Google's cloud computer set to rain on Microsoft's parade

Yup Ben right back to where we started. Dumb terminals. All we have to wait for is the vax and decs to return. After some time agenuis will arise and come up with Personal computers (this time it will be made in the basement) and everyone will say wow this is sooo cool .

neva know say yuh know bout putas so.

That existed before 'Cloud Computing'.. that is called the Internet... unless yuh want to call applications like logmein 'Cloud Computing'..

Try again... please.. I insist.. call it morbid curiosity... just how much pain can you inflict on yourself...

Google is not the sole purveyor of 'Cloud Computing' they are not 'bringing' any new model... only one version of an architecture modeled from Mainframe Model principles..

Yuh been hoodwinked by the hype.. using catchy phrases is not going to help you..

You are as lightweight as the Chromebook in this area... not a crime.. just recognize.. a wise man knows and understands his limitations...

A fools knows not and knows not he knows not....

answer the question posed...

explain how the mainframe model allowed anyone from Andorra to Zimbabwe to walk into an internet cafe and access their personal desktop

Following your line of reasoning...now backed up by the luminary Jawge ... lol....Computers are not a modern phenomenon...abacuses were there in ancient times

The model is not revolutionary technology.... but No one with the requisite credibility/resources has previously attempted to change how the general public handles data since the internet became dominant .... from the current situation of hosting data & apps on the individual device to online hosting

Whether this attempt at a new model works is anyone's guess...but eventually it will be routine to host data & apps online

This is what Microsoft feared since it misread & underestimated the internet and fell behind Google in online search & also mobile OS
            Last edited by Don1; May 13, 2011, 12:46 PM.

Irrelevant to the discussion.

Cloud Computing is not defined by someone from Andorra Zimbabwe walking into an internet face and access their personal desktop.

That was being done years before 'Cloud Computing'.

Are you retarded ? No.. then stop acting like you are.

That is lovely..

A roundabout way of agreeing with my initial statement... a bit lengthy though.. did not need the stuff after the first sentence.

It is a start in any event...

For future reference here is a good definition of Cloud Computing:

<Cloud computing refers to the provision of computational resources on demand via a computer network. Users or clients can submit a task, such as word processing, to the service provider, such as Google, without actually possessing the software or hardware.>

That is NOT a totally new model of computing..

Don't believe the hype.

Relax. Cloud computing is a nouveau term for a not-so-nouveau concept. It refers to computing that takes place over the Internet, rather than with software installed on a personal computer. If you do your taxes online, have a Facebook page or use Web-based e-mail, you are already in the cloud. Recently, interest in cloud computing has increased because of a push to convert traditional software applications such as word processors and spreadsheet programs into "cloudware." A good example is Google Docs, which lets you create, save and share documents, spreadsheets and presentations online.

This has spurred Microsoft to test its own wings for a flight to the cloud. Eventually, consumers and businesses will be able to use Word, Excel, PowerPoint and other Microsoft applications online, without any software

also with more n more supa fast internet connection

THEY ARE makin full use of this, motivated to kick out microsoft dominant position BUT also a new bizniz venture fro them, lets see how this works out

a simple way 2 look at this is ur gmail a/c where u use it but d software n data r not stored on ur computer, BUT they are trying to take this concept to the limit NOW ie have basically al ur software hosted by them n as i said becuz of the high speed connections n huge storage space they are pushin this now

Cloud Computing is that and quite a bit more. It is as much a change in a business model as it is a change in technology.

For example:

It has a lot to do with the way you pay for software, ie via a subscription service rather than purchasing a product which can be expensive depending what the product is. Companies like Salesforce.com have been hugely successful in this regard. Many others have followed them.

Then there is the idea of computer resources being purchased on an "as-needed" basis. Amazon.com and thier Elastic Cloud Computing services have been the leaders in this area. Its worth noting that this model was tried on the mainframe platform decades ago but it never took off.

You are quite right in saying that webmail and Facebook are basic examples of cloud computing at work. But there is quite a major shift taking place in software development in that no software company is developing any new products which are not cloud-based.

Its not a matter of what is cool Jawge, its a matter of software taking time to catchup with what hardware is capable of at any point in time.

It is certainly possible that there could be a shift back to a more local-based processing model at some point in time in the future, but only if the technology available makes it cost-effective to do so.

Surely you don't think an iphone with an app like Shazzam that records a snippet of a song, sends it to a computer in the cloud to analyze, which then sends back a response telling you what that song is, who sings it, where you can buy it, etc is equivalent to a dumb terminal communicating with a mainframe? That would be oversimplification taken to the ridiculous level.

suh mi nuh muss guh school fi sumting ?

A Computah mi study few decade well.. seen it all from 1980 come up.. dem cyaan google-ie me suh easy

heard what happen to amazon.. the cloud may not be the way to go...

the issue here is where does your data sits. In mainframe it in your data centre now its in someone eases and you need to leverage that liability and uncertainty. For some businesses this is good for some its a non starter

don 1 you are the ceo of a corp do you put your data in the cloud???