Is the Govt doing enough?

• Is the Govt doing enough?

Question to all the masses especially JLP supporters. Is the government doing enough? Are they really focused on the right things? The national debt has increased so much since the JLP took over. Money has been spent on inquiries, road fixing, beautification etc. We have borrowed so much to do what we think is important.
    What about back money owed to public servants? Is that not important enough? Couldn't we borrow $30B and setup a special tax, cess or something to pay for this? How much has been done for job creation at the grass roots level? How much has been done to encourage entrepreneurship...to spring growth, to encourage investment? I know we are trying this with interest rates but does the government push, support, take measures to encurage small business loans? We talk growth but what are we really doing about it?

Originally posted by Plush View Post
    Question to all the masses especially JLP supporters. Is the government doing enough? Are they really focused on the right things? The national debt has increased so much since the JLP took over. Money has been spent on inquiries, road fixing, beautification etc. We have borrowed so much to do what we think is important.
    What about back money owed to public servants? Is that not important enough? Couldn't we borrow $30B and setup a special tax, cess or something to pay for this? How much has been done for job creation at the grass roots level? How much has been done to encourage entrepreneurship...to spring growth, to encourage investment? I know we are trying this with interest rates but does the government push, support, take measures to encurage small business loans? We talk growth but what are we really doing about it?
    Road

There a micro loan facility from Jam. Investment bank..It was reported here like a year or 2 ago.

The infrastructure is being developed to increase the velocity and management of money flows to the micro and small business..

PM announced a pending DBJ project that will use cell phones..

Patience..

help is on the way...a garden hose to fight a Towering Inferno

more bad news for the yappers...

"Five years ago, 64% of banking system credit was gobbled up by government. Today, that figure is down to 39%.

For years, if you were an investor that had money, rather than investing it in something that would produce goods and services and create jobs, you were better off investing it in government paper for that provided a better return and more certain profit than any kind of business you might have contemplated.

If you were an investor that needed to borrow, the high interest rates would drive you away. Today, interest rates are the lowest they have been in 40 years.

For most of the last 40 years, we have had to keep our eyes on the exchange rate. We would see it wobble and we would rush to buy the dollar before it wobbled out of our reach. Our reserves would dip and the market would get jittery. Our reserves are now at the highest level ever."

That is change we can believe in !

"Five years ago, 64% of banking system credit was gobbled up by government. Today, that figure is down to 39%.

For years, if you were an investor that had money, rather than investing it in something that would produce goods and services and create jobs, you were better off investing it in government paper for that provided a better return and more certain profit than any kind of business you might have contemplated.

If you were an investor that needed to borrow, the high interest rates would drive you away. Today, interest rates are the lowest they have been in 40 years.

For most of the last 40 years, we have had to keep our eyes on the exchange rate. We would see it wobble and we would rush to buy the dollar before it wobbled out of our reach. Our reserves would dip and the market would get jittery. Our reserves are now at the highest level ever."

Something wrong! How come ppl so anxious fi bring back Portia?

Reserves mi seh! Built by Labo ...Debt!