Three Outstanding Young Jamaicans!!

• Three Outstanding Young Jamaicans!!

Thanks for your comments in the other thread, HL . After reading your positive input, I decided to start a new thread, this time on three young world-class musicians, each of whom, I am extremely proud to state, are from the same country that I am!!

DWAYNE LIVINGSTONE
    The first unheralded Jamaican I’m highlighting here is bass guitar genius Dwayne Livingstone. This guy is absolutely world class – literally speaking – and if he continues at this rate make eventually be mentioned in the same sentence as jazz greats like America’s Victor Wooten, John Patitucci, Jeff Berlin, Stanley Clarke, the late Jaco Pastorious, etc.! His technique and knowledge are incredible!!

This YouTube video link I’m posting shows Dwayne live in Jamaica at the “Magnify Him 2009” gospel event:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PL-7C1vhN_Q

JESSICA YAP
    The second outstanding Jamaican musician I’m highlighting is a teenager. Here is her rendition of Bob Marley’s “Jammin’.” Note that she was only around 15 or 16 years old at the time. She has combined her classical training and obvious exposure to jazz improvisation and provided us with a musical feast. She is backed by an outstanding group of musicians. Personally, I’d like to see the stage at which Jessica is in ten years from now!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IG8DiyeINJs

The second Jessica Yapp video link I’m posting is her live performance of the popular “Day Oh!”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_S9i3...eature=related

MAURICE GORDON
    A lively jazz version, played over a ska rhythm, of Miriam Makeba’s “Pata Pata” by Maurice Gordon. In this wonderful, obviously heartfelt performance, Gordon displays his remarkable technique with octaves, a reflection no doubt of the distinct influence of jazz great Wes Montgomery.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=te1EPsmOUMM

world class you say?!! high praises indeed ... nuh true hl?