• Bwoy.. certain elements a fight gainst yuh

Don1.. wikid set ah people !

"The Government should be cautious about spending too much money on education while not creating jobs for citizens.

That is according to Claudette Crooks, president of Money Masters Limited.

"I am not fighting education at all. What will happen is that you are going to have a set of persons who are well-skilled and looking for jobs, but there are no jobs. You have to look at how you apportion the money among the various ministries, bearing in mind your short-, medium-, and long-term objectives," Crooks said at last Friday's Gleaner Editor's Forum.

The Ministry of Education gets $70 billion for housekeeping expenses, and $3.2 billion for capital spending in the 2011-2012 Budget. The recurrent budget for the education ministry reflects a $1 billion reduction when compared with last year, but that is made up on the capital side, where the increase is just over $1 billion. The increase represents 13 per cent of the total $544.7 billion to be shelled out this year.

According to Crooks, the Government has to ensure that when it spends that amount of money, the country is getting maximum value out of every dollar that is being spent. She said there must be a system in which the Government can be assured that following graduation, especially at the tertiary level, the students will stay in the country."

Ah who dis Claudette Crooks ?! Opressah !

specious and short sighted arguments... Republican-like

unlike Manley...

That worked out pretty well...

Remittance luge !

yuh fighting uphill bakkle.. she ah post innah Gleanah.. yuh ah post pon Forum..

Wheh fi duh ?...

posting here or there is di least...doing betta

Digital Yard wi seh

when mi si har muss call her a Republican ?

She come from Hanover.. maybe is dat...

sound more like MoBay... mi ear is one republik dat

well.. she mek har money under Omar suh maybe yuh right bout di Republican ting...

she mek it "under Omar"??

watch it....

heh, heh.. well when she was asked to grade him pon one ah dem TVJ talk program she give him 1 out of 5.. dis was while him was MOF.. she never pull nuh punch

im come up short den... neva ah trow nuh weight.... ar she too powaful...LOL

lol !

She makes good arguments if you go deeper. Recall what i said about the wastage in tertiary spending? We were just subsidizing Babylon.

Wr first have to make sure that the base is strong, and where post secondary spending occurs, we should make sure that it is areas that serves Jamaica's needs and that we ensure that these people are encouraged to stay and contribute in Jamaica.

It is a waste to be spending all kind of tertiary money on more lawyah, more "business admin" studies, more social scientists, etc, when we really need more engineers, technicians, advanced mechanics, industrial designers, graphic designers, computer programmers and engineers, botanists, geneticists, pharmacologists, nurses, etc. Selective subsidy on these areas with enforcable tuition bonds should go a long way to achieve the aims that we seek. If Babylon wants graduates, dem haffi pay off the bond at 125% of cost!

Claudette is a very smart and successful woman... nice success story...

she nuh talk juss fi hear herself...

There is waste at the tertiary level... what the % is I don't know. Also I agree 1000% that education needs to be re-oriented to technical subjects.

However most people who migrate are not tertiary grads... so spending at primary and secondary levels for those soon to be migrants is also a waste?

The lady's arguments are specious & myopic...and would tend to further entrench our backward class stratification which is a HUGE problem imho....

ALL of Jamaica's people need and DESERVE a solid education. When that is attained we will become a more PRODUCTIVE society...and have a better chance of retaining people because we will be richer, have more opportunities internally for self-fulfillment , manage conflict better because people can reason...and make better choices when confronted with political charlatans.

The woman is profoundly wrong....her's is a recipe for the status quo which is a policy most regimes have pursued for the past 50 years leaving us in this educational swamp... where I suppose she and her connections are comfortable
                              Last edited by Don1; May 9, 2011, 11:14 AM.