• One Liad smelling lika Rose... one in a Septic Tank

PM no longer in command – Dr. Cummings

Members of academia as well as political commentators continue to assess the findings of the RJR/Television Jamaica (TVJ)/Boxill Poll which show Prime Minister Bruce Golding with a disapproval rating of nearly 59%.

Dr. Christine Cummings, Lecturer in the Department of Government at the University of the West Indies, thinks the rating will be hard for Mr. Golding to overcome.

She says it may also cost the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

"If 58.8% disapprove of the way you’ve been handling your job I would say that you’re no longer in command and it’s either you change the leadership or you lose the election. I don’t see how you (can) come back from that," said Dr. Cummings who was speaking Monday evening on RJR’s daily current affairs discussion programme Beyond The Headlines.

An unpopular PM & Govt can be re-elected – Burke

Meanwhile, veteran Journalist Franklin McKnight agrees that the disapproval rating will be difficult to overcome.

However, he asserts that while the task is not impossible, there is a credibility issue that Mr. Golding will have to address.

"People have made up their minds a long time ago. It is very difficult for him to climb back. It’s hard to repair (one’s) credibility and this is a credibility issue," Mr. McKnight said.

And political commentator Michael Burke says despite the unpopularity, Mr. Golding may still fare better in the next General Election.

"It is possible for an unpopular prime minister and an unpopular government to be re-elected if the Opposition is not organised to get out their own people. That is the crux of the matter right now," Mr. Burke said.

He and Mr. McKnight were also speaking on Beyond The Headlines.

he did say he was willing to risk his political career...so said ... so done!

Goes under the title "what the f%$%$K were you thinking Bruce?".

Wait till Lazie come on here spinning like a gig, unnu will see the wisdom of what Brucifer is doing

unnuh really naive...

Is muss 2017 Election unnuh a chat bout.. 2012 dun buy.. I mean secure ahready...

Papah haffi sell and Pollstah haffi mek a money doh....

he did say he was willing to risk his political career...so said ... so done!
            and that may have been his only honest moment in years!

yuh gwaan!