Yaaa! Recession Done!

• Yaaa! Recession Done!

A recession is defined as 2 consecutive Qtrs of negative growth in GDP, so technically...

I dont think for a second that Jamaica is by any means out of the woods though.

A recession is defined as 2 consecutive Qtrs of negative growth in GDP, so technically...

I dont think for a second that Jamaica is by any means out of the woods though.
      TELL BRUCE DAT lol

Didn't Bruce say we are not out of the woods yet?

LETS SEE

KINGSTON — Prime Minister, the Hon. Bruce Golding says Jamaica is now officially out of the recession, with the country registering modest but positive growth in the January to March quarter of this year.

Mr. Golding made the announcement during his presentation in the 2011/2012 Budget Debate in the House of Representatives, today.

He said a detailed analysis of the out-turn and the projections for the future will be presented by the Planning Institute of Jamaica (PIOJ) at a press briefing scheduled for Wednesday, May 18.

Additionally, the Prime Minister informed that the Government is well on its way to reducing the country’s Debt/Gross Domestic Product (GDP) ratio to 100 per cent or below by 2016.

He pointed out that the Debt/GDP ratio of 128 per cent, which was recorded at the end of March, was well within the ceiling of 139 per cent as set out in the Standby Agreement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

“The programme calls for it to be reduced to 100 per cent by 2016 and we are already clearly on the right trajectory to achieve that. If we focus our efforts seriously on investment and growth, we will reach that target even sooner,” he stated.

In the meantime, the Prime Minister said the government is significantly concerned about the number of people falling below the poverty line.

He said the increase in the poverty level is directly attributed to the decline in the economy, loss of jobs and the significant drop in remittances in 2009.

Mr. Golding said the impact of these factors has been mitigated by the provision of increased benefits through the Programme of Advancement Through Health and Education (PATH), the allocation for which has been increased from $1.7 billion in 2007 to over $4.0 billion this year.

“Even after allowing for inflation, this represents a real increase of more than 60 per cent,” he stated.

“Increased welfare provisions can do only so much to ease poverty. Getting the economy back on a path of growth, doing everything possible to facilitate and accelerate that growth is what will rescue people from poverty. This is our area of focus,” the Prime Minister added.

By ATHALIAH REYNOLDS, JIS Reporter
          http://www.jis.gov.jm/news/122-parli...t-of-recession

<A detailed analysis of the outturn and the projections for the future will be presented by the Planning Institute of Jamaica at a press briefing set for Wednesday of next week, he added.
            In the meantime, however, he noted that the country, since the start of the recession in 2008, lost some US$2.7 billion in export earnings, J$16.5 billion in bauxite revenue and J$5.7 billion in General Consumption Tax.
            "I said before that we are NOT YET OUT OF THE WOODS. We have not recovered from the ravages of the global recession. Our export earnings are less than half of what they were in 2008. People have lost jobs; businesses have been forced to lay off workers -- some have even gone out of business. Even self-employed persons have seen their businesses go down because the spending power of their customers has been weak," Golding said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1MQQ2xgyn

<Devils Advocate: In common parlance, a devil's advocate is someone who, given a certain argument, takes a position he or she does not necessarily agree with, just for the sake of argument. In taking such position, the individual taking on the devil's advocate role seeks to engage others in an argumentative discussion process.>

Suh yuh ah admit not only that yuh is a comrade but yuh innah Portia Opposition...

Devil's Advocate is too many letters ... lets call a spade a spade. Comrade, the writer of that article provided excerpts of the man's speech.

Here is something that can put yuh advocacy to rest.

"I said before that we are not yet out of the woods. We have not recovered from the ravages of the global recession. Our export earnings are less than half of what they were in 2008. People have lost jobs; businesses have been forced to lay off workers – some have even gone out of business. Even self-employed persons have seen their businesses go down because the spending power of their customers has been weak." (PM Speech) .

BUT

cuz him seh out d woods, dont mean him neva seh wi finally outa d recession

whars ur point????

D AMN SEH WI OUTA D RECESSION enda story n dem did a celebrate also

again whats ur point????

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
                  BUT

cuz him seh out d woods, dont mean him neva seh wi finally outa d recession

whars ur point????

D AMN SEH WI OUTA D RECESSION enda story n dem did a celebrate also

again whats ur point????
                  Next time listen to when the man talk. No wonder unuh mek such wrong decisions.

unuh???

mi involve in politics???

u like u too obsess or u tek dis thing toO serious/personal

mi jus like oppose people n most a unuh on this board on one side suh mi seh,

u know what mi just ago do mi best fi be objective

n it look like it as work LOL

neva vote yet, vuz mi did too yung d lass time n it wont mek a diff if mi vote d nex time cuz delroy chuck still gonna win ANYWAY

unuh???

mi involve in politics???

u like u too obsess or u tek dis thing toO serious/personal

mi jus like oppose people n most a unuh on this board on one side suh mi seh,

u know what mi just ago do mi best fi be objective

n it look like it as work LOL

neva vote yet, vuz mi did too yung d lass time n it wont mek a diff if mi vote d nex time cuz delroy chuck still gonna win ANYWAY

Really? Not even in a drunken state anyone could make such a mistake.

mi new suh mi wouldnt know d full 100

but base on d likle mi c u n maudid adi most vocal also with willi n ASSasin n a few other

suh mi conclude that most

maybe i am wrong

but thats just what mi c

mi new suh mi wouldnt know d full 100

but base on d likle mi c u n maudid adi most vocal also with willi n ASSasin n a few other

suh mi conclude that most

maybe i am wrong

but thats just what mi c
                          that a 4 ... and yuh call that most?

mi seh sum weh mi si

n dem adi most vocal from d time mi deh yah

maybe u might be out #ed but UNUH talk d most n mek it look like unuh it d majority

dats what mi a seh

what is your point ?

He said we are out based on the data...

He also said we are not out of the woods.. you failed to recognize that.. you have been corrected..

Go forth and sin no more..