Google's cloud computer set to rain on Microsoft's parade

explain how a mainframe is equivalent to this consumer device for us who are not at your level...stop hiding behind the epithets for a Mo ment

the point of your objection is that old time ting come back... explain how that is with reference to the mainframe you brought up

Consumer Device ?? Ah wheh di... ?

<Google says Chromebooks will attract corporate technology buyers because Google automatically updates the Chrome operating system over the Internet and there is no need to back up computers because if they are lost or ruined, all the data exists online. “We’re venturing into a really new model of computing that I don’t think was possible previously, even a few years ago,” said Mr. Brin. “I think it’s just a much easier way to compute.”>

This is NOT a new model of COMPUTING.... what the 'consumer device' haffi duh wid dis ?

What exactly is new about using a device for O/S and local processing power only.. leaving data and applications 'online' ???

What because it name cloud and yuh can use 'internet' ???

he's trying to move the target. yuhseeit!

mi seet... im fooliniss very transparent

Yuh seit!
              ...never say never!

The point of it being a consumer device is that anyone can use any connection, anywhere to access their data & all applications available on the web.... the only network they need to "belong" to is the internet. In fact since the OS & network functions are integrated in the browser they don't even need the Chromebook... just like CloudMe enables your desktop from their website Google could do the same without a dedicated machine

State what open, public system previously allowed this model of computing.

... don't want to hear about any vaporware or any intranets
                Last edited by Don1; May 13, 2011, 12:02 PM.

The Mainframe model shares a lot of the features of 'Cloud Computing'.

1. Lightweight client
                  2. Shared Applications
                  3. 'Online' Data

What exactly about 'Cloud Computing' make it a 'Totally New Model of computing' ?

Devices ????

If yuh nuh like the messenger take comfort in this:

<Cloud computing provides fundamental advantages for those who use assets online as a part of their business. And as we think about cloud computing architectures moving forward, computer terminals and mainframes provide a good model for how cloud computing—and cloud computing security—can be set up. Computer terminals of the 1970s, 80s and early 90s were the ultimate “light client” because they housed no software. And one of the advantages of mainframes involved the amortization and centralization of administration by those who did it best—as is the case with cloud computing.>

And this is not from a JLP Website.

mi not moving a ting.. but when ah man chat foolishness mi haffi tek time to address it.

Mek mi ask yuh sumting.. how unnuh love run up innah uppercut suh ?

It feel good ??

Suh what Corporate Customers use ???? you do realize the security issues with the internet I presume... ?

If di corporate user is not using the internet how exactly is Cloud Computing a Totally New Model of Computing ?

Or dem not doing Cloud Computing since dem nah use internet ?

Before you bring any more red herrings into the argument please take note of the section of the article I am taking objection to.

I totally agree that Chromebooks are new.

Unfortunately for you is not Google one selling 'Cloud Computing'.. all Microsoft ah duh it..suh yuh device red herring is a total flop.

100% correct

It will take time but there's no doubt that most functions currently hosted on individual devices will be in the cloud...the Chromebook is probably a transitional step

State what open, public system uses the model I described...

Why ?

Those are not the features espoused by Google as the New Model of Computing.

They specifically mentioned Corporate Customers so clearly Cloud Computing is not defined by how 'open' or 'public' the system is.

Oops !

explain how the mainframe model allowed anyone from Andorra to Zimbabwe to walk into an internet cafe and access their personal desktop

Open & Public = Google will be offering the machines to homes & businesses worldwide...surely you can make that connection

Corporate clients would be on the same platform...just firewalled

Corporations are already moving their data into the cloud... hosted on server farms.. Amazon etc

Google is bringing the model to the consumer as well as corporations
                                Last edited by Don1; May 13, 2011, 12:27 PM.