• 'We messed up'

'We messed up'

Published: Tuesday | May 17, 2011 0 Comments

In this 2005 file photo, Dr Karl Blythe (left) chats with Omar Davies, then minister of finance, at the People's National Party's 67th annual conference at the National Arena. - File

• Former PNP Cabinet minister says his gov't should accept blame for 1990s financial-sector meltdown
    Arthur Hall, Senior Staff Reporter

Dr Karl Blythe, a former Cabinet minister in the People's National Party (PNP) administration of the 1990s, has accepted that his government should be blamed for the financial sector meltdown of the period.

"I personally apologise to all those who may have suffered during this financial crisis," Blythe said in a release yesterday.

"I further apologise for any mistake made by the Government, of which I was a part, which resulted in the suffering of any Jamaican," added Blythe.

According to Blythe, the main problem was that the PNP administration, led by P.J. Patterson, with Dr Omar Davies as finance minister, "erred significantly in maintaining the high interest rate for much too long a period".

Blythe, who failed in his bid to lead the PNP after Patterson stepped down in 2006, said the high interest rate introduced by the Government
    was acceptable, but it was the length of time that it was maintained.

"The Government, of which I was a part, introduced a high interest rate policy, which most of us will agree is an effective tool to achieve certain objectives, such as tightening liquidity to discourage currency speculators, thus protecting our exchange rate and controlling inflation," said Blythe.

The former government minister took special offence to the classification of FINSAC debtors by members of the previous government.

"So we now have what Dr Davies and others are calling bad debtors. Who are these bad debtors? They are our entrepreneurs, simply mothers and fathers borrowing money to assist their children through school and using their matrimonial home as security. (book of Karl chapter 1, paragraph 1)

"These persons now being referred to as bad debtors were good clients of the banks, servicing their loans according to contracts they signed with the banks, at interest rates in the high teens and mid-20s, and doing a good job of being a good customer of the bank," charged Blythe. (book of Karl chapter 1, paragraph 2)

in a book with only 2 paragraphs...there you have it!!

I think "messed" is a very gentle word. I can think of a "f" word that better describe the issue.

Flubbed ?

Flunked ?

Yeah I read that scathing article this morning.If you lose your house in the US, you are not allowed to bid on it at the auction,and besides the Govt regulation we desired is prohibited.Yard needs a Govt that defies rather than adhere to the doctrine of capitalism.Govt should try to transform the working force into civil servants rather than cutting its staff and throwing pension plans and benefits into limbo.
          The same mistakes are being made to be judged by time.

?????

right, das weh yuh call a mout full!!

Okay Willi,the fact that the debt was not sold to the debtor is nothing unusual,it is encouraged.The decisions made by JRF is just that,theirs,so the question now is what could Finsac do after the fact?
                Now I am not excusing the PNP for being contributorily negligent...,what I find troubling is what to stop the JLP from making the same mistakes?

appropriate legislation.. separation of powers... BOJ, Govt..

Mi hear seh dem working on it as wi speak..

Okay Willi,the fact that the debt was not sold to the debtor is nothing unusual,it is encouraged.The decisions made by JRF is just that,theirs,so the question now is what could Finsac do after the fact?
                    Now I am not excusing the PNP for being contributorily negligent...,what I find troubling is what to stop the JLP from making the same mistakes?
                    Clearly yuh naah pay attention.

My problem with selling to JRF is that they continue to charge interest and penalty up to today. Why couldn't they be sold the debt without adding these penalty and interest rate? The got stuff to buy at a reduce rate on the dollar value so they make profit by selling at a higher price then they turn around and go after the people who couldn't pay adding interest to the remainder of the debt. You think that could be done in America?

Lazie,we love Jamaica insomuch that we dare not miss anything.,those tell tale signs from Finsac;Govt. absolving itself from its responsibilities leaving its bosses(the people to fend for themselves among sharks,and ignoring their screams..
                        If it was up to me I would ay the very least put a halt to the JRF getting...
                        Do you know why Govt. has not taken that avenue?

But Seaga did WARN them not to liberalize without backative and they did. The Yankee dem dangle USD400m in debt forgiveness and dem tek the bait. Babylon reneged a bit and only leggo USD268m in debt but the die was already cast.

This is a PNP only mistake, born out of sheer naivite (they were still socialist mindset then) and continued out of sheer stubborness. There is nothing to lump on anyone else here. OMAR must GO! He is an albatross around Portia's neck.

The US example you give is not a good analogy. Would the US turn around and sell all that discounted debt to farriners? Did the US Govt policy CAUSE the crash in the fuss place? Easy money and imported inflation, combined with a runaway currency does not arise by itself.

Quite frankly, the GOJ who messed up big time owed it to the debtors to sell them back their own debt at discount as retribution for driving them into involuntary insolvency. It would have been the proper thing to do especially as there was no "moral hazard"...except for having Omar as the MoF. LoL

...one of a small minority of bad debtors...

PNP says Blythe’s Finsac comments unfortunate

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

THE Opposition People's National Party (PNP) yesterday disassociated itself from Monday's comments by former vice-president Dr Karl Blythe on the 1990s financial sector collapse, and called the former minister's statement unfortunate.

Dr Blythe, a former water and housing minister under the P J Patterson administration, said the high interest rate policy of the then Government was responsible for the collapse of banks and that the former administration should accept responsibility for the fiasco.

BLYTHE

BLYTHE

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
                            1/1

However, the PNP said it was unfortunate that, "as one of a small minority of bad debtors Dr Blythe finds it impossible to take responsibility for his own financial decisions, and instead seeks to unfairly allocate the blame to the former administration" for the banking collapse and the subsequent creation of the Financial Sector Adjustment Company (Finsac)".

Said the PNP: "It is unfortunate that as a minister in the Government that took the decision to intervene in the financial sector to protect the savings, pensions and insurance policies of hundreds of thousands of Jamaicans, Dr Blythe could make the misplaced assertion that the then Government had an equal obligation to assist debtors who, for whatever reason, defaulted on their debts.

"While the PNP empathises with all those who were negatively affected by the financial problems of the several financial institutions during the period, we remain convinced that the cause of the problems cannot be correctly blamed simply on the economic policy of high interest rates," said the PNP.

Dr Blythe, the party added, failed to mention the fact that other financial institutions, both Jamaican and foreign-owned, operated in the same local macro-economic environment as the failed institutions and, through the practice of higher operating standards and adequate capitalisation, avoided collapse.

The PNP, however, supported Blythe's suggestion that the complete list of Finsac debtors, with details of the obligations of each, be published.
                            The party said, too, that it is committed to a process of objective reassessment of its period in Government, including the lessons learned from the financial sector crisis, which gave rise to legislation implemented to strengthen regulations within the banking and insurance sectors to prevent any recurrence of the conditions that led to the creation of Finsac.

"There is in place today a stable, sound, strong and well-regulated banking and financial sector alongside the institutions with the regulatory authority and technical capacity to prevent a recurrence, even in the period of the global crisis of 2008/09," said the PNP.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1MiF1s7BF

i know that is what the pnp seh ... what sayest thou, though?
                              Last edited by Gamma; May 18, 2011, 10:14 AM.