• Portia living large- travelling well

<DIV id=printReady>

PM's $10m trips - Simpson Miller racks up big travel bill in seven months
    published: Sunday | January 28, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody xVlvo="true">

Tyrone Reid, Enterprise Reporter

Within seven months of ascending to the nation's highest political office in March 2006, Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller and members of her accompanying delegation have spent close to $10 million on official overseas visits.

The Government approved close to $1 million per <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">trip</SPAN> or $1.4 million per month between April and October, figures contained in official documents obtained through the Access to Information (ATI) Act showed.

But members of the public had mixed reactions about whether these trips were too costly.

"I don't want to diminish the importance of our leaders," said economist and publisher, John Jackson, "but (do they) have to stay in <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">five-star </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">hotels</SPAN> when people out here can't even afford to go to hospital?"

Bloated delegations

Mr. Jackson also argued that in this age of advanced technology the Prime Minister does not "really need this huge delegation".

"The question is whether we needed to have spent $10 million," he said.

On the other hand, Lorna Duffus, an entrepreneur, told our news team that the position of the Prime Minister demands a certain level of opulence. "You see true she inna dat status, mi can't say no, she shouldn't be spending so much," Ms. Duffus said when asked to respond to the fact that Mrs. Simpson Miller spent almost US$2,000 for two nights on a hotel room while in New York.

Stacy Williams*, a working-class woman, was not impressed. "The country cannot afford to spend so much money on trips alone. Pickney still ah use pit latrine in these civilised times."

She suggested that to cut cost the Prime Minister should travel with fewer people and stay at cheaper hotels.

The Prime Minister's travels are justified by a past press secretary for former Prime Minister P.J. Patterson, Huntley Medley. Heads of government have "work all over the place to do and it (travelling) is a part of their job," he argued.

The communications consultant added: "The Prime Minister's responsibility is to represent the country and that must involve travel."

Big bucks for hotels

Mrs. Simpson Miller spent up to US$975 a night on <A class=kLink oncontex

RE: Portia living large- travelling well

This is joke money for a PM. I must get the TT figures for you.I agree to get rid of the waggonists if there any but where you want the Lady to stay? In and Ho-Jo? This is a non-argument. When I am representing my insititution esp. away from home, I don't stay in no flea-bitten hotel, nor while I compromise my safety and security.OK next topic!

The only question is; are we getting value for money spent!

You are out of Touch.

Mek George Bush or any US state officialtalk bout him spending 1,000 a night to stay in a hotel.

He and Portia are Civil Servants using Tax-Payer money.. not CELEBRITIES or Corporate Heads using their own riches or money from profit centers.

This mentality is a legacy of the Plantocracy and a 'Status' based culture, get rich quick (see Junior Minister Ellis waxing about OLINT) mentality... country values are all effed up and the biggest cultprits are those at the top of government.

Similar to the love of rims..

The founder of IKEA flies economy and drives a 15 year old Volvo.

Paulwell: "We get di ting deh, dem outta luck now"

No, that is not the only question.

When spending Tax-payer money a certain degree of consideration is required.

No US State Official would DARE to present a US$1000 per night hotel bill... but they have a different history than ours they had a revolution against such excesses and entitlements,we simply changed the occupants of the Plantation Estate.

Wealth Distribution rather than creation.

Given the rather poor performance of the Government this behaviour is sickening and simply furthers the argument that our country is in the hands of people without conscience.

Trinidad Population: 1 Million

Trinidad GDP:15 Billion

Labour Force: 618,000

Growth Rate: 12.6%

Debt: 36% of GDP

Jamaica Popluation: 2.7 Million

Jamaica GDP: 8 Billion

Growth rate: 2.7%

Labour Force: 1.1 Million

Debt: 130% of GDP

If you are going to do a comparison, compare apples to apples.. try the bottom of the Region.

Portia should be staying at Howard Johnson and flying Spirit Airlines..

You have Black People and You have Ni@@has.

In case you don't know the difference:

Black People:

Population 69,000

GDP: 4.5 Billion US

Population Voted NO to Independence from UK

Ni@@has:

Population: 2.7 Million

GDP: 8 Billion US.

PM 'not in dat' in regards toPrivy Council... 'last vestiges of Colonialism'

Father God Deliver us from the Ni@@has.

Exile (1/28/2007)This is joke money for a PM. I must get the TT figures for you.I agree to get rid of the waggonists if there any but where you want the Lady to stay? In and Ho-Jo? This is a non-argument. When I am representing my insititution esp. away from home, I don't stay in no flea-bitten hotel, nor while I compromise my safety and security.OK next topic!
                Cryin shame. Bettah yuh neva say nothing.

unuu can't kill the woman she just take over and she have to do the usual rounds.

I can only hope it is value for money and if we get investment and lower interest loans in return then 10 million is nothing to worry about. if a just fi go meet friends then that is a problem.

Does the US $975 per night, include security? I work on Park Ave., &amp; I know that rooms can be had for less than $975.0.0 p.n.

As Karl asked - are we getting value for money? Poeple have to start tighten them belt!! we can't afford it. Perhaps a cap should be set.

<DIV>
                      Karl (1/28/2007)The only question is; are we getting value for money spent!
                      </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yuh sure yuh want to aks dat question? What yuh tink?</DIV>

Well if you a meet a bigtime chinese investor there or Bill Gates and take something off a them different than if you going to an independence ball.

Mosiah (1/28/2007)<DIV>
                          Karl (1/28/2007)The only question is; are we getting value for money spent!
                          </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yuh sure yuh want to aks dat question? What yuh tink?</DIV>
                          So far it looks as if we are getting value for money!

My big beef is lack of progress on 'the crime front'!

You forgot the scandal in the US not so long ago when people were purchasing common hamers for hundreds of dollars and even toilets that were installed in the Pentagon were copsting tax payers thousands of dollars, the same toilets one could buy in any hardware store for less than $200.

NOT THAT I am condoing hotel rooms at $67,000 per night...but dont pretend as if public officials in the greta big US of A are immune to corruption...

Don't pretend I said ANY Govt is immune to corruption.

Certain Govts and their followersactually try and defend it.. and get away with it.. that is the fundamental difference.