Portia living large- travelling well

RE: Portia living large- travelling well

all that spinning you could generate enough energy to power up a house for a small family for a month...go do some research on the US governmnet and Halliburton..that is your assignment

Your assignment is to learn how to make a point and find someone that counters it.

Arguing with yourself is definitely your forte.

That and being irrelevant.

And that is the reason Jamaica wallows in mediocrity.. and that is being generous.

Value for Money..

LOL !!! WHOEEE !!

Bermuda GDP is 4.5 Billion, their population is 67,000 people, Over 90% Black, Debt 160 Million.

Jamaica GDP is 8 Billion, population 2.7 Million, over 90% Black, Debt 13 Billion.

That is an incredible accomplishment in 35 years when you consider Jamaica was ahead at one point. One party has been in power for 27 of those years... the value for money one.

What is it ? I am curious, not even Religion can explain this fanatisism.

Ha ha ha ....you are almost as bad as you good friend Jawge...I was really hoping you would make a decent point but you have tucked in your tail and run....poor Ben Jammin, age catching up on you nand the brain not as sharpe as before...

Exile, have to agree with you the thing that boggles my

mind is that after a hundred odd years, slavery mentality still plagues us. Why? Since 1962 we have PMs, the issue about travelling expenses were never raised until leaders that look just the same as the masses took upleadership. A year ago it was projected as if PJ should catch yellow cabs in Manhattan (damn black bwoy, koo him to) now Nanny P is in question. Poverty? Ja has always been troubled with poverty since the emancipation of slavery, when 53% of the country was illiterate and kids attending school with one suit of clothes and no shoes, weren't leaders travelling in fine style? Why shouldn't Nanny P stay at a five star? is it that the media sees her less than that and may I ask why? See most ah unnuh nuh read unnuh bible; when mary did a wash the Master Teacher's feet with expensive oil, his disciples grumbled and said the money for the oil could be used to help the poor. Jesus said worry not for the poor , they will always be around for you to tend to (please note that this was over two thousand years ago and guess what?). Mi cyaan wait fi di whole mass of Jakans start get quality education. Internet soon start give out to all (yes all) high schools.

You have serious issues.

The contention hear is Govt WASTE in a time when we already owe 130% of our GDP and have MOUs on teachers and nurses etc.

You can stay at a 5-Star hotel without having to pony up $1000 per night.

"We get di ting deh, dem outta luck now"

If our State officials have self-esteem issues then they need to use some of the money for therapy.

Seeing that you seem lost on the

point, let's try another way. Show me how the PM's travelling expenses will reduce poverty in JA and I will come aboard. See because unnuh nuh read unnuh bible people can always fool unnuh.

You cannot be as short-sighted as you appear.

If leaders show no consideration regarding appropriate expenditure... who will ?

Stop acting like achild.

I'm sure no one expected or suggested that PJ (former PM) or any PM for that matter should be hailing yellow cabs when they travel abroad. Money just has to be spent sensible, we have a whole lot of debt and infrastructure to be taken care of. Taxpayers want ROI and accountability in what is spent.

In instances expenses can be reduced, and business can still be conducted in a first class manner. Perhaps them need to chop the number of persons in the entourage.

We better start watching our Ps & Qs and lead by example. Yu can't expect citizen Kane at the grassroot level to keep tightening his belt & at the same time he observes what heperceives as squandering of scarce resourses by the Govt.

As one woman said, that sound like a lot of money when so much pit latrine still abound.

Maudib (1/28/2007)Trinidad Population: 1 Million

Trinidad GDP:15 Billion

Labour Force: 618,000

Growth Rate: 12.6%

Debt: 36% of GDP

Jamaica Popluation: 2.7 Million

Jamaica GDP: 8 Billion

Growth rate: 2.7%

Labour Force: 1.1 Million

Debt: 130% of GDP

If you are going to do a comparison, compare apples to apples.. try the bottom of the Region.

Portia should be staying at Howard Johnson and flying Spirit Airlines..
                      One question - Is there value...'good'value for money spent?
                      If yes, what's the problem? If not, fire her!

...but, do not put in place someone who spends "quatie" on trips and
                      brings in "penny".

I would rather see a billion spent and 100 billion coming in than a
                      million spent and 10 million coming in....or seeing a million spent and
                      100 million coming in. It is not just about keeping spending down,
                      rather it is about inflows for the country's and the way the people
                      benefit.

I rather think the higher the returns in dollar terms...the better it
                      will be for the country. Positive in-flow of $99 billion can do more
                      than positive in-flow of $99 million - nuh tru?

Peace out!

-------

BenJ: I know you would chose the $99 million! :w00t:

But what makes you think we're getting value, Karl? Been to Jamaica recently?

Caribbean "democracies" are a joke... the ordinary taxpayer (shareholder) has no say in how his employee the PM (CEO) is spending the money. If he/hshe voices a concern about how the money is being spent man an man jump pon him /her back. This has nothing to do with black or white or colonialial heritage nor nutten... just common sense in how a man spen money DAT IS NOT HIS or HERS in this case.

Unfortunately our democracies have no Board of directors to keep the CEO in line. Unfortunately our people don't understand how rich people get rich... nor the lesson of "one one cocoa full basket"... Our leaders have to walk a fine line yes between setting the example of fiscal prudence and not looking like a plebs an don get respeck... but the respect arises out of how one carries oneself and states one's case, not the size of the entourage nor the hotel suite... we real look like banana republic fi true.

pr

We are Banana Republics, no doubt but the flimsy comparison with other developed countries are misplaced. It's about politicians and power and greed. The US is not immune to this as some posters would like to suggest. The gross extravagance with Halliburton to name a familiar one is a recent example as well.

Our so-called leaders get so obsessed with power that they forget from whence they came. Iamgine one wanted to take over a whole playground to build a rose garden for his wife??? Or installling million dollar gym and million dollar kitchen or remodelling sorry rebuilding the whole PM's residence?

Having said all that, the politicians on this site would have us believe that our present PM should stay at the Ho-Jo. Yes, sm middle ground should be found and the extravagances cut but let's not all jump on this bandwaggon because some daily said so or some posters try to mislead.

Granted The PM's response was weak. Who cares if her husband gives her a credit card?

You can stay at a 5-Star hotel without spending $1000 a night.

How Ho-Jo come into dis ?

Our State officials are embarassingly banana republic on these trips..like some leggo beast..this is not even worth debating

Maudib (1/29/2007)And that is the reason Jamaica wallows in mediocrity.. and that is being generous.

Value for Money..

LOL !!! WHOEEE !!

Bermuda GDP is 4.5 Billion, their population is 67,000 people, Over 90% Black, Debt 160 Million.

Jamaica GDP is 8 Billion, population 2.7 Million, over 90% Black, Debt 13 Billion.

That is an incredible accomplishment in 35 years when you consider Jamaica was ahead at one point. One party has been in power for 27 of those years... the value for money one.

What is it ? I am curious, not even Religion can explain this fanatisism.
                                ...and, Portia has been at the helm for how many months?

...and, her accomplishments during those 10 months are?