Jamaica's Poverty Puzzle in 1990s: Flat GDP, Poverty Decline
D1 - Xposing Dummies since 2007Tags: None
Mi nuh know bout dat...mi juss ah try ovastan objective data by impartial non-tribal sources
1990 poverty rate was north of 40% after the genius of the DayWalker and his "growth""
2007 the poverty rate was ~10% after the disaster of PJ
The data must be part of a nefarious plot by the UNDP to undermine the JLP and their superior performance ...LOLTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Poverty rate ah di new lick now ?!
lol !
Well.. desperate times call for desperate measures..
Mi advice is tuh siddung and wait... Drivah and Team soon address dat problem.. by miggle of second Term yuh gwine haffi get a new propaganda kontrack...
refrain from the tribal ranting for a sec...
is poverty reduction important .... or of little consequence to the latte crowd?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
many things are important..
we don't believe in reckless, cavalier approach doh.. is dat put us here in di fuss place.. dat behavior started with manley and was continued with PJ.. wi nuh operate suh.. if yuh want reckless populist behavior yuh know who to vote fah next election...
any idea how the dramatic poverty reduction was achieved? i'm at a lossTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Really? Apples vs Oranges.
That was a comparison he attempted between data sets formulated on 2 DIFFERENT criteria.... one adjusted by an obscure mathematical factor...and the other not
Muadib was claiming that the so called "Atlas Method" of adjustment to national income data established a REAL increase in income in Jamaica's households in the past few years...which of course is nonsense.
In this case we are looking at the SAME data set on poverty rates over decades...established by an independent 3rd party...not politicians spouting self serving stats as many here like to post as gospel.
Not my fault that independent data establishes uncomfortable truths. One needs to drill down deeper than headline numbers like GDP to establish what is happening in a society...no?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
i dont know
could be that the black market ie d cocaine n ganga trade brought in billions of USD that muitplied
cuz mi know fi a fact that nuff of the mansions up a norbrook stony hill n even up JACKS hill were built by drugs money
also lots of bizniz were opened with these funds, spending etc etc
that not the whole thing but I think at the time it contributed
i have no data to back me up on this but COMMON sense tells me that
also black people for sum reason were more confident in themselves during that period of time(again this is just an observation) n had more ambition ie aiming higher going to university etc etc as opposed to th e 60s where u had BAD racial division in jamaica HENCE black people were aiming low
JUS MY 3 CENTS HOPE it help(i was jus thinkin out of the box)