder if the guns they recovered were first planted.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>
<SPAN class=TopStory>The story goes on to say th gunfight happened in broad daylight...</SPAN>
<SPAN class=TopStory>...and, you doubt the shots fired by the gunmen were from guns in their hands? You are thinking...I am asking...that the gunmen were saying...bam! bam! pow! pow!??? They were just having a good 'play-play' cowboy and indiansgame?</SPAN>
<SPAN class=TopStory>Damn?!</SPAN>
<SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN>
Mo why do you get up and make these careless and
irresponsible statements with regard to Ja's security forces? I see you have alinged yourself with those who which to see the final wall that stands between the little democracy left in ja and anarchy. It seems as if your desire is to see Ja replicate Mougadishu (sp). Your interest group likes to take advantage of mass ignorance. Where in the world, that exist a place without corruption? Can corruption be held in the single digits? Yes and that's what JA should strive for. Back in my time it was civilian and police that would look for thieves and murderers, now the people have distanced themselves from the cops (giving a lot of safe haven to criminals) Why do you want to encourage a division with the people and the police by saying the guns were planted? The trust must be restored with the police force and Ja's populace. Yes there is corruption in the force and the percentage of dirty cops are too high but surely they should be weeded out. Can you say the police force is the only corrupt organization in JA? If you go to Western Europe, Asia, and North america you will find corruption in all the police forces, so don't just jump down on Ja with your isloated instances. Who is it that coaxed the masses in Ja to have no respect for the law? The writing was on the wall with the Canterbury shooting. The terrorists were brazen to shoot at the police for hours as if they are justified in their deeds. Boss we are at the precipice and it's time to put on the brakes and pull back. Please note that if Ja reaches Somolia status your friends in the interest groups will fly out to reside some place else. Do you want to have to pay a warlord just to clear Norman manley? Be careful Mo maybe you are not as patriotic to Ja as you think.
Heard on the news tonight his mother was an administrator at Sam Sharpe Teachers's Collegeand he was married to the daughter of a well known MoBay lawyer.
This flies in the face of the school of thoughtfrom certain parts that illiteracy and poverty leads to crime and violence. Maybe for some but not all.
It is the fool fool criminals that pick pocket and use gunms to hold up people...one of my favorite quotes from the greatest movie ever made 'A man with a briefcase can steal (100 times) more than 10 men with machine guns"
As Sam Mahfood likes to say, he knows many poor people and none of them are criminalsSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.